We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Elkhart, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel !”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were part of a large group the first week of March 2013. This hotel lived up to it's reviews! Lareg suite style rooms...large bathrooms..large patio (very private) Amazing view. We have traveled to many hotels in various resorts locations around the globe and this hotel ranks right at the top of my list. The food and service were outstanding! Very friendly staff. The attention to all the little details to make your vacation experience memorable were attended to. We will definatley return to this hotel. One great thing about this location...very few bugs and low humidity this time of the year. We left pation doors open every night an the sound of the ocean lulls u to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th floor or higher. If you can get one in the 420's-430's you will look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimogal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our services & facilities.

We appreciate your preference and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    299
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
901
862
28
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was by far the best all inclusive resort I've been to. I went with my husband and had the most enjoyable time. The staff was so over the top amazing I didn't want to leave and go back to reality. They waited on us hand and foot. I happened to be allergic to their beautiful flowers on the building and the concierge took a taxi to the pharmacy to pick me up allergy medicine and brought it to the pool for me! The rooms were large and extremely clean with gorgeous views of the ocean and the pools. The pool had a swimup bar that was incredible. The "American" coffee they served at breakfast was the best I've ever had (wish I knew the brand to make at home). It has only been a month and I want to go back! It was worth every penny! Thank you for such a fantastic vacation!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view suite with King bed on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeDTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at this forum. It is great to know that you enjoyed the grounds, the service and the restaurants. Our main gold is to make sure you enjoy every moment.

Please dear guest feel free to contact our concierge services before your next visit.

Sincerely!!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 800
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband travels 2-3 weeks a month for work. But, even he was pleasantly surprise by the quality and the service at Grand Velas.

I was in paradise, the staff and the service was the best of any vacation I've had (I try to escape the winter every year for a few days). From the check-in beverage and smiles all around, to every detail in the beautiful lobby, from the first minute the experience was great.

The pool, the beach, the food (Frida was our favorite) the quality of the liquor the hotel uses were great! But, most of all the wonderful service staff. I am so grateful that they worked so hard to make our vacation so special. We are planning on coming back next year, with our whole family.

Puerto Vallarta is a beautiful place and still untouched by the violence affecting parts of Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and your feedback. It is very nice to hear that you had a very relaxing vacation.

Reviews like yours, gives us the certainty that we are heading on the right direction
We really hope to have the honor to host you& your family in the near future.
Please keep in touch!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 800
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipshewana, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've been to many all-inclusive's and Grand Velas surpasses them all!!! The rooms are huge and the bathrooms amazing. The service is what really sets this place apart - from room service, to our personal butler, to the pool boys and the spa - they anticipate your every need and desire. We love Grand Velas so much we've been back 6 times, 3 were family vacations with our children, and 3 romantic getaways with my husband. The kids LOVED the free kids club and the staff there made it so much fun. We've been blessed to travel the world and Grand Velas keeps us coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csomers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Resort was beautiful! Staff was GREAT - especially Noe at the buffet! However, 3 channels out of 35 were in English and not news - they force you to buy movies. We watched Blaze which was listed at 105 pesos but when we checked out it was 172! Taxes was the answer. I tried to break a $20 USD at the front desk and was told at 11:00am "I don't have any money - try back in 30 minutes" so I did an hour later and was told to try back in 20 minutes. Really??? A $600/night resort doesn't have change for a $20? Either poor business practices or poor management. The overall experience was very good, it was just frustrating to see such a steller resort lack in such small areas. Rooms lacked attention to detail...paint from walls were on the tile and cabinet - a slipper from a previous guest was under bed - lots of dust under bed - soaker tub spout water hit side of tub and splashed everywhere if water was turned on past medium - television could not be turned up past 30 (which was NOT loud enough by a long shot) - granted it's Mexico but there was not heat option in the room (it got cold one night but we could not do anything about it) - there were no fajitias on the resort (lots of fancy other stuff but no good mexican food).

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at this forum. Your feedback it is always very important for us. I will make sure to share your comments with all the head manager at the hotel in order to improve.

Please on your next visit let me know in advance to have everything ready for you and your family.

Best Regards!
IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 800
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

1 week with 2 children (8 and 12) - great trip. All amazing staff, Tony, Castaway, Hugo, Anna, & Ever (addressed us all by name) went over and above to ensure we all had everything we could wish for. If I was seen to be looking around the resort for my children, Hugo could pinpoint them in a second. I do not like to let my children out of my site, however, they and I felt absolutely safe in the resort at all times.
I like to explore new places but will certainly return to GRAND VELAS within the year. Relaxation is guaranteed. The food was superb, coming from San Francisco and a self acclaimed foodie, that is big!
I will say the teens at the resort (my son is about to embark on this stage) could do with a meeting point with some additional activities. The boys discovered a pool table, however it was not working. If they would consider converting the kids club to a teen club in the evening, maybe adding some age appropriate movies or games or just a place where that age group could go to meet the others, it would be a huge benefit. - Not a complaint, just a suggestion!
The pick up volleyball games were great introductions for the kids and adults alike.

Do not confuse this place with Velas Vallarta, that would be a completely different review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review, it is very nice to know that you enjoyed the magnificent service in all areas.

We thank you for your suggestion; it’s wonderful to have fresh ideas.

I really hope to have the honor to host you& your family in the near future. Please if there is anything I could do on your next visit let me know, it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Best Regards!
IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 800
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The accomodations, facilities and staff are all top shelf. If you desire to be treated like a King or Queen -- this is the place for you! The pampering starts from the moment you arrive and continues till you depart! Very clean -- the staff is always cleaning. Nothing more relaxing than sitting by the pool or in your private beach cabana and having the staff bring you drinks or lunch. The drinks were amazing. The staff was exceptional. We had Francesco Rios as our drink & food waiter every day by the pool and he was exceptional! I can not find any negative thing to say about this place! The hostess at "Azul" welcomed me everyday. One waiter, Juan Valdez, was great, but then so were all of the other employees. Everything seemed to enjoy ther job and to be catering to your every whim! The gardening is beautiful and there were no bugs, maybe an iguana or two, but no bugs! :)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a great view of the pool, but our friends were on the 4th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harriskym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and your feedback. It is very nice to hear that you had a very relaxing vacation.

Please if there is anything else we can do for you on your next visit do not hesitate in contacting me.

Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 800
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#2 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
1,997 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing