We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all inclusive in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best all inclusive in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our concierge was Ernesto and he made sure that every wish was granted. Best spa experience ever! Staff of this property were all there to serve. Gourmet dining night after night. Great ocean front suite. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Classicroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief C, Chief Concierge at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
In reading your review I can certainly say that your stay with us was a marvelous experience. It is our desire at Grand Velas that all facets of your vacation be truly memorable enough to create such energetic reviews. We will definitely strive for an even more resounding success to your holidays in the years to come. Thank you for sharing your happiness with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    289
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
872
839
27
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

When you come back from a place that has service as exceptional as Grand Velas you don't want to wait too long before you write a review. We are returned from Grand Velas this evening. This place is just as nice as all other reviews will make you believe.

Its the right size place with just about 200+ rooms. this week there was perhaps 30-40% occupancy at MAX. that made for the service to be even extra special.

Make a wish and they will do their level best to make it come true. They just don't say NO.

we wanted a bigger suite and a ocean facing one - they hesitated only slightly but then put us on the 9th floor with a private terrace jacuzzi over looking the bay with spectacular views of the sunset. Beautiful

Room service - awesome - ask what u want and they will deliver with a smile on their face

Pool - there are multiple pools that are "connected" - Alfredo at the pool bar will serve you the drink of your choice (or his) with a big smile on his face. They want to make sure you're happy

The views from the hotel are awesome. we had no problem with getting poolside chairs but i could see if the hotel is 70%+ occupied, this could be an issue.

For us, the heroes of the trip were chef (more like magician) Claudio Hotter and our conceirge Gina.

We are vegetarians and we avoid "all inclusive" because of the limited choices. we had alerted Chef Claudio who is the executive chef ahead of time. And boy was he prepared. He had a 4 course lunch planned for us each day and a 6+ course dinner. Amazing food. Amazing service. The entire kitchen staff made us feel awesome. Perhaps the #1 reason why we will actually return to this place in the future (we never return to the same place again other than Yosemite but that might actually change).

Gina the concierge was very charming. Very proud of Mexico's culture and the various places to see. She wanted to help us wherever she could. Once the Activity center was not able to accomodate our request for a specific activity and Gina made that happen as well.

Overall, this place would make you feel special (just go at a time when its not too crowded). we met several repeat visitors there and everyone goes back because of hte food and service.

The rooms are decent sized. the decor of the rooms could have been a bit better but who cares about that when the view out the patio is so awesome.

O, the Kids activity club: our kid (6 yrs) loved it. Infact he wanted to go there till our taxi arrived for the ride to the airport.

We had fun kayaking, learning spanish, blackjack, water aerobics, jenga etc. etc. Boogey board..

All in all an amazing place.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: center of the floor. 740 was a great room, 932 was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thePatels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much Sres. Patel on your delightful observations of your stay with us.
Just one of the many aspects that set Grand Velas apart from other all inclusives is the human factor. Our management has a face that is easily accessible, case in point, our Executive
Chef Claudio in taking the time and effort to cater to your specific family and your needs.
At Grand Velas our guests have names along with individual desires and expectations. We know that the personal touches are perhaps going to result in you and your family returning in the future, because after all, we recognize to the full extent that this is a hospitality business.
Thank you again for your preference and Chef Claudio and Gina send their greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came to the Grand Velas for our anniversary. They delivered dessert and sent champagne to the room to help us celebrate. Edward Carrillo was the gentleman that helped us and his service was amazing. He checked on us to make sure that we were having a flawless vacation. I would recommend the Grand Velas for a great place to visit and relax!!! Thank you edwards and the Grand Velas for an outstanding vacation.

Room Tip: Seventh floor!!!! Great view and extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your splendid comments and congratulations on your special anniversary. Our concierge staff and in particular Edward, is extremely attentive to the special details that can transform a good vacation into an unforgettable experience. We handle hundreds of requests and details on a daily basis and we appreciate the significance that just one of these has on a particular guest. In your case Suzy, you chose Grand Velas out of the thousands of possibilities in which to celebrate your beloved anniversary, and for your decision, and that of the hundreds of other guests, we feel a deep gratefulness and a genuine obligation to you, to reciprocate with extraordinary service while you are here on vacation. I believe Suzy when reading your review that we have certainly achieved our goal. Again, thank you for selecting Grand Velas and we are at your service for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent a week at the resort in July 2013 and had an amazing time. If you like saps this was probably the nicest one I have been to-but pricey. For an all inclusive resort, the quality of the service, food and overall experience was amazing. We were there for business/pleasure and I was impressed with how family friendly everything was at the resort. I was there with my husband but would definitely come back with the family as they have babysitting and activities for kiddos so parents can enjoy themselves too! I cannot say enough about the staff and service as well as the food. We were there at a very busy time and it was sometimes hard to find a chair at the pool but the staff was always helpful in accommodating us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good afternoon Sara and thank you for your delightful comments. July was one of our busiest months this year and based on your review, we were able to make sure that you were quite comfortable. Whether you were in the pool area, dining rooms and of course our convention center for your conference, the service was right on target. In times of high occupancy our committed staff work extra hours, sometimes in different areas depending on where the heaviest demand is at a particular time. We plan our staffing schedule according to the hotels occupation, planned events and dining and lounge areas that all of a sudden become highly frequented. Those details are not noticeable to many of our guests, however we have supervision that is there to regulate the pulse of hotel and make the appropriate adjustment on a moments notice. So Sarah, when you return to Grand Velas with the entire family, you can be confident that your level of comfort will always be a priority for us. Thank you again Sara, and we hope to host you again this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and did not have to pay the cost personally. I can confirm that the Spa prices were very high but the quality was also. The only real blot was the WiFI service which was very expensive ; charged for each device and wasn't very fast even then. Some reviewers seem exercised about the reserving of sun loungers and others about the high-spirited children. Yes it was surprising (and amusing) to see loungers 'occupied' by footballs, sand spades and stuffed toys and indeed there were lots of children around but what would you expect at a family friendly resort? The stand-out experience was to have a choice of three high-quality restaurants where the a la carte menu and much of the wine list, together with any and all drinks beforehand were all included in the room rate. If you have a lot of money to spare or want an exceptional experience this hotel is highly recommended. You will have to put up with some of the over-rich clients but the friendly service and exquisite beach make up for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your conference stay with us. And of course we appreciate you coming all the way from Ireland to have your meetings in Grand Velas. I certainly like your description of the property as “Ultimate Luxury”. And of course the better products will come at a price. The Spa that you enjoyed is actually recognized as one of the Top Spas on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. We have had guests that fly into Nuevo Vallarta just to spend a half day enjoying their favorite treatments and relaxing in our hydrotherapy areas. Then they are back on the plane feeling like new. Thank you again for your observations and we hope that your conference was a success. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were attending a conference at this resort. The all-inclusive property made it very convenient to eat / drink at your convenience - families will love the resort. Everything other than the internet and access to the spa is included. The property is beautiful and has a fantastic location on the beach. The pools are gorgeous and the staff provides excellent customer service. Our suite was huge (the bathroom was as big as a hotel room in NYC!) and very well-appointed! Food was very good but wish they'd serve more traditional / local Mexican flavors - we wanted to try a good mole dish but couldn't get our fix! I'd suggest the hotel include internet into its list of all-inclusive services. And as other folks have pointed out, it can get very busy during the peak/high season, so be prepared for crowds. If you're looking for a quiet / secluded getaway - this isn't your spot. Great resort in the Puerto Vallarta area.

Room Tip: We had suite on the ground floor with ocean views. You could hear the waves, which was fantastic! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your suggestions of Grand Velas on TripAdvisor. As you were here for a conference and had witnessed many families at that time, the casual impression may be one of action and crowds. However, in my time here serving our guests, I have found that we really do have various aspects of our resort that satisfy the expectations of couples on restful vacations and romantic getaways.

Our Relaxing Spa, adult relaxation area with jacuzzi, a table for two for dinner in one of our gourmet restaurants and of course in our tastefully appointed suites. All this combined with the fortune of always having spectacular sunsets on the Pacific Coast can make for a truly special and personal time together.

So we really are able to cater to the different expectations of our varied clientele. Thank you for your insights, and I certainly wish to see you return in the winter so that we can enjoy a nice chicken in mole lunch together. That I promise.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from Grand Velas, and wanted to write while everything was still fresh. First let me start with the positives.....

We stayed in the Ambassador Grand Class Suite, and it was absolutely wonderful. After our check-in, which was rather painless, we were escorted to our room. We were absolutely blown away by the deck and the views, both of the ocean and the mountains. Very spacious bathroom, we loved the multi-head shower. Walk in closet. With regard to the room, it was certainly one the nicest that we had been in for a long time.

The service was also far above average. Jose Ramos was our man down at the pool. He did a wonderful job (will touch more upon this later). Concierge service was also great, we received a call every day to make sure that our stay was going as we had desired. Service staff in the restaurants was also very good, particularly Fernando at Frieda.

Unfortunately we were disappointed with some aspects of our stay....

First, having read reviews on here prior to booking, and the sometimes unpleasant experiences with large corporate gatherings, I had called and asked if there were any corporate meetings or reservations during the week that we intended on visiting. I was told emphatically no. Due to this I was surprised not only to see an Edward Jones conference, but also a Mexican technology conference going on at the same time while we were there.

The battle for poolside chairs is as ugly here as I have seen it anywhere. I was up at 7 each morning in attempt to get us a place to sit, but even at this time 80% of the spots were gone. One day, I had reserved chairs prior to going to the spa, only to find out later that the tshirts I had placed there had been replaced by a woman and her daughter. Jose found my shirts later that evening under the padding on the chairs. I was very thankful for him helping us, but obviously disappointed by the entire experience.

Lastly, and for us, most bothersome was complete lack of accommodation for couples or adults only. We were told from another couple that the resort has been marketing as a family friendly resort locally in Mexico, and judging by the other guests, it has been successful for them. First, I found it extremely tiresome when I would be waiting at the poolside bar only for a group of 3 12-year-olds to cut in front and order their virgin half-margarita-half-pina coladas. There were smaller children constantly kicking, splashing, throwing balls right at the bar. I do not understand why the resort does not just make the bar pool adult only. There is only one dedicated spot for adults which consists of about 10-12 chairs by the hot tub, and even here you are right next to the summer camp all day long. But most of all, every one of our reservation dining experiences were basically ruined by out of control children. I had tried to video one instance, where there was some type of family reunion, and the parents in their infinite wisdom allowed for a table to have only children less than about 8 years old. There was screaming, rolling on the floor, running across the restaurant to to other tables, hanging from railings. Not once was this family asked to please control their noise. From a 5-diamond resort and restaurant, which you are constantly reminded of, I would expect a better dinner ambiance than Chuck E. Cheese.

In summary, we loved out trip as long as we stayed in our room or on our patio, but we were disappointed with the lack of catering to the adult crowd. The resort has clearly shown us that their emphasis is on a family destination. However if that is what we wanted, we would have gone to Orlando. Unfortunately I can not recommend this resort to couples looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Buenos dias Sr. Jason and thank you for relaying your thoughts concerning your visit with us. As you are well aware now, summer in Mexico is a time where school is on break and in some instances large families unite together in beach destinations. At Grand Velas we realize that there will be a larger proportion of children in summer compared to other seasons, and that is why we incorporated a larger activities program as well as two very new programs. The Teen´s Club and The Summer Camp. These additions and improvements are of course to enhance the family experience for the little ones and also to channel many of the children towards certain areas of the resort with the purpose to alleviate crowding in the main areas of the pool. Jose Ramos as you mention really does do a terrific job for our guests considering the large responsibility he holds in maintaining a pleasant harmony for all. There will always be room for improvement in any resort and we will look to improve the already beautiful pool area. Thank you again for expressing your pleasure and your concerns and I am at your service for any future needs you may have.

Rodolfo Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing