We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't know where to begin” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't know where to begin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I hate bashing resorts but in this case I am seriously wondering where all of these good reviews came from. This was the first time going away for me and my boyfriend and the pictures of Samba looked decent.

Overall, the resort is very small. I have no problems being at a small resort but I did not like the atmosphere. Yes, we were in Mexico but most of the guests were locals. Everything was in Spanish. Could never understand the entertainment.

Service was amazing, if you tipped they treated you well. However, some of them had a different time understanding English. We had issues with our room too. Make sure you note what type of room you booked because they just shove you any where once you get there.

On our last day they removed our bracelets. We had a late flight and they by no means tried to accommodate us. We weren't allowed to eat or drink once we checked out at noon.

The food was awful. Little variety. Best thing there was breakfast.

Whoever is writing all of the positive reviews for this place are clearly lying. By no means is this a jewel.

With that said, I would never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justyna147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA V, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comments about your stay in Samba Vallarta. We deeply apologize for not been able to met your standards, we honestly believe that our guests comments are the only way to improve our performance.
We do have a small hotel, only 183 rooms, and that information is on the web page, but we believe that been small is an asset, since you do not have to walk big distances from your room to the pool, beach, restaurants, etc., likewise, I would like to share with you that the hotel has been investing by upgrading the facility and has successfully positioned the property as an attractively priced, intimate, family-oriented option vs the enormous resorts that are its competition. On food, following our customer`s comments and suggestions, we have been constantly improving the variety of our buffet menus without significantly raising, we have a wide range of choices and are still continuously adding more options.
We do have a good season over the whole year for National people, and we also believe that is what makes the experience of being in a foreign country.
We are continuously working on improving our staff´s English level. I´m sorry that we were not able to communicate properly with you.
I appreciate the fact that you highlight our service, we are very proud of it, Vallarta area is famous for its warmest and friendly people.
We honestly appreciate the time you use to let us know your candid comments
Regards,
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    605
    264
    147
    84
See reviews for
678
442
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Read what "Gold Star for 3 Star" has to say because we second it. Well said. We just came back from 2 glorious weeks there and can honestly say that we had a fabulous time. This small hotel really understands customer service. Usually there's one or two of the staff that stands out in a facility but, for us, here they all shine. It's not a 5 star facility so don't book it and then whine about its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are on the garden side of the building which means they are quieter and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ndallisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA V, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at Samba Vallarta, we really appreciate it as it is very motivating for all our associates to continue offering the best , the quality service of our friendly and courteous staff make us a favorite for vacationers. We sincerely hope you and your family will be back here at your home Samba Vallarta.
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saturna Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently returned from a 10 day stay at the Samba Vallarta. When we booked this hotel it seemed to fit our locational preference, budget, and desire for a smaller boutique style hotel. There are three things that factor into our rating of hotel accomodations: comfortable beds, friendly staff and value for money. This hotel achieves a gold star in all three of these criteria. The king bed was very very comfortable. The staff: outstanding! Everyone from front desk staff, bell hops, waiters and bar attendants understood the value of serving their customer.We tipped often..small to moderate amounts to acknowledge our appreciation and thanks for their committment to customer service. The resident tour agent was also very friendly and helped us arrange our tours.

We are surprised at some of the negativity posted about the Samba.We have stayed in 1 star to 5 star hotels and this is probably the best 3 star hotel we have stayed at. If you want 5 star luxuery and gourmet kitchens then go somewhere else. In my opinion the food was very good and our room was exceptionally clean and odour free. The Samba is in our opinion is a gold star 3 star hotel and we would recommend the Samba to anyone looking for an excellent value vacation particularly for seniors and young families. If you are thinking of booking, a 3rd or 4th floor room with balcony overlooking the gardens is recommended preferably closer to the beach.

Room Tip: if you go to bed early ask for a room away from the entertainment stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WQLAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA V, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Samba Vallarta thank you for post your experience regarding your stay, we are so glad it has been a pleasant one, kind comments are very motivating for all of us to continue offering the best. The quality service of our friendly and courteous staff make us a favorite for vacationers. We hope you continue being one of our most valued guests at this your home “Samba Vallarta Hotel”
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a great time at the samba with wonderful weather and a great beach . The rooms were kept very clean and the staff was always friendly. Our only concern was a septic odour off and on and the beach area washrooms were very odorous but looked spotless. This resort was otherwise perfect for our holiday and we would definitely return if this problem could be fixed. We always managed to find something tasty to eat And both a la Cartes were very nice. Thanks to Ricardo and Bruno at the bar and Genero ( probably wrong spelling). At the Italian a la carte. Islandia at the front desk is a ray of sunshine. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath tub room with a sofa and always a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Samba Vallarta was not a good place to choose for our vacation. We were terribly disappointed and will never return. Why? The food is really bad and the rooms all have a mildew odor. We are not fussy people but we stayed at the Riu Santa Fe last year in Los Cabos and had a wonderful experience. So I do have a comparison.

We were first given a room on the first floor that had no operable safe, no tub and reeked of mildew. Everywhere on the first floor has a consuming mildew smell. We were immediately given a balcony room on the 4th floor that still had a mildew smell, but not as strong. Did they put wallboard over the existing mildew? Where there is mildew there can be mold. I worried about that. The room itself was well presented and freshly painted - no frig or drinks in the room, however. The king size bed was comfortable and air conditioning was adjustable. There is internet connection in every room but not strong enough - constant blackouts. Just enough to check email but it could not open attachments most of the time.

The food - A smelly cooking oil pervaded all the foods that were cooked, even the grill foods. Canola oil would have been a much better choice. The "sausages" for breakfast were cut up poor quality hot dogs, reheated every day because no one ate them. Bacon was hidden at the grill undercover. You had to ask for crisp bacon because it was undercooked and so fatty and again, poor quality. The "oatmeal" had to be strained for a few bits of oatmeal in a two gallon milk filled container. Not worth the trouble. This situation never changed for the whole week. The "hotcakes" and waffles were tough and lukewarm every day. Margarine instead of butter. No sweet rolls ever. Alcoholic drinks were watered down. Most foods were never hot, except when made at the grill. Even the fries at the snack bar near the beach were cold or luke-warm 5 days out of seven. Never any fruit at the snack bar. No fountain drinks to choose from in any of the bars or eating places. Light Pepsi was poured warm out of a 2 liter bottle at the bar.

The only foods that were always good were the orange juice, the fruit and an out of this world rice pudding dessert that was served on Mexican night.

The wait staff was wonderfully attentive.

I talked with 4 different people during this week. I asked them how their vacation was going. They were all unhappy and would never return. One gal brought her mother for two weeks and felt stuck because their travel company had no other place to offer them. They complained of bugs in their room. Enduring a vacation for two weeks that you find intolerable has to be awful. Another gal was apologizing to her friend for bringing her to this place. A written review by a previous Mexican vacationer was left in our room. He had much the same evaluations that we found.

I will say that the grounds were beautiful, the building was always clean and the beach is beautiful and goes forever. Every employee we encountered during the week was friendly and helpful.

Other reviewers have said "you get what you pay for" here. I disagree. I would rather have been home in our Central Illinois winter than to have forked out my money for this experience.

Room Tip: Don't go here. Or, if you insist on trying it out anyway, stay away from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleocat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA V, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as we wanted it to be.
We do have a very strict control on the foods and their freshness , we produce all the food on a daily basis

We are taking all your comments in a very serious manner and are going to check all the possibilities to make every guests experience always better and better.
We assure you that the drinks are not watered at all, but I will make sure that we are following the right process on pouring them.
Thank your for recognizing the kindness and warmness of our staff, we do believe that is one of our great assets.

If you would like to let me know more concerns, please feel free to do so, to my mail.
samba.gerencia@grupodiestra.com


Regards,
Omar Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwold BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico or anywhere south for that matter.Where to begin?! We liked the size of Samba Vallarta. It was nice to meet the same people off and on. We walked to Bucerias a long the beach and saw some of the other resorts and I have to say that we prefered Samba by far. Samba is not as opulent as some but we like that a lot better. The beach was lovely. Not crowded and room to sit in the shade and the waiters came by regularly to offer drinks.The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Nice bathroom with a good shower. Nice to have it so very well cleaned every day.The food was fantastic and so were the drinks. A lot of variety.The staff is so attentive and friendly. Beautiful pools although we didn't use them since we prefered the ocean which was nice and warm.We can't say enough about the fantastic staff. They go out of their way to be helpful.Samba is not a place if you are looking for a lot of night live but it suited us. We didn't bother taking the bus but just used taxis to get to Puerto Vallarta.It is not very expensive. We went on a few excursions and they were great.All in all we would certainly go back to the Samba if we get a chance to go on a holiday again.We met a lot of people that have been going there year after year and also a lot of the staff has been there for years so that says a lot about a place. Also a good place for families. Quite a few Mexican people and I had some great conversations with some. My only regret is that I don't speak Spanish and I should do something about that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

When booking a trip with my family of 7, which included my 2 young grandsons and myself wheelchair bound, I have to do a lot of research on resorts that would fit the bill.
The Samba seemed like it would fit the bill as a family and accessible resort, and that it did! Here are some reasons for my positive response.Everyone works hard and it is noticed and appreciated ,not like work ethic back home.
1. Staff all who work there are extremely friendly and helpful, from the restaurants, activities, bars really everyone was helpful.So many to thank ,can not name them all.
2. Resort is clean and rooms are spacious, not too big, easy to get around so it is not over crowded like other resorts the result more personal service which is a plus.
3. Pool area large with 3 pools divided for adults and young children. Plenty of beach chairs around pool with at least 200 lounge chairs. Most of the time only ¼ were occupied meaning the pool was not over crowed as compared to the Riu next door.Never had to go out early to get a chair.
Music good , not to loud and not to quiet,good selection.
4. Beach area well looked after, no rocks plenty of areas to soak in sun. Ocean one could go in and boogie board.
5. Plenty of activities for adults and young ones, everyone receives a sheet listing these from beach volleyball ,arobics,shuffleboard,etc . numerous kids activities.
Evening entertainment from live bands to circus at 9 pm[wish could be 8 pm a little earlier]
6. Restaurant buffet has different theme every night, the 3 that stand out in my mind is seafood night [excellent shrimp], barbecue night and Mexican night. Food tasty and in morning fresh watermelon,pinapple,melon,cantilope juice. The waiters were very attentive to ones needs.
7. Snack bar by beach had good hamburgers, ice cream and guacamole just to name some the food there
8. The grounds are well looked after and clean.
9. Salvador and Ricardo look after your needs for refreshments by pool area; they even brought special drinks for the children.
10. For a small family oriented resort it gives you the feel of what larger resorts offer.
A wonderful experience indeed

Beautiful sunsets a plus as well


Well done Samba
Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodcmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
3.6 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 2 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#11 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#15 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samba Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Property: Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Av. Costera y la playa s/n, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Samba Vallarta by Pueblo Bonito)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samba Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to visit our all-inclusive Resort located in Nuevo Vallarta, where first-class services come together with exquisite dining, entertainment for the entire family, and an excellent location just a stone's throw away from all the main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Samba Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Pueblo Bonito
Hotel Samba Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing