We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing meal for a great price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonora Al Sur

Sonora Al Sur
Reserve with OpenTable
Sonora Al Sur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 136 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing meal for a great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I recently ate at Sonora Al Sur. We had no idea what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The process of ordering was a bit confusing, but the staff was extremely helpful and patient.
The meal was so good we returned 2 other times during the vacation and told everyone at the resort about it.
Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    167
    57
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This restaurant is located at Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta, No. 64, in Nuevo Vallarta. This is the middle exit for Nuevo Vallarta from Mexico 200, the main highway between Puerto Vallarta and Nuevo Vallarta.

If you love meat, you will love this restaurant. There are at least 10 different cuts of meat to choose from. The cuts are listed on a sign on the wall, and while the sign is mainly in Spanish, the cuts are mainly in English, i.e. New York strip, etc. You order at the counter. Two butchers will show you how much they recommend, and you can say more or less. Language is not a problem. You pay the lady at the cash register after ordering a salad, if you would like. The salads feed at least two people and are very high quality. You can also order potatoes, such as baked or French fries. (The cashier speaks pretty good English.) The baked potatoes are hugh and loaded with cheese and a thick cream. The cost of two excellent steak dinners was approximately $20.00 USD. You pay for your drinks separately, but are also reasonably priced.

You can eat inside or outside, the street noise is not a problem. However, the gentlemen next to you may light up after their meals. The faucet in the restroom is turned on and off by what is actually the shut-off valve: very practical. Our waiter spoke good English and was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in all of Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the best restaurant in all of Jalisco! If you miss this restaurant when you visit Puerto Vallarta your life will never be complete. Now let me mention if you are a vegetarian please go to the next review, if you love beef like I do, WELCOME! This restaurant was made for people like us! You walk up to the butcher who allows you to pick the cut of beef you are looking for, then the size and how you want to have it cut. Thick for a big juicy steak, or thin strips for tacos of just anyway you want it. The potatoes are fantastic, I still believe they do something magical to them and the onions, well the same. The service is outstanding and the cost, is incredible! You won't believe how cheap the best beef in Vallarta is. Priced right, with great food don't miss out on this great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice for a change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went for the first time to have dinner with friends, they allow you to bring your own wine, we liked the concept, l was happy to be in the air conditioned section, the place was clean and open in the front, clean and roomy inside and the bathroom clean as well, detached from the eating area but they need a door between the space where the men and women restrooms and the common sink are and the outdoor seating area. The night we visited they only had one out of ten cheeses available, the did not have the kobe burger or the mollejas [sweetbread] l ordered a 700 grams top sirloin for my friend and l decided to try a small portion of the ribs, a small portion of the rib eye and the Argentinian sausage, the big grilled onion and the huge baked potato. The staff was attentive and nice, when our food was served, it did not take long since the place was not busy, the Argentinian sausage was a bit dry for my taste, the rib eye was juicy and tender and the ribs were tough and almost raw, so l sent it back and requested to try the Grilling Chorizo sausage, you pay up front, so l did not want to ask for my money back or for they to throw the rib portion back on the grill, and the chorizo came and was better tasting than the Argentinian sausage. Overall, we had a good time, the onions and potatoes are a must, other two friends ate their whole portions of Vacio steak that the guys butterflied, rubbed with spices and grilled to their liking and l liked their place having easy access, plenty of parking and l would go back to try some other items in their menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexTheGreatest1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great yet affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Five of us (3 adults/1 teen/1 child) ate 3 rib eye roll steaks, 3 vacio steaks, 2 baked potatoes and 2 alioli potatoes = ~$46 usd!! Like a butcher shop, you order your cut at the counter, e.g. prime, sirloin, filet, rib eye, vacio, etc by the kilo. Butcher cuts, you order any sides and how you want the steaks cooked, you pay and your waiter takes the steaks away to be grilled, which is right next to the outdoor patio. Steaks come with tortillas, beans and an assortment of mild to spicy salsa. The baked potatoes were the biggest I've ever seen and baked in butter, mayo and cheese (yummy). The papas alioli were so flavorful, not one was spared. Steaks were grilled as ordered and outstanding. Service was good. You order and pay for your drinks separately at your table. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Al Sur also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sonora Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing