We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the Adventurist”
Review of Titi's

Titi's
Ranked #30 of 140 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hayward, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Only for the Adventurist”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is the second time we ate at Titi's in Jarretadares. The first time was in 2007 and we could hardly wait to bring our friends here. Titi's is strickly local dining in a tiny village literally hidden between Puerto Vallarta and Nuevo Vallarta. Titi's is hard to find down a forbidding dirt road and the outside appearance will turn away the meek. But the semi outdoor dining atmosphere and rustic setting will reward you with great food. We are stuck on the camarones on the menu and don't recomend trying to find "Typical Mexican" fodd you might order in the USA. I was taken that we got steamed vegtables instead of beans (as we did in other restaurants). The first time we were here the crowd was small but on this visit the place was very busy. It might have been the mariachi band that played all night - without a break. There is a full service bar as we witnessed at the table next to us. (None of us embibe.) The toilets are clean and the doors lock but don't go from floor to door top. We ordered the five layer dip in lieu of straight guacamole and almost licked the plate clean. Having a spanish speaking person along is advised. Only one wait person spoke enough english so that we could communicate with only minimum problems and that was with having a spanish speaker in our group. (It took three trys to get an order of beef tacos.) You can find Titi's on the web. I promise that you will enjoy the discovery. Oh yes and we did tip the guy who watched our car. (Or did he want to wash our car. Where was Rosetta Stone when I needed her?)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    55
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tit's a Must Visit for Dinner”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were in Nuevo Vallarta in November and another resort guest suggested Titi's restaurant. He said "great food and very good price". After our visit we have to agree with his assessment. It was a delightful surprise. We found a cab who knew where Tit's was and drove the short distance ( apparently in a little town called Jarretaderas that is within walking distance from the Mayan property). We found a very Mexican local style restaurant - friendly staff, cold beer, amazing shrimp (our party tried 4 different styles), generous servings, a very reasonable bill --- and the taxi was waiting for us when we decided to leave. I am sure our server arranged for him to be there. This is a great local spot for a low key casual dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice authentic Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found out about this authentic Mexican restaurant while talking with a worker at the Grand Mayan. I am so glad we took his advise and tried it out!! Titi's is located in a little town called Jarretaderas that is within walking distance from the Mayan property in Nuevo Vallarta but we took a short cheap taxi ride. The grilled fish tacos and garlic grilled Mahi Mahi was probably one of the best dinners we had on our trip this year!! The guacamole and chips and salsa were also very good. Awesome Margaritas and super cold beer. We had the sweetest waitress and she made us feel very welcome. We will be adding this restaurant to our go to list!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kywildcats32506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameliasburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Try the huachinango”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As others have written, this restaurant is hidden on a back street in Jarretaderas. It is walkable from the Mayan resort complex but we took an inexpensive cab ride. The hostess was welcoming and the appetizers [guacamole & salsa with totopos] and margaritas were good. Everyone in our group ordered and enjoyed various shrimp dishes. I chose the huachinango [red snapper] steamed in a medley of peppers and onions. It took a little longer to prepare but it was worth the wait -- hot, moist, and flavourful. I hope the photo with this review will encourage others to try it. I'm glad there are still a few "local" spots left in the area.

Price -- reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice local, authentic restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a nice little family operated restaurant in the heart of Jarretaderas. Reasonably priced, good cold beer, great salsa and guacamole, very friendly service. The shrimp and enchiladas are good. Stay away from the beef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titi's also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Titi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing