We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel chain anywhere!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
IL, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BEST hotel chain anywhere!!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world....but my pick for the BEST accommodations, service, and room service is Grand Velas!!!! Can't say enough good things about it. Service is over the top. They actually ask you to please tell them if there is anything at all that they can improve on.
The room service is spectacular. When they say it will be there at a certain time....it's almost right to the very minute. AND....your cold food is cold...and your hot food is in a separate 'hot box'...and the plates are so hot the servers have to have a cloth to pick the plate up. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
Rooms are large and the bathrooms are roomy too. Nice selection of sodas, water, and beer in the mini-bar (and they'll stock with more of the ones you like) and there are always snacks restocked each day too.
The beds & pillows were divine too. You will sleep like a baby :)
Hope to visit the resort again.....SOON!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelCindyIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Why thank you Cindy for your “over the top” review on your vacation at Grand Velas. You have kindly touched on many of the pleasant aspects that you experienced, and perhaps some major emphasis went to our Suite Service dining experience as well as the suites themselves. It is true that we have focused training on all our service areas, and we wish that the experience of having our guests dine in, feel as if they were at home with want for nothing. And of course if there is ever a need for more, it will be our pleasure to provide the refined abundance that you fancy. I am happy that our suites were to your liking in terms of ample size and luxurious comfort. I certainly hope Cindy that we will indeed be able to host you again in the future to relive this first visit that you thoroughly enjoyed. In the meantime, please take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    291
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
884
850
27
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I travelled from Vancouver BC to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit last week, and were absolutely spoiled by the incredible staff and stunning surroundings. I really don't know where to begin my review. The 3 restaurants are absolutely Michelin-star quality, the rooms are large and spacious, and the staff make you feel like family from the time you walk in the front entrance.

If you are looking for a truly memorable experience, you need to book yourself into the Grand Velas Riviera... you will absolutely not be disappointed... in fact, you will be talking about it for years to come. We are already planning our return, and taking our friends with us next time!

Great work Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit!

S&S - Vancouver, BC

Room Tip: 634! Our room, and we loved it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Steven for your abundant compliments when describing your holiday with us. Our goal will always be to try to surpass your expectations in all aspects of your stay. I am very pleased that you found this a truly memorable experience and one that will be talked about for years to come. Steven, when you reserve your next stay at Grand Velas, bringing new guests, please contact me so as I can monitor closely your reservation. You truly inspired our staff with your review, and we hope that your next trip is equal or better to the one that you just experienced. Thank you again Steven.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel location is great with beautiful landscape and infinity pool. A la carte restaurant serves the finest food. The buffet not so much. Beautiful rooms, house keepers were doing great jobs, came twice daily. The in room bar was refilled daily. Nice beach for walk miles. The pool service was not the best, it took long time to get drink or snack but everyone was very helpful. Lots of daily activities but no night shows. I would recommend this hotel for couples more than for families with kids since I didn't see any playground around except children pool. The whole hotel is just breath taking .The balcony had a cabana style bed and flowers flowing down from most of balconies. This is the best Puerto Vallarta Hotel I ever been.

Room Tip: We had a pool view but because the hotel's position" half around" it came with ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fine comments on your recent trip with us. We are very proud of our architectural layout of the resort and of course the landscaping. Our person in charge of our greenery is Antonio Torres who has been with The Velas Group since its inception 25 years ago. He has a magic hand and a sixth sense in developing and nurturing the natural beauty that is Grand Velas. I am pleased that you found the whole hotel and its services to be “breathtaking”. And I am especially proud that your accolade comes from a vast experience in travel and accommodations. However, I do wish to apologize for any delay you may have felt in our pool service. I will revise internally the workload that we were experiencing during your stay and make the necessary adjustments to avoid any tardiness in the future. Also this exact week we are doing a major renovation in our all day restaurant Azul, that will allow us to have a much better variety in food and presentation and to be at the same level as the gourmet restaurants. From all the employees here at Grand Velas we feel a genuine happiness when reading that “This is the best hotel in Puerto Vallarta”. It is very motivating for us to see in your comments the positive results of the work that we do. Thank you, and we certainly wish to be able to host you again in the future so you can see the changes in Azul. Take care.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

As soon as I arrived I was received by excellence! I was there for a weekend wedding. Worried about it being an all inclusive, giving that I do not eat as much and like good quality wine, thought that I was going to have to order "a la cart" out of their all inclusive, not at all, great choice of wines and the beds are one of the best that I have slept in from a hotel, better than any in Vegas, where they are known for their beds, wow, I asked where I can buy one, was told they are made for Velas Hotels only. :-(
The food was incredible. great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your excellent commentary on your wedding party experience. It is a great compliment that we were able to change your perspective of all inclusive once you tried our food and wine options throughout our resort. We have designed our resorts in all aspects with the idea of taking the concept of all inclusive to an extraordinary high level within the market. I appreciate also your comment on the luxurious comfort of our beds. When designing the resort and its amenities, special thought was put into the importance of the full relaxation experience for our guests. You were able to rest cozy throughout your stay with the tasteful collection of niceties that come standard in our suites. I thank you for sharing your happiness that you felt during your stay with us, and we have the hope that based on this vacation, that you will visit us again in the future. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I met up with some friends this past week for a three day staycation. I can not say enough nice things about this resort, the workers, the management, the appointments, the suites, the food and beverages, the spa, and of course the beach! We will definitely go back next year! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Suite. 607 is outstanding! Great views and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maae40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for thinking of us for your vacation destination next year and also for your animated comments on this recent one. Your overall experience with all the facets that you mention is summed up positively with your desire to return, and to perhaps repeat the successful “staycation” which you just enjoyed. From all of us at Grand Velas we look forward to your next trip and we will do all to make it as enjoyable as your first. Thank you again.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We (my wife and I) stayed at GV for 2-nights, November 2 -4, 2013, and then traveled on to Punta Mita to stay at the Four Seasons. Overall, our guest experience at GV was very nice. For us, the highlights of our stay were the spa, the French and Italian restaurants. Those three components of the resort were very special, with some of the best service we've received in quite a long time. We booked a couples massage at the spa. The facilities and the treatments were excellent. Food quality at Piaf (French) and Lucca (Italian) was just superb. Much better than we expected. The pool staff was very attentive. Concierge, Front Desk, Housekeeping, all well trained, courteous, available, and attentive.

Room Tip: Amazing view from the 7th and 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Grand Velas for your two night respite. As a major contributor to TripAdvisor, I can gather that your experience in travel has taken you to many points around the world. And to have such a glowing review on our resort makes us very proud that we could meet your high expectations. Our chefs in Piaf and Lucca will be delighted that you found their choices to be superb, and that your culinary experiences in those restaurants were some of the highlights of your stay. We will mention to our staff your comments on your appreciation of their service, I am sure they will value them. Thank you again for sharing your impressions, and I hope that next time you will find the opportunity to spend more nights with us, and experience everything here that we have to offer. Take care.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

For those of you who think all inclusives cannot possibly be first rate, I beg you go to Grand Velas and experience it for yourself! From the minute you get out of your transport to the minute you step back in for the ride to the airport (only ten short minutes away, which is a huge plus), the staff at Grand Velas has only your comfort and happiness in mind while staying there. The food is absolutely ridiculous good (ask to try the Tasting Menu, where you do not order and just let the chef have his way with you, so much fun!) and the resort itself is immaculate inside and out. Lovely pool area with the best servers (special thanks to pool concierge Jose and bartender Alfredo) where you can relax and enjoy drinks and lunch everyday.

Our concierge, Jose Chepe, thanks for making all the arrangements to make our 21st anniversary the most memorable of all. We cannot wait to return, hopefully in Jan. 2015!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the penthouse suite so we had a huge second floor balcony with chaise lounge, table a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you Paul for your glorious review on your recent vacation with us. I am glad that you have us in your mind for 2015, we will very happy to have you again with us. The tasting menu which you so much enjoyed is an adventure in presentation, flavor and combinations, and the overall reaction of our knowledgeable guests is one of delightful satisfaction, believe me, the chef will love your words. We will share your motivating comments with all our staff, with honorable mentions for Jose our concierge and Alfredo our barman. I am especially happy that your 21st wedding anniversary was enjoyed as your most memorable one, and we as a team would be honored to receive you again for your future vacations at Grand Velas. Thank you and congratulations to you and your lovely wife.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing