We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed four weeks in an excellent room facing the ocean on the seventh floor. We only had one complaint. With the wedding receptions on Saturday, the noise floated up to the seventh floor. The service at the resort is excellent. Anwar, Trinidad, Edgar and Carlos exemplify service. My husband and I had an excellent vacation. We can't wait to next year.

Room Tip: Building two and seven are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    360
    229
    121
    82
See reviews for
593
492
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled march 10-17 2012 and are both 24 years old. We wanted a relaxing, non-college spring break where we could relax. We had a king economy room right on the beach, with sink, fridge, stove, microwave, 2 hdtvs (about 10 channels in english) a nice bathroom and a king size bed. Everything was fantastic except for 3 things:

Sheets were not soft at all.
Weddings on friday and saturday are loud and late.
Cleaning staff was hit or miss on time of service and/or service at all.

We did not do the all inclusive and the prices werent bad, ate in bucerias every night, cheap and delicious, shopped every day at the hundreds of local shops, learn how to haggle if you dont want to spend a lot.

Everyone was very nice and helpful especially when it was something they could not help with. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmckerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the nice comments that you express, we are taking measurements, in order to avoid that a weeding becomes in uncomfortable situations for other guests.
We are pleased to know that we achieved our goal by making your holiday days all that you expected.

Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We liked the room we were given after we fought for a better room than they showed us first. We loved the spa and our room, which was clean and comfortable. I didn't like the pool-side server asking us to pay him instead of the hotel for drinks. He spoke good english and told us he can't support his family with 3 kids on what he makes there. Our drink bill came to $25 US. He asked us to pay him the equivalent of $18 under the table into his pocket and he wouldn't run our bill through the hotel's billing system. He was stealing from his employer and wanted to make it worth our while to help him steal. We were really turned off.

Room Tip: They'll show you a lousy room first to see if you'll take it. Refuse, make a fuss and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara31061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments,
We specially appreciate the information that you provided, in fact it helps us to take measurements to fix this situation.
We have improved our controls, to avoid this situation to continue.


Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a wonderful place to visit. The food, the grounds, the spa and gym, the service and beach are all lovely. But I do have some warnings for one to bear in mind that are in fact the reason I would not return.
My complaint is there is little so very little to do. I can only lie around and do nothing for so long. No beach toys, boogie boards, sail boats etc. No pool table, botchy ball games, no tennis, no shuffle board. One game of beach volleyball per day and the nets come down. One game in the pool and the nets come down. No entertainment at night and the bar is closed at 10:30 p.m. It may be why the resort is inexpensive.
Some of this can be overcome by renting toys nearby on the beach, but that get’s pricey and really need not be the case. The resort can certainly afford to provide these things one would expect at a 3 star.
The location is close by cab, but almost impossible to walk anywhere so have your day trips planned.
The next beef is they don’t care about your inconveniencing you. There is not enough furniture either around the pool or on the beach. Literally scrounging for chairs and a place for them is a pain. We managed to find some every day, but again such a hassle and so unnecessary. Get off your wallet and get some more furniture.
Finally, - the tab thing. They don’t issue wristbands; rather you sign a tab with name and room number for every drink, bottle of water or snack. Carry lots of small bills as the staff want a tip with every trip.

Room Tip: Get a suite. The regular rooms are like closets. The suites are lovely and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Docregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback,
We appreciate every one of them, we do have some night activities, but indeed we are not the typical All Inclusive hotel.
Our guests have to sign every check as they would do on a not all inclusive resort, since all our meal are a la carte, the only buffet we have is at the breakfast.
We have night activities, from movie night to salsa lessons on Saturday.
Im going to make sure that all this information is provided to our guests, in a proper manner

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hey to all you complainers. This place is totally awsome. There will not be a place EVER!! that is perfect. Although the ones who pick apart every little thing are still trying to find that PERFECT place,good luck!!. We had no problem with anything or anybody. We loved to watch those who came down to the beach after 1:00 to get a spot and complain that there were no spots,GET OUT OF BED!! We will return next year to this wonderful palce in paradice

Room Tip: They are all are OK from what We saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 690069great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was a charming, clean and lovely resort. It had plenty to offer from the excellent food to the wonderful staff. My husband and I and another couple traveled from Feb 18th until Mar 3rd with another couple and enjoyed every minute. We booked through Nolitours and yes we had one of the rooms facing the RIU. We did not hear the noise of the air conditioners as we kept the window closed because we had the air conditioner on! We enjoyed many quiet, restful nights in the very comfortable king size beds. The bathroom was gorgeous, always had tons of water pressure and hot water, lots of counter space. Our bed was turned down every night with treats on the pillows it was awesome! Beartrice kept our room spotless and at no time were we interrupted.
We enjoyed every meal in the Palm Terrace. The 2 menus had plenty of variety and the staff was always willing to accommodate us ordering from both menus. I highly recommend the almond shrimp or the rib eye pizzarollo. Ask for Hector to make you a Spanish coffee and he will put on a great display. He made them for us no less than 10 times! We never had an issue tipping this great staff for their exceptional service. They work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and were always so pleasant. I forgot to mention the awesome breakfast buffet. Lots of fresh fruit, and pretty much anything you would want for breakfast. Who doesn’t like fresh omelette made with every ingredient you like. Ruben was always there to top up our coffee.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It is only a 20 minute walk by the beach or via a path just past the Flamingos to get to Bucerias. We ventured into Bucerias on many days (pizza and Jet’s games at Yo Yo Mos, yummy!) took the bus to La Cruz ( Philos Bar on Thursdays is a must) and even took the bus to Sayulita ( we want to take surfing lessons next year).
We are already talking about returning to Bel Air next year !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Bel Air Nuevo Vallarta property. We bought 2 three day Groupons for the stay, and were promised 'Deluxe' accomodations. We arrived very late at night due to our flight being delayed, and dumped our bags in the room and rushed to get a meal before the restaurant closed. Good meal, good service! When we returned to the room, we tried to sleep, but were unable to get to sleep due to the mechanical noise. We were in building # 3, and it faces another hotel. That property has a number of very loud air conditioning or refrigeration compressor units that run 24/7 and sound like a jet engine. A number of other guests that we met on the trip complained of the same problem with the noise. After insisting that we move to another room, after two attempts we were moved to the other side of the building and could finally get some rest. Due to the nature of the Groupon reservation, the front desk attempted to move us back to the noisy side of the hotel after the 3rd night. We again had to argue to be able to stay on the quiet side of the building. In all fairness, the room to which we were moved was an upgraded room, and that did help to even things out to a degree. Be aware, if you want a siesta, they clean the rooms from around 1 pm to 3:30, and if you don't put the 'do not disturb' sign out they will keep knocking and even call you to ask to clean the room. We attempted to say 'no molestar, por favor' which in our limited Spanish was an attempt to ask to be left alone. This didn't work on more than one day. We finally found the do not disturb sign on our final day. It was under the phone!
On the good side the staff are universally friendly and accomodating. They all work hard to make you feel welcome and are cheerful and helpful. This crosses all levels of the hotel staff, from the waiters and front desk right through the grounds keepers and security. While they claim that they have more than one restaurant, it is one room with an outdoor terrace with two menus. The food was univerally great, with Italian and Mexican Fusion themes that are both really excellent. I did find that after 5 or 6 days you start repeating main courses, and we ate in PV on two nights of the trip. Groupon promoted this property as a 4 star plus vacation. IMHO it is more like 3 star at best.
Last note, the shower was a challenge, with water pressure and temperature starting very weak and cool, and varying enormously along the way. You could be freezing one second under a trickle and then blasted with a scalding stream for 30 to 60 seconds. Never consistent or long lasting, but a challenge to get comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a 'deluxe' room starting with 3xxx. If it isn't a loft or ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrooge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#7 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing