We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, friendly server” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Por Que No? - CLOSED

Por Que No?
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: CERRADO
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Great place, friendly server”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had the pleasure of having dinner in this restaurant during our stay in Nuevo Vallarta. The food was excellent the atmosphere was out of this world and our server Fernando was fascinating. We will most certainly be back on our next visit to Nuevo Vallarta. Recommended
to anyone visiting Nuevo Vallarta.

Michelle & Ralf

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    56
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“PorQueNO? Why not? Good question !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sitting on the yacht harbour or in the restaurant very close to the water as well and enjoy the atmosphere. And than you hear a friendly “ how are you doing Amigos”
and you know everything will be good. You get a nice cool drink and you look into a small menu. Don’t worry, it is small but very good. We had the catch of the day
fresh fish and done to perfection. A real treed. With little room left in our belly we decided on a dessert and cappuccino's. To die for. All in all nice location, friendly
staff and good food. A good experience. Hasta luego Amigos, see you another time !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Okanagan_Lakeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Por Que No Still Great After All These Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We first ate at Por Que No (PQN) in April 12. See my review on April 17, 2012. We were excited to go back to PQN again as the great food and memories we had from our first visit seemed so fresh in our minds.

We ate at PQN this trip on April 14, 2014 and were happy to see that the quality of food, service and ambiance have not changed.

We traveled with my mother in law in 2012 and 2014. She came to PV in 2013 with her sister and she had to take her sister to PQN for a dinner.

Some of the staff from 2012 were still working there and the singer last week was also the singer that was there 2 years ago.

Food presentation and taste were excellent. Drinks tasted great. Wait staff attentive and efficient.

There 8 of us and everyone was happy with their meal with lots of tummy rubbing and "aahhhh's" at the end of the meal.

We chatted with Eddie for a bit as we were leaving and told him we look forward to seeing him again at PQN, one of our "must eat restaurants" when we return to Nuevo Vallarta in two years.

See photos of some of our dinners.

Enjoy!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WHY?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were very disappointed with the owner Eddie.

Firstly we ordered 2 margaritas on the rocks without salt, however both arrived with salt. Both drinks were returned and later came back with a fizz floating on the top, which was not acceptable and again were returned.

We decided to order Martini's at this point which also were not good, as we asked for them to be made dry, unfortunately either the waiter or the bartender didn't understand what was communicated.

We would have ordered a bottle of wine, but at the prices that were being charged we found them too exorbitant for this type of restaurant.

For the main course I ordered the Lebanese combo which didn't come complete as the Fatush salad never appeared on the plate. I asked the waiter where the Fatush salad was and all he said was that is the way the kitchen sends it out. I asked for the Pita bread and plain yoghurt which arrived almost at the end of my meal.

The Mahi Mahi was tough and chewy and this was returned and came back the same way much smaller, which my partner could not eat at all.

I asked to speak to the owner. I explained the problems we've had and he offered 2 drinks to remedy the situation, however this was totally unacceptable to us.

Then the owner offered 15% off the bill, which really does not cover the poor meals we had to endure. Finally we were given 50% off the bill but not without argument.

Eddie started yelling, behaving very unprofessional, telling me to leave the past where it was. This meal was in the present not the past, which shows me that Eddie does not know how to deal with clients when they have problems and objections or questions his service. Certainly, yelling at his customers is not the solution.

Needless to say, we will NOT return to either of Eddie's restaurant's, nor would we ever recommend them to any one.

Por que no? We say, WHY???

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“We always go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

we have been coming to Nueva Vallarta for several years and we never miss Por Que No. the food service and atmosphere are excellent. wide variety of see food very friendly staff and a beautiful view. I suggest you try eddies choice for wine. sea food I love the Tuna and the Mahi Mahi prepared several different ways. Tuna is Good blackened or in ginger. Mixed seafood dinner includes scallops and Octopus very interesting. One of the best restaurant experiences you will have.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Por Que No? also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing