We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“FINE TASTING CUISINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Coin des Amis - CLOSED

Le Coin des Amis
Boulevard Nayarit, #400, Local: 3. Nuevo Vallarta | Frente a Villa Varadero, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
+52 322 297 7457
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FINE TASTING CUISINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Although the menu was a bit limited the food was out-standing! It was the best tuna steak I ever had! The waiter was very polite and helpful. The place was deserted the night we went and I feel it was just because they are not well known yet. If you are in the area, I recommend you stop in for dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank rick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Outstanding wait staff, different from the usual, great food and quiet atmosphere. Our waiter at one point asked if the music was to our liking - try finding that question asked elsewhere at tourist areas in Mexico.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank EnjoyingNVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just came back from a great trip to Nuevo Vallarta and got to experience Le Coin des Amis. What a great experience it was. The food was absolutely excellent and so was the service. We ended up going back twice it was so good (really close to the grand mayan). The staff is super friendly and knowledgable! Had the fondue the one night which was great. The only down side was we thought the price was all-inclusive for the fondue but the price listed is per person. Made for a pricier meal then we expected. The dessert (wild heart) that we followed the fondue was absolutely amazing! Best dessert Ive had in my life. Thanks for the great evenings!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank KjMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A restaurant to return to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a week in Nuevo Vallarta and went three times to the restaurant.
The first time we tried the tuna and the salmon; both were excellent and served with al dente vegetable juliennes. The second time we tried the duck and the shrimp with pasta; we were not disappointed either. The third time we had the vegetarian lasagna and the mahi-mahi; these were also very good. The Sauvignon Blanc sold by the glass is excellent.
The service is very friendly and they can explain in detail the menu items.
The restaurant being near the street is the only minus.
We will go back next time we are in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Francine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highest quality, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First-class French cuisine served by knowledgeable and helpful staff. My wife's chicken cordon bleu was superb, complimented by an excellent vegetable ratatouille and pasta noodles that were a bit hard in places. My New York steak was more gristly than I would have liked but the mushroom sauce was perfect, as was the fancy baked potato and ratatouille. I should have gone for the Duck L'Orange. Our neighbours at the resort also gave high praise to the Mahi Mahi and Seared Tuna. Leo, our server, was very accommodating and it was a nice touch for Christian, the owner, to speak with us at our table. Mind you, no one can top Eddie from Eddie's Place and Por Que No for his personal charm. Unfortunately we were too full to experience the exquisite sounding dessert menu. Christian has an extensive background with a pastry business. Tip to Le Coin -- serve a better cut of steak, less gristle. The atmosphere is lovely, with torches, etc., but the street location not as good as a harbour view site.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank surreyrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coin des Amis also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing