We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Velas and cannot praise it enough.
The room was very spacious and had a clear view of the water.
We apparently were lucky as we got there towards the end of the busy season so we did not have to 'reserve' our chairs early in the morning and the pool was not as crowded as other people have mentioned.
I can only comment on our stay and I will say it was simply fabulous.
There were many activities throughout the day AND evening (movie night for the kids, games room)
The restaurants were very chic (especially Piaf) and service as a whole was top notch.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and praise on the vacation that you recently spent with us. As you said we try to have many activities which our guests can enjoy, be it in the daytime sunshine or in the starry evenings. It is our goal that all our guests indulge in all that is offered, including our four restaurants, in which we constantly work to make sure that the attention to the numerous culinary and visual details be a must for all our chefs. That way we may provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. We certainly wish to “keep up the good work” as you say, in the hope that we will be fortunate to have you as our guests again. Thank you for your encouragement and for your splendid words.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the most relaxing vacation we have ever enjoyed. The service was outstanding. Food and drinks were great and our room was gorgeous and immaculate. This will not be our last visit to this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AG0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for having visited Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit. Your outstanding comment is appreciated and we will make sure that is shared with all our staff. We hope to be your hosts again in any of our resorts in the future.

Rodolfo Gonzalez
Managing Director
Hotel Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a long overdue review but as we are getting ready to head on another trip I know I'm going to compare it all to our great stay at the Grand! The resort was beautiful and the staff were overwhelmingly friendly. We went on a group trip so weren't involved in the decision making of the resort but so happy with the choice. The grounds are so well kept and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff at the Grand Velas are top notch they answered all our questions and gave quick and friendly service. The food choices and quality were wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the Azul and Frida was an outstanding dining experience. The city was beautiful and we felt very safe both on the beach and in town. Although there were "time share hockers" at every corner the architecture and shops were well worth the trouble. There were also vendors on the beach near the Grand Velas who were very friendly and reasonable. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation this is a must stop!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you Michele for your wonderful review on your vacation with us. In reading your review it seems that we exceeded your expectations on all facets of your stay including the city of Puerto Vallarta. As a tourist destination, Puerto Vallarta prides itself on the genuine hospitality that it demonstrates towards its visitors. Friendships are formed that are maintained for years to come. We thank you and the organizers of your trip for selecting Grand Velas, and we certainly wish to be your hosts again for your future travels. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We honeymooned here in early August. The resort is fantastic all around! Like others mentioned, the service is outstanding and the accommodations are great. Our favorite restaurant in the Authentic Mexican one.

Tips:

-Pool chairs are always taken. While no one admits it, the pool staff places items on the chairs and "holds" them. If you tip early in your stay, you'll always have a chair in a premium spot.

-If you do plan to tip bring lots of USD singles, they come in very handy.

-The beach isn't grand. If you are looking for blue waters, this is not your place. It isn't terrible, but it isn't great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you Lindsey for your comments on your recent stay with us. It really delights us to host newlyweds on their special occasion. Concerning your observation on our pool area, it is important to note that we have a special department dedicated to the comfort and service of our guests in and around our pool and beach areas. Our pool concierges are there to provide a level of order so that all the guests’ wishes are considered when coming down to the pool area. It really is a system that works very well, and of course tipping is a very optional gesture while inside the resort. I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant Frida. The menu and dining ambience certainly sets it apart from other Mexican cuisine restaurants, and as noted, has left a memorable impression with you.

Thank you again Lindsey for your review, and congratulations on your recent marriage. It was a pleasure to host you and your husband, and we do wish to see you for many anniversaries to come.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This review is long overdue. But given the excellent top notch service and overall grounds of the resort. thought I needed to compliment Grand Velas PV event now. We have never been a fan of AI but thought we'd give this 1 a try and GV changed our minds about AI. The staff and service have made this place a definite 5 star place. The grounds are beautiful but we've been to lots of 5 stars resorts and this is comparable.

it is always the staff/service that makes the difference. Even though the beach is just ok at this resort, the impeccable service,and grounds and nice restaurants made up for this.

Our experience at this GV resort has prompted us to look into their sister resort in Riviera Maya on the Caribbean side ( which definitely has the nicer beach). We highly recommend GV!

Room Tip: We cannot comment on the spa because we never used it. And this beach might be great for others. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RH12571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your long, overdue review as you put it. We truly appreciate that you fondly remember your vacation with us in Riviera Nayarit from last year, and are now thinking of our hotel chain for your upcoming getaway. As you know first hand, our all inclusive experience is of a very high level of quality, which is why you converted to our concept as your review mentions. Also, as a senior contributor to TripAdvisor, your extensive travel experience shows that your words really reflect the happiness that you enjoyed a year ago, and that makes us feel very proud as an organization. Again, thank you for your motivating review, and we will be proud to be your hosts in any one of our fine resorts. Take Care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was the best, nicest, friendliest, and most professional resort I have ever been to. From the welcome staff, concierge meeting you in a lounge area with cool drinks and wet towels to cool off, to all the service personnel striving to make it the best possible experience for the guest. The food choices were out of this world, the ambiance is relaxing luxury, and the housekeeping staff is meticulous. I love this place. Even the taxi driver spoke highly of this resort. Just amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaTwoRivers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you Lisa for your glowing comments on your recent stay with us. From reading your description, it is evident that we were truly able to exceed your expectations in all aspects of our service and product. Our goal is that you feel well attended to, and that your needs are met in a friendly and professional manner. We can say that in achieving this goal, we now have a future, repeat guest, and I hope that every subsequent stay at Grand Velas is as satisfying as your previous one. Please let us know when you are deciding to return. Thank you again Lisa, for your motivating review.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ,
MANAGING DIRECTOR,
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had an amazing Stay, what a gorgeous resort. We were a little worried prior to arriving about how it might be crowded, and having never done all inclusive before as that is not really our style...but we had nothing to worry about! We were there admittedly at a VERY quiet time for the property, so it was amazing, no crowds, extremely easy to get your pick of seats by the pools (which were gorgeous!) Room was lovely and large, staff were fabulous, and the food was divine!!! We did eat more often at Azul as just was easy with the kids and the food there whilst good was just fairly basic fare, but Frida, Piaf and Lucca were Top Notch! We had room service a couple of times which was good - but once again I would much prefer to eat at one of the main restaurants. The beach itself was ok, but water seemed a bit dirty so just swam in the pool. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your marvelous comments on your recent stay with us at Grand Velas. as a senior contributor you have much experience in traveling and rating the hotels. We are very pleased to have met and exceeded your expectations, and in providing for your family an amazing stay, as you so kindly describe. Thank you again for your thoughtful review, and also for traveling such a great distance in order to be with us. We hope to host you again in the future.

Please feel free to get in touch with our concierge services before your next arrival.

Best Regards!

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
4 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,599 reviews
4 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,636 reviews
15.9 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Address: Av. Cocoteros, 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $524 - $2,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit is a luxurious all-inclusive resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, featuring an award-winning spa, incredible dining and entertainment, playful activities, kids club, stylish event space, and a breathtaking landscape on the emera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing