We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean, Lazy river and Beautiful Surroundings All In One Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We enjoyed the entire facility = it took 3 days! Gorgeous, most courteous staff ever and great rooms. The place is so big they have little shuttle carts to take you from place to place but it is done right!

The lazy river is my favorite! Loved it!

Our 2 bd suite had beautiful view of the lazy river, the resort and the ocean = PERFECT!

Would we go back? ABSOLUTELY!
Take a taxi (cheap) to go to a nearby Walmart for groceries. The onsite grocery is very expensive and too upscale for everyday.

Every person on staff is top notch and you get the feeling like the are genuinely happy you are there. Most helpful and courteous. Most everyone speaks English to some degree.

P.S. DO NOT do the timeshare presentation! It is painful after the 4th hour and gets ridiculous when the "3rd wave" hits you as you try to sign out to leave! It totally ruined 1 whole day for us. John was so angry he did a video warning people.

Room Tip: We had to take a timeshare presentation to get an ocean view room (that I "assumed" we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Pat M :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was top-notch. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. We are also happy that you think our resort is beautiful.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were actually in the grand luxx which to date is the newest portion of the resort this is the third time we stayed with the Mayan Palace resorts twice in Puerta Vallarta and once in Acapulco. These resorts are magnificent you will really feel like royalty staying here. Rooms are beautiful. Staff is fantastic. And the amenities out of this world. A great place to stay but if you truly want to see and enjoy the Mexican culture leave the facility and see what Mexico is all about.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Tony S :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are very happy to learn you like all our properties, you have perceived the warmth of our staff’s service.

Comments like yours are an incentive to continue perfecting our performance.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were fortunate enough to share for a second time a two bedroom unit (timeshare) that my parents own there. We have a 7 year-old son that loves pools and water features so we were excited to learn we were returning to the resort. Our last visit was about 6 years ago. Boy, were we surprised to see the many changes. We were made aware of some changes while reading the reviews and comments made by recent visitors, but nothing prepares you for the reality that awaits you.
This area is undergoing major expansions. New Hotels are being built at astonishing pace along with huge changes and improvements to the grounds.
Here is our opinion of the place: Great family experience. Many fun water features. Rooms are very nice and feature comfy beds and quality furnishings. Balcony views are good ONLY on floors facing the ocean, 3rd floor and higher. TV channels (if you have to spend time in front of the tv while in a tropical paradise) have a fair at best selection. Kitchen facilities are there but suck. The fridge is too small to store more than a few drinks and dinner left-overs. Food storage, etc. minimal. They have removed the only reasonable grocery and replaced it with a high-end, expensive market. I definitely get the impression they DO NOT want guests preparing their own meals. This may be fine for rich $$$ people, not for working, middle-class Americans or retirees.
The best thing about the resort are the workers. Not only does everyone smile, say hello and appear friendly, they seem genuine. All that from people who are paid little per day, and work hard.
I was quite upset that my elderly parents were forced, literally, to endure over 5 hours of high-pressure sales tactics, on two separate days there. If it were at a resort in the US, the salesman involved would have regretted their actions. I cannot emphasize more.. DO NOT bother to waste your time with the vacation investment people. Did you spend thousands of your hard-earned dollars to be holed up in some cafeteria for hours and hours when you want to be at the pool or the beach????
They have great activities including a sea turtle release that everyone loves. There is a child care "Kids Club" that is reasonable and staffed by great young adults. Our son normally doesn't like these places but had a good time for a few hours while my wife any I strolled the beach at night. We ate at one of the on-site restaurants as a special treat and had a good time.
All in all, we had a nice time. I hope they continue to have the great staff, and family atmosphere we have enjoyed in the past. We do plan to return.

Room Tip: Insist on 3rd floor or higher, ocean facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear David F :

We are very grateful for your taking the time to write a comment about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn you love our resort, enjoyed the pools, grounds, the kids club and hope to continue providing you happy times during your vacations with us.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Ever watch the movie "WestWorld"? That's a bit how this felt.. like we'd walked into another world but one that was not real.. we visited in mid-march to get away from the cold winds and onto a hot beach.. our room, 5211, had a beautiful view but unfortunately the balcony is only big enough to stand on.. no room for sitting.. such a waste. We had a two bedroom suite.. one bedroom had a king size bed and the other two queens.. the bathrooms were large and fine.. You won't find the higher end sheets or towels here.. no pillow top mattresses.. and the towels are oversized but you won't need to bring your exfoliators (smile). The two couches in the living room made into trundle beds... all fine... The weird part was that we were in and out of those rooms 1/2 dozen times a day and only one time did I see another human being in the hallway.. it was just a bit weird.. almost spooky.. We saw people checking in.. and then never saw them again.. weird.. it's a bit of a hike to the pool or the beach.. the pool is huge but has none of the amenities of the Grand Mayan pool like swim up bars or in pool loungers... and don't think you can get into the Grand Mayan pools because you can't (color coded bracelets).. you're supposed to be able to eat at any of the over priced restaurants on the "compound" which is comprised of the Mayan Palace, The Grand Mayan, Bliss, and Grand Luxxe but we were made to feel "less than" on several occasions after being escorted out by security.. there's a reason the armbands at the Mayan Palace are a boring beige..

The worst part was the timeshare part.. if I ever stay in another timeshare property again, I will say "no" to the timeshare spill from the very beginning.. not worth the time.. or frustration.. at least that's my opinion.. I'm in paradise and would rather not have to deal with these type of people and trying to sort truth from lies.. just not worth it...

So, would I stay there again? Yes but I would spend most of my time "off" compound. We got a great deal and a week was only $300... if I'd had to pay what was posted?? NO WAY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear LeAnn R :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace.

Most of the feedback provided by our guests is excellent; nonetheless, we are always looking for opportunities to exceed our members’ and guests' expectations. With that in mind, your comments will be shared with the appropriate areas, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. We take this opportunity to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Upon arriving at the resort, everything looks perfect... until you sit down and look around for a while. The longer you stay, the more you see things are patched together and unfinished. (before everyone starts in on me, yes I know this is to be expected when you travel, and especially so for travel in Mexico.) I'm not expecting perfection, what I am expecting is a semi-safe environment.

Large portions of the hotel are unfinished, and there is construction everywhere. Apparently it has been this way for years. You were also pushed, pressured constantly to upgrade or purchase another timeshare while on property.

If you want to go to the beach, be prepared for a hike. It is a much farther walk than other hotels in the area.

What we did enjoy were upgrading to their beach party and fiesta dinners on the beach. The entertainment was great, and the food was okay. The drinks were fun, and the location was gorgeous.

If we were to stay again, we would want to upgrade to the Bliss of the Grand Mayan. Both of those hotels appeared finished, and were more upscale.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Grand Mayan of the Bliss - There is one section close to the beach. The "main&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starryice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Starryice2014 :

We are gratified to hear about your visit at Mayan Palace. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beach parties.

Regrettably, it would appear we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.


Best regards,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been coming to MAYAN PALACES since we first purchased a time share in 1991. We have not missed a year. When we first arrive, everyone greets us with 'welcome home' and that is just how we feel! The bell boys, the waiters (especially at Balche by the pool) do everything they can to make us feel at home. The activities kids all work especially hard also! Alan, Adrian (who is in training and will hopefully be one of the 'regulars') Iriana, Abraham, Luis and Miguel. Temo gave us our 'update' letting us know what new things are on the agenda and was very informative. We enjoyed the fabulous shows at the Santuario! We especially loved JayCee.....she was wonderful!!!!!! She truly got the audiences going! We usually don't have to go through RCI, but this year we did.
























!

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a treat.........so beautiful watching the sunset, but not always available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sondra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Sondra C :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are certain Alan, Adrian, Iliana, Abraham, Luis, Miguel, Temo and Jaycee will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you. Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Upon our stay at the Grand Mayan, Miguel an activity helper was amazing at entertaining. He had a great personality and was always smiling while working with others. Because of Miguel, I have memories that will last a life time. I really enjoyed the conducted activities, and learning more about Miguel and his lifestyle in Mexico. You've got great staff overall, I had an amazing trip and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6,514,787,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear 6514787777:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback.

We are always pleased to learn that our guests enjoy their stay at Mayan Palace and particularly, that our resort’s staff was accommodating with your needs. Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. We are certain Miguel will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests, and truly look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av. Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing