We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Myself, husband, and 7 year old son spent 8 days at the Bel Air and it was a fantastic vacation. We were there from Oct 20 to Oct 27. The pool is spectacular as you can hang out on the infinity side and look out at the expansive ocean. It also has a swim up bar and on the other side there are more shallow areas for kids. The best part was in the afternoons the activity directors set up water polo or volleyball with goals or a net across the pool. Several adults and children joined in and it was probably my son's favorite time of the day. The activity directors also did several things with the younger children throughout the morning. The entire pool area was really nice. Many chaises, lounge beds, and even private jacuzzi areas were set up around the very large pool.

The property is located toward the end of Nuevo Vallarta next to the RIU Palace. The shared beach was not very crowded, but it was perfect because they rented Jet Skis right there. My son and husband spent $50 twice to rent for 30 minutes each time and they got to go up and down the coast at exhilarating speeds. Water was glassy and weather warm. It's a long beach where you can easily take walks with beautiful scenery. We saw many couples on romantic walks...which of course my 7 year old did not want to do.

The property is small, but beautiful. The walkways are naturally decorated and there are ponds with fish and turtles. The rooms are really nice and large with great amenities. However the layout of rooms differ from building to building. We were given a two room suite which didn't work for us because it had a locking door between the two rooms, but they moved us after two nights to a different building which was much better for our situation. They also had a little business center where you could check your emails for free.

The only downside of the Bel Air was the food. The pizza oven was broken and one of the two main restaurants was always closed. You could really only choose between the pool which was bar type food and closed early or the restaurant with the terrace. We had dinner on the terrace on one of the evenings and it was fantastic. View of the sunset incredible and food was good. We had room service a couple times and it was pretty much the same menu as the terrace restaurant. There really aren't any choices for eating anywhere else as the RIU restaurants I think were for guests only and there was nothing else nearby. We took a cab into Buceria which was a short distance away and then there were a plethora of food choices. But most days after so many activities and sun it would have been nice to stay on the property and have a few more choices for dining. But I would say that the prices for food and drinks on the property were very reasonable and the quality was good. I'm sure we could have cooked in our room, as there was an oven, microwave, and burners but I like to go out to dinner.

Lastly, the people were really nice and genuine for the most part. It felt like a family operation with all employees pitching in wherever needed. We never waited in long lines or got the run around for anything. They wanted to give excellent service and they did. Anyone we asked was willing give advice on what to do and where to go and they really wanted us to have a great vacation.

Room Tip: Buildings have different lay outs. If you are a family who wants to stay together in more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellymars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are so very pleased to hear that everything was what you expected.
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we sincerily hope to see you again at Bel Air..

Omar Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

After spending couple of weeks at this Bel Air in August we have returned to witness further progress in management's effort to bring quality to a higher still level. Brand new deck loungers and chairs, plentiful umbrellas are in place, the funky area around martini/sushi bar is open as are all the other restaurants.
Didn't matter to us but if we were little kids their Spa would impress us too.
Other than that not much can be improved on that beach, oceas and mountains around.
Peter B., Toronto

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thak you so very much for your nice comments,
We look forward to see you again.
Warmest Regards,
Omar Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We knew about this hotel through LivingSocial but we ended up getting a much better deal through Expedia. We were confident about the hotel because of the reviews we had read. I went there for 8 days with my husband for our babymoon and we had high expectation. And they were all met! The hotel is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! The infinite pool has the perfect temperature and it’s just in front of the beach, so you can always watch what’s going on. All the amenities were clean and beautiful. It has an intimate feeling. We had the all-inclusive package and the food was very good, there was a different menu for every meal, the snack’s portion by the pool are big, the sushi bar has good options, the spa is beautiful and the employers make the place feel like you’re among friends. They’re the best! We just got back from there last month so it’s low season now, which makes all difference anywhere. They even gave us and upgrade to an awesome master room, we found out about it during the check in and it was a nice surprise… So the hotel was quite empty which is perfect for those looking to relax. The staff knew who we were and they were even nicer to every attempt we did on speaking Spanish to them. I definitely RECOMMEND this hotel! And if you have any problem they will be on your side and do anything to make it up to you. The cons: even though we were in the all-inclusive package we received a regular bill for everything we ordered. Of course we didn’t have to pay for anything, just sign it, but still you feel like you have to tip the server like anywhere else. It was the first time we had an all-inclusive package so I really don’t know how other resorts work with this but we think it was a bit inconvenient. Of course you only tip if you feel like it and nobody ever made us feel like we had to. I just think that once you’ve paid for an all-inclusive package you shouldn’t worry about tips too. Another thing is that there was a wedding at the hotel during the weekend. The wedding was on the beach and they played loud music until like 3am….since our room was in front of the beach that was really annoying and we complained the next day. Omar, the general manager, was very understanding and apologized and to make it up to us he even gave us a 50min couple’s massage at the spa (Irene is the best!) and a late check-out. We felt that they really care if you are unhappy about something and we really appreciated that. They have run the hotel with a different name (and administration, I believe) for a little over 1 year so they’re still working on a policy regarding weddings and I’m sure they won’t let it happen again. Next time we go to Puerto Vallarta, we’re definitely staying at the Bel Air again!

Room Tip: go in the low season and get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your nice comments, we are in a continuos effort to improve in every sense.
We hope to see you back soon, and I will make sure that our employees know about your great experience.

Warmest Regards,

Omar Vazquez Gaytan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband & I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary with our Son and his fiancee'. We are from South Central Pennsylvania and our Son and his fiancee' are from LA, California. This is a smaller resort, which made it very personal for us. We received wonderful service throughout our entire stay. The landscaping is very beautiful and well maintained! The WHOLE staff were outstanding, from the manager, who was very accomodating and personable to the front desk personel, Bellmen, Servers, Bartenders, Entertainment directors, Maids, Spa personel, Maintenance, Taxi service, and anyone else whom I have forgotten!!! Ruth, from the front desk and all other personel were very helpful in our questions about the Vallarta Adventure activities, and helping us with our Spanish and anything else that came up. All of the Waiters & Bartenders were very accomodating, friendly, excellent service and made our meals very pleasurable everyday. Irene gave me the best Fango Mud massage and manicure/pedicure ever! Loucio and Carla were terrific in the activities for us during the day and the evening, especially the karaoke. I only wished they stayed open later in the evening. The maid service was exceptional!! Our rooms were pristeen clean, and they put personal touches in our room for us for our anniversary - Very sweet and thoughtful!! If we requested a change or another service, they were very quick to accomodate us with our requests. The Vallarta Adventure activities are fantastic! From swimming with the Dolphins, to private scooba/snorkling trips, to Rhythms of the Night! Fun and/or Relaxing, peaceful, special, whatever you want it to be for all! Great Vacation!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My sister-in-law and I spent a fabulous week at the Bel Air. It is a smaller property, which suits me fine. I've stayed at the Grand Mayan and highly prefer Bel Air. The resort is clean, nice amenities and the staff is exceptional. From the bellman, to front desk, to activities staff and all the staff is extremely welcoming and there to help with your every need. The walk into the town of Bucerias is delightful (approx 45 minutes one-way), the beach is great for walking swimming and boogie boarding. This was my second visit to this resort and I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you os very much for your comments,
We look forward to see you again at Bel Air Vallarta Resort & Spa.
Warmest Regards,

Omar Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The room was like a dream.This building has seven floors, lovely views of the beach and steps away. The restaurant on site was very nice also with great views and very romantic.. don"t order the soda it was always hot,flat even with ice. The only con was not a full Menu at the pool. The pool was the best I ever seen and swam in . Bel Air had a lot of activities that were fun. The kids club was under construction and I can't wait for that on the next trip there, with a pond full of fish and turtles the kids had fun feeding them. The staff was very nice and helpful and remember us by name. There's a store on site which made it easy for many reasons. Bel Air has the best location for Privacy, Romance, Shopping Site Seeing.... . And if it rains its only at night.

Room Tip: Get a two bedroom..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The bar at the pool closes at 6pm if you want a drink after that you have to go to the 2nd floor, that bar is open till 10:30. I paid for a 2 bed. and a 1 Bed. (the 2 Bed. was 2 studios right next door. both with a 2 burner stove.) the other 1 bed was a studio. I complained, they said they could give me a 1 Bed the next day. I wrote a complaint on there Facebook page and the next day they were willing to give me what I paid for. we ordered chicken wings by the pool they were warm not hot. I complained everyday about 1 thing or another. I just hated the trip, the resort is pretty but that's it. rooms 6506 & 6507 & 7506 (all on the 5th floor)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrispohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
2.3 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $215 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing