We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and experience”
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Lebanese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great meal and experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ended here almost by accident and are so happy we did. We had one of the best meals we have ever had. Everything we order was exceptionally good. We started out with a hummus and a capresse salad which were great, then moved on to our main dishes: Mediterranean Shrimps and a Mushroom Rissotto if the entrees were great, the main dishes were EXCELLENT! Every single bite was an explosion of flavors, we just loved it. We closed the night with a rose petal ice cream whith was also great. In the end we had a wonderful evening. Service was really good, waiters were really nice and friendly. The chef was at our table twice to ask if everything was ok with us he was really kind. We even got our favorite music played for us. We would definitely go back next time we visit Vallarta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    63
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Middle Eastern Food in Nuevo Vallarta”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived on a very Boxing Day night. We reserved a table for 8 at 8pm based on the #2 Trip Advisor rating, and had to wait to be seated as they were VERY busy. We had complimentary appetizers as it was quite a wait for the food. The food when it came was really good - the lamb skewers were fantastic as were the accompanying smokey baked potatoes. The tables are inside a courtyard and reminded my husband and I of a restaurant we had gone to in Dubai. unfortunately it rained while we were there and the waiters had to get the other diners under cover - we were lucky to be in a sheltered location. Great for a different Mexican eating experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese Food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This restaurant was quite busy when we arrived and they weren't quite ready for our reservation so we hung around for a bit. As an apology they gave us complimentary Tabbouleh and Baba Ganoush bread (which was delicious!).
The tables are outside in an apartment building courtyard which is quite different, but nice and quiet. Thursday nights they offer belly dancers, which were okay (not the best I have seen). My husband and I ordered a platter to share - everything on it was fantastic! Especially the naan-like bread that came with it. Most of our group had the lamb skewers which were good. The food came out slow, but the servers were attentive with our appetizers and drinks. The chef (or owner) came out after our meal to apologize for the food wait which was really appreciated by our group. He then gave us complimentary rose petal ice cream to apologize (or may he does this for everyone?) It was quite uniqe and an experience to have. All in all a great option for something different in Nuevo Vallarta.

*Our whole group ate off the Lebanese menu and didn't try any of the Italian options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillyTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's OK.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I went there based on the rankings at Trip advisor. This place and its rankings are way overrated. My guess is that people got tired of eating Mexican food and went for something different causing it to rate so high. The service is horrible. They only have 1 Chef with 2 assistants. So for the size of the restaurant, they cannot serve all the tables with prompt service. It took almost 1 hr for food to arrive. The Falals had lot of Baking soda. We had few drinks before going there. So we skipped the drinks. It made the wait very agonizing. If you do not have any Mediterranean place in your home town OR can't control your cravings, you may want to visit this place. Otherwise I recommend that you skip this one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pddeshpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario N, Propietario at Mediterraneo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Mr. pddeshpa hello, first of all I would like to thank you for the comment and for you time.
we are very sorry for what has passed in the night, your food arrived after 35 minutes ... This was due to the many people who were present at this time. you can comment on what you want, but I do not agree when he speaks of our posicion in Trip Advisor, the chef of this restaurant is a chef with lots of experience and the staff who work with me are well trained and capacitated (we are few but we know to do our work well). anyway we are waiting with great pleasure the next time ... I accept all the comments but to say that the comments of others are not true, this seems like an exaggeration. thanks for your visit, next time we will do our best for the service. with affect M. Nasser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Try Something DIfferent While in Mexico”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to Mediterraneo a year ago not long after it opened and loved it. This year we went twice and still loved, but it was not as :perfect" as last year. The food is authentic Middle Eastern as the owner/chef is from Lebanon. We liked everything we have eaten here but the lamb with the mushrooms in cream sauce is particularly memorable. And the rose petal ice cream to finish off the meal is wonderful. But prices have been raised substantially since we first visited, making it less of a bargain (but still well-worth the price). And on belly-dancing nights, the service is slow and confused, but still friendly and we had a great time. So try Mediterraneo when you are visiting Nuevo Vallarta and want a break from seafood and Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing