We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This might be one of our favorite homes away from home! The staff addresses us by name, Head Chef Claudio and all of the restaurant staffs are more than eager to accommodate our dietary restrictions, and the spa experience is remarkable. We have been here a few times and will continue to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do our best every single day to make sure that every little detail is perfect. I really hope to have the honor to host you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me for any kind of assistance.

Thank you for choosing Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    289
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
872
839
27
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at both locations (Riviera Maya). Def same hotel but on a smaller scale. Beautiful resort. We were a little disappointed we received a room with two beds since we were a couple. They placed us directly next to a restaurant and we shared a wall with the kitchen but were soon moved to a better room (but still two beds) ;0) Food and drink and service were outstanding!!!! But what ruined our whole experience is that there was a construction/pluming convention. OMG. For all of us that worked our tails off to save money for a 5 star/diamond hotel. The crowd definitely shot those stars down. Enough said. We were not able to enjoy the serenity of the hotel until the last day when they left (changed the whole mood of the resort).
Definitely a great resort but so sad the convention crowd ruined the ambience of a top rated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaolivia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your patronage. The feedback of our guest is crucial for us in order to constantly improve in our service.

Please rest assures that all your suggestions are going to be considered, please accept our most sincere apologies for the noise inconvenience.

We will be more than pleased to pamper you in the near future, Please feel free to contact me if there is anything else I could do for you on your next visit.

Sincerely

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved every moment of our trip to the Grand Velas and are planning on returning next year. The food was amazing, the grounds were impeccable, the service was beyond 5 diamonds. We got married on the beach, just the two of us, and were treated like we a king and queen. A special note, Alfredo at the pool bar was amazing. His giggle is contagious. We hope he is there when we return next year.

Room Tip: I would choose the master suite for the value. The presidential suite was amazing, however, I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations; our main goal is to satisfy our entire guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience and for making us part of your big celebration.

Once again thank you for choosing us, I really hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is not only a regular all inclusive hotel, this is an all inclusive gourmet hotel where the luxury and guest comfort are the priority among the employees. Went there in October, and had a great time the rooms are good and we got the upgrade to the penthouse room which has a small terrace and a private hot tub with a great ocean view. All the restaurants are great specially the dinner ones my favorite was the French. Overall this place is great we had an amazing experience. I definitely wanna check the property in riviera maya.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r17061988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience of your recent stay at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit. We are more than pleased to know that your experience exceeded your expectations; our main commitment is to look for the details that will make a difference on the experiences of our guests.

Please feel free to contact me if there is anything else I could do for you on your next visit.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit on a site visit for our future Top Sales Incentive trip. Tania Guadalupe, the Group Sales Manager, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the resort. The rooms were beautiful as well as the grounds and location. Attention to detail is definitely part of this resort. The onsite restaurants were great as well as all the staff gave us great service! This would be a great location to spend on a personal vacation as well as a business incentive trip.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Amazing views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host. It was a really honor to serve you.

Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit is the perfect retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and relaxation combine in perfect harmony.

Thank you again for choosing us as your vacations destination, it will be our pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The personal attention and attention to detail was exceptional.The overall service from concierge to room service made this one of the best vacations we have ever taken. The food was excellent and had nice variety. Pool service was spot on with top shelf liquor flowing and all service/wait staff did everyything to accomadate any requests. Beautiful pools and beach with incredible ocean view from our Grand Class Suite. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your recent stay at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, I am very glad to know that your experience was very pleasant and that you enjoyed your all the details of our distinguished services.

We will be more than pleased to pamper you in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything else I could do for you on your next visit.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were very impressed with everything at the Gran Velas! Food was excellent, spacious, clean rooms with ocean view. The spa was AWESOME! After 1 hour hydrotherapy, a massage and facial-I couldn't have felt more relaxed! Both days we spent by the pool we had excellent service by the same waiter, Alfredo. I wouldn't necessarily say I would go back to Puerto Vallarta, but I would for sure go back to the Gran Velas!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others travelers.
It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations for the service provided by our dedicated staff. Rest assured that I will let everybody know about your recognitions.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing