We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Resort
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

Overall - nice resort.

We stayed in a second floor studio. The bed was very hard and fold out was lumpy & ancient. The kitchenette had recently been renovated and was quite modern.

Lovely grounds. Nice pool & loungers.

There was loud construction next door and the restaurant advertised on their website IS NO LONGER THERE. There is a very good "snack bar" called the Seahorse, but it closes before 5pm.

I would go again as it was a great value and location. The beach was spectacular and the resort is not crowded or loud, so VERY RELAXING!!

  • Liked — Smaller resort, very quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — Beds need to be upgraded
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

We stayed in a ground floor condo with two bedrooms and two baths. The room is very open with a full kitchen and living room. The deck overlooks the beach and is very spacious. The staff was very helpful in all our inquiries and in booking side trips.
There is a nice restaurant/bar next to the pool with ocean views. Breakfast and lunch were great, but the dinner menu was a bit over-priced and limited. The beach is clean and has palm gazebos and beach chairs. The pace is slow and we very much enjoyed our stay. I would/will come back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dwhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

Bahia del Sol is a smaller timeshare resort on an excellent beach. It is very low key. The staff are very helpful with any questions. The restaurant has tasty food. Short trip to Bucerias and Sayulita. Lots of timeshare regulars that rise very early to reserve their beach chairs!! Would recommend this place unless you need a big all-inclusive hotel. The turtle program was very exciting for our 9 year old. Not many children here which was a drawback for us.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank misssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

My husband, two friends of ours, and myself stayed at the Bahia Del Sol Resort for one week March 4th - March 11th, 2006. We loved it! It is very quiet, away from all the big loud hotels, and the people were very friendly. Our accomodations were a two bedroom, three bathrooms, lot of room! The maids cleaned everyday and it was a very neat flower garden to the clean pool area. Next door they are building another hotel, so a little dusty during the day, not bad. The resturant is on the beach area, very nice view of the beach while eating your dinner. They had a band a couple times a week till around 10 p.m. Lots of retired people and their families visiting. Not a place for young poeple who like to party. Next door they have a turtle sactuary and you get to release a turtle every evening in the ocean at sunset. There is a shopping plaza about l5 minute walk, and the buses go by all the time to take you to Puerto Vallarta about 30 minutes away. If we go back to this area we would want to stay at the Bahia Del Sol again. Very good experience!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2005

Friendly Staff! The beds were hard, but an extra pad was provided when requested and the pad made the bed much more comforable.

Would do it again!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

The Bahia del Sol is a little hotel with a personal feel. We stayed for several days and there was hardly anyone around. The one bedroom unit was older but touched up with a very nice kitchen. The bedroom was basic with a hard bed, an attached bathroom with a shower stall, and it's own air conditioning unit. The living room furniture was nice but the pull out couch was horrible to sleep on. There is a small second bathroom in the main area, and a deck off the livingroom.
We had the medium sized pool and the restaurant to ourselves (the food was basic but good). There is no elevator and the whole comlex is older but it is well kept and clean. We walked across the road and up a bit and found Fajita Republic which had excellent mexican food, you have to try the Mayan Cheese sticks. The beach is wide with shallow water and is great for playing in the surf. It is possible to walk along the beach all the way to Bucerias but it is quite a hike. The other direction you can walk along the beach to the Paradise Village Mall in about 10 minutes. There are several good golf courses close by. The Bahia is a good, inexpensive hotel not a huge "american" resort. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank PinkPlumeria3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2005

We spent 3 weeks in PV in Nov 04 at three different places. This place was the last week, & in Nuevo. I had no idea what we getting into since there was no reviews I could find before we left. What an awesome surprise! There is only 60 units & most are 100% occupied by timeshare holders that make their place home. However there was hardly anybody there. Maybe 20 other people at the most.We got a ground floor suite with 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, a living room & full kitchen.It had a real nice patio, & the view was great!!! We could walk right out to the pool, restruant, bar & beach. It was so nice to spend our last week there!!! Not a big ritzy place, but very cozy & it was just like we had the whole place to ourselves (everyday!!) The food at the restruant was absolutely excellent, & the help was unbelieveable!! Jeannie & Jorge in the bar were so great. I've since sent them alot of pictures of the good times we had. The beach out there was the BEST!!! Forget the beaches in PV!! You can walk all the way down the coast with no restrictions. Right next door is a Turtle Sanctuary & everynight at 9:30 pm you can go & learn about the turtles & let them go into the ocean to start their lifes journey. The Biologists there were also very informative & very nice. What an experience! Next to the turtles is a Ostrich Santuary. Their very entertaining. We spent so much time in the ocean, the sand is pure white & nice & smooth. Just like a dream. Paradise Village is down the beach a ways & we walked down there & checked it out, way toooooo many people & timeshare after timeshare people. So glad we were staying at Bahia Del Sol. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax & not deal with a bunch of people & kids. We got all the hustle & bustle, etc etc out the two weeks before we moved to nuevo & I will always return here. Also forgot to say we never locked our room door the whole time unless we were taking off at night. Thats how laid back it is. I wish I was still there!!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
64 Thank islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
#25 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#26 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta
Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta
#24 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Virgilios
Casa Virgilios
#1 of 8 in Nuevo Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Resort

Property: Bahia del Sol Resort
Address: Paseo Cocteros & Retorno Cozumel, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia del Sol Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Bahia del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing