We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"Very Disappointing"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Very Disappointing"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our 5th visit staying this time as guests of owners.Nothing but problems with other guests disturbing our sleep and quiet time in the evening. Reported several times to the front desk and management with no real concern or empathy, seems this is the way things are now.
The priority is selling or upgrading their Time Share program and no doubt if you are not going along with this you will not be treated well or get a decent room. We also found the packaged food now being served at poolside to be very poor quality as well as the drinks.
In all fairness they have improved the Restaurant food and service in the mornings,
The Bel Air has always been a favorite of ours but unfortunately not anymore.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

allow me to express my sicere apologize for all the inconviniences in your last stay, it is sad to know that you did not received the kind of treatment you deserved.

Let me explain you that for us all of our guests are important and we are trying to improve every detail to be better in our quality and service.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to change your mind.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    391
    250
    132
    90
See reviews for
657
526
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have traveled more than a million miles with american all over the world and this has been my worst experience. We booked this hotel as part of the aavacations airline and hotel package. I am ashamed and sad to see that american airlines vacations will book us in such a terrible hotel. Called many time before arrival to understand what was included in the package and it was our understanding many times that it was "all-inclusive.
The checkin was terrible with a wait of more than one hour with no one paying attention and a drunk crowd around the front desks. We interrupted after the long wait and then they just gave us the keys.
Yes we got into the room with the terrible smell of mold and mildew and tiny. it was suffocating!!!! it was also next to the AC fans of the neighboring hotel.
Then when we went to dinner we found out that it was not all inclusive...! the room was horrible, the front desk and people are terrible and now it was not all inclusive in a remote area close to Puerto Vallarta (NOT LOCATED IN PUERTO VALLARTA).
Called aa vacations and paid for a week to stay at the lovely Marriott Casa Manga in Puerto Vallarta. As always the best place :)... Big mistake with AA vacations and Bel Air in NUEVO VALARTA not PUERTO VALLARTA. When we checked out the next day...they did not even ask why....
BTW...sure they made more money by renting out the crappy room which we had pre-paid for.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Resort & Spa Vallarta; Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations I know that for the last weekend we had some problems that made you feel unconfortable but allow me to tell you that we are working so hard to improve every detail and be better for you.

Although Bel Air Vallarta did not pleased you I would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future and change your mind.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Bel Air, formerly the Playa del Sol Grand for years and it has been
enjoyable year after year. Much credit is deserved by the hotel staff. This flows through all the way from the Hotel GM, the amazing front desk staff, the maintenance and security people, the hardworking friendly and kind housekeeping and bell man staff go above and beyond expectations. The restaurants have delicious food, and wait until you see and enjoy the infinity pool, and the tropical gardens, pools, and well-kept grounds. You will feel like you are in botanical gardens and they are very relaxing! Hope you get a chance to come to this smaller boutique-type hotel.

Room Tip: Depends of how near to the pool, restaurants, Bay water view, etc. Rooms further back on are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TashiTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks to share this beautiful comment about Bel Air Resort & Spa Vallarta, for us is so rewarding having this kind of comments and I hope you continue visiting us as each year bringing the opportunity to share more times with you.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with 'owners' of Playa del Sol. They were told when they checked in that it was under new owners. The hotel insisted that they meet the next morning with a representative from the new company 'Bel Air'. First thing they were told was that they are no longer an owner of anything on the property. Quite a rude person.... Bruce. Then received a high pressure sales pitch to reinvest in order to maintain their ownership.
The main restaurant is very nice, food was very good and reasonably priced. There is a lovely outdoor patio dining area next to the beach. There is another 'Japanese' restaurant... we should have known better than to try a Japanese restaurant in Mexico. Asked for hot tea and got a tall glass of sugared ice tea. Maki (they spell it Maky) was very good and fresh,. Tempura was overcooked and not panko covered. Pretty expensive for what you get.
Not our favorite place to stay in Nuevo Vallarta

Room Tip: Can't choose a room, they are assigned
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatandDiSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for share your comments, for us, this kind of feedback give us the opportunity to be better each day, I´m glad to see that you found our restaurant nice and I will talk to the executive Chef about our Japanese restaurante.

we will work with the people in timeshare to be more polite with our guests

I hope you can give us another chance to serve you.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

About 20 minutes from the airport, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and warm towels when we first arrived- nice touch. Even though the check in was not until 4 pm, and we were there at 12pm, we were able to go to our room. Very attentive staff. this place has a nice resort feeling without the high price tag. As soon as you walk past the lobby, you are greeted by the infinity pool and the wonderful Pacific Ocean. the room is quite ample, even has a kitchenette with anything you may need to cook (yes, I mean pots and pans). However, the fridge can be noisy, so if you are not using it, you may want to turn it off (don't bother trying to find the plug). the place has a bit of a Club Med feel to it, but you can skip and mind your business. We decided to include breakfast with the room- do it. It was a pleasant surprise. Their prepared dishes are just ok, but it has a fruit/ yogurt bar and an omelette/ egg station, so you will be totally satisfied for hours as you tan on their beach chairs. If you decide to venture north on the beach, bring some cash, there are some eateries and restaurants with some good deals on beer and munchies- we didn't bring money so can't attest to the quality, but beer is beer. Check out is at 11am, but if you are not ready to leave (your flight is at 5pm) and want to hang out longer they welcome you to stay by the pool or beach, use their towels and then shower at their VIP lounge or their Spa. You will need to pay for internet, or use their business center free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We all are delighted to receive such a generous review on your recent stay at Bel Air.

We believe that attention to detail and personalized attentive service is what makes every vacation exceptional and memorable.

I am glad to know that our teams’ efforts made a difference for you and your every expectation has been met.

Thank you for giving your preference to Bel Air collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our fifth trip in a row to Bel Air and this place just keeps getting better. Everyone is just so nice and accommodating and we always feel like we're welcomed home by family. Special shout out to Pancho for going above and beyond and helping us out with our requests including opening an additional account at Shipwreck Kelley's the day we departed and as our flight was delayed. Also thank you to Edgar, Karla, Javier, and Jose for so personable and fun. Only complaint would be the air conditioner didn't seem to work all that well, but besides that we loved it and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recognition of our effort, which is a great inspiration to us in our work.

I truly hope that memories of this vacation will bring you back to Bel Air collection resort & Spa Vallarta very soon.

We will waitting to serve you again and make you feel at home.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We own a timeshare at the Playa del Sol Grand. I'm not sure what happened to the original company - rumors abound - but it ended up as a Belair resort. Previously I had problems with availability, so I had more or less given up on the place. I was in Nuevo Vallarta in January and stopped in. They had availability for the following week, so I changed my flight. Strange how they can be fully booked a year in advance but have availability one week out. Anyway, we had a great room near the back of the complex - but still with an ocean view. They have a "free" afternoon coffee/tea get together where some of the guests are quite entertaining. The activities group were great at getting people involved in bingo, dice, pool volleyball, etc. A very relaxing time. There are some critters across the road from the resort that come out at breakfast time and eat anything vegetarian. I have no idea what they are, but they are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeGee10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Please allow me to express my sincere gratefulness for sharing with us this generous comment about our work and our services; our goal is the continuous improvement, and this is possible thanks to the comments like yours.

There is nothing like knowing that our guests had wonderful and memorable time while staying with us.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Vacatia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing