We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta - update”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta - update”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I am leaving tomorrow after two great weeks here. Construction is currently at a minimum. I was told by sales that construction will soon begin again on building five (4 bedroom residences) so that it can be ready for members on one of the two sides by the end of the year. Building 4B is also scheduled to be competed by that time. Work will also continue on the loft villas in buildings 3B and 4A and the new Bliss buildings near the tennis courts.
The Plaza shopping center is now mostly open and wonderful. the gourmet food, sweets and bread are excellent and so is the food from the Sweet Paris cafe. Wine purchased can be used in the Luxxe/Mayan restaurants for a 100 peso corkage fee. A french restaurant and a bistro will be completed in the Plaza in the next few months.
The grounds and the building are all spotless. The customer service everywhere is, as usual, exceptional throughout.
The only concerns I saw were the Punta jacuzzi, which are not warm, and the pools (adult and children) in back of Building 3 and 4 that are not yet open and probably will not be ready for months.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    310
    112
    55
    52
See reviews for
983
660
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Brio: They dedicated the entire first floor to the exercise club, amazing facility that has no locker rooms, so you have to change in your room and come down. Lots of machines, weekday classes only.

Books messages early so you aren't disappointed.

Santuarium is the transport hub in 'entertainment' zone 7pm to 1am. It has no walls. Waiting to get trams between buildings can be annoying. Add 15 mins to where you need to go, and be early for the dinner rush.

Room is of course spacious, the dedicated Concierge is great, unfortunately manned when most people are out and about. Maids are great. Morning coffee at the end of the hall is a perk. Outlets are limited, if you'll bring gadgets, bring an extension cord.

Need to book all dinners in advanced during peak days.

Bring salt and pepper if you plan to eat in the room.

Nice to have the room stocked when you get there, but the Plaza has everything that they'll stock your room with.

As I shared in the tips, 1/2 the rooms face the santuarium, so hopefully you are a heavy sleeper, and the AC doesn't have a FAN mode to drowning out the sound...until 1am.

Restaurants are well covered by other write-ups.

Room Tip: Not sure how you get an ocean view other than complain until your face is red. The rooms not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TripKenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice luxury hotel with great decoration and service. Good option for family, couples or friends trip. It has lots of pools, beach, golf course, shops, restaurants, spa, fitness center. It is the best Nuevo Vallarta's option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veroverduzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The best in views, service and accommodations . Sales people nice but very pushy. Difficult to get out of there saying NO, not this time. No cheaper to eat here than nice restaurants in the USA. Food often not as good. Tips are starting to be expected and are going up. Still one of the best in Mexico

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drswright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful,beautiful Grande luxxe. Much care has been taken to make this resort one of the prettiest places I have been
The spa is wonderful and I am not a spa person! Walking among the flowers, on wooden walk ways, enjoying the wonderful beach and pools. If you want it this resort has lots of shows , singers, great restaurants, fun lazy river, great gym! This is our third trip, and we are always surprised with something new, and wonderful. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler22224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

No more buckets of beer for happy hour, only drinks of their choosing. Very expensive shots, not enough servers at the pools with the exception of the Grand Mayan pools. Same excellent servers there as previous years.
The Punta pool is heated and too warm for the climate, but if you're older/elderly, you'll love it. We did have an excellent server at this pool, but since it didn't cool us off in the heat of the day, we didn't go back. Guests there seem to complain a lot also, don't need that on vacation. (Grumpy ppl)
At the Bliss pool Monika was excellent, outworked the men by a mile! Christian is still there at the swimup bar, and David is now at the restaurant there. Those kids are lots of fun and great at their jobs. The activities staff was a lot of fun there also, very personable.
Food is excellent as always. Taco Break has the best Tortas around!
Our concierge was on our floor Sunday and Monday, then pretty much no one on Tuesday or Wednesday as this was her day off. Didn't see her much on Thursday or Friday either. She was there late the day before we checked out though, so that was helpful for us.
Coffee cart was out promptly at 6:55 each morning, which was great since we love coffee. The coffee was very delicious too.
The new store wasn't open when we were there (Dec 1 - 15th) but did open this last week. It looks impressive, as I'm sure the prices will be too. ;)
Most of the wooden walkways were open when we were there, that was a great improvement over waiting on shuttles to get us where we wanted to go. Most places we could walk quicker than it took to wait for a shuttle and ride there. On several mornings the guys waited almost half an hour for a shuttle to take them to golf. That is something they really need to work on.
The kids at the main lobby bar are very entertaining and great at their jobs. Great mixology skills too. Don't get sucked into the tequila tasting tickets unless you really want to do that. All but about 3 of those tequilas can be bought here in the states, so it's not that great a deal.
We were in tower 2 this year and really had no issues. Our friends were in the spa tower, that was beautiful. The upsell this year for us was the spa tower, we didn't buy it, but that's what the pitch was for us. If you upgrade you get your maintenance fees back through a program called Lifestyle. You will get "credit" for your maintenance fee and receive "points" in the Lifestyle program and then you can buy things with those points. Pretty sure you can only use all of your points on certain days for certain things though. One would have to have time and be diligent to get maximum value out of this program. I believe for Spa Tower owners the upsell was just more time/weeks.
The new Spatium was open, loved that. It's beautiful, but very small, no changing rooms, a tiny locker room, and I believe there are only two showers. Anabell is the host and she did a wonderful job each of the 3 times we were there.
Their gym at tower 2 is great, but again, there are no showers there nor is there a changing area. For some ppl that's an issue, we don't mind, but it's inconvenient to some people.
Can't really think of anything else. We love these properties, have been there many times, and have met some really great friends over the years. If you can just go and vacation with no expectations of whatever the timeshare sharks promised you, you will love it.

Room Tip: Be happy with whatever you get. There is still construction going on, so you will hear it no matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtrvl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Luxxe was the first week in Dec. This was our first visit after purchasing 2 years ago. We were assigned to the first floor of building 2, river view. My expectation was above the 4th floor with an ocean view, so I asked to see what else was available. I was shown the second floor in building 4. The views from both sides of building 4 were in your face, right outside your balcony, construction. I quickly agreed that first floor building 2 was just fine. The villa was spacious, clean and surprisingly quiet with a view into the palm trees and a peek at the river. I later learned from long term owners with high inventory, that I will never get a higher room with a better view since I only own 3 weeks. Our stay was excellent. All the staff anywhere on the property were helpful and friendly. The beach and pools at the Luxxe were beautiful and quiet. The grounds meticulously maintained. We spent more time at the Bliss beach because that is where the action was. I agree with others that the places to eat on the property were expensive, but nothing special. We ended up walking outside the resort to Eddies or 7 Tortillas, etc. where the prices are normal and the food is good. To walk outside the property go to the Grand Mayan and leave through the nearby employees entrance. We also caught the city bus to downtown Puerto Vallarta near there for $3 each way. When we arrived we took a cab to Walmart to buy food for breakfast and lunch.The market at the resort is very expensive and poorly stocked. Yes, at times there were long waits for the shuttles, but the property is huge and unless you enjoy walking long distances, worth the wait. There are so many things to do at the resort that is really not necessary to go off the property. The sales staff can be bothersome. Try to avoid going to a presentation altogether. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Since rooms are assigned by how much inventory you own and how long you have been an owner, I cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,019 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av. Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bob and Mary Ann are Platinum members of Vida Vacations. We rent Grand Luxxe Residence Club and Grand Bliss units in Nuevo Vallarta and Riviera Maya, Grand Mayan units in Acapulco, Nuevo Vallarta, Puerto Penasco, Riviera Maya and San Jose del Cabo. Mayan Palace units are available in Puerto Vallarta and Mazatlan. Units we offer in the Grand Luxxe Residence Club include Residences at the Grand Luxxe, Loft 2 and 3 bedroom residences, SPA 2 and 3 bedroom residences, Presidential Villas, Luxxe Villas (1 and 2 BR) and Luxxe Condos (1 and 2 BR). We also own and operate Aimfair for owners of contracts issued by Grupo Vidanta for access to Grand Luxxe Residence Club units and other units offered by Grupo Vidanta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Villas Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Luxxe Villas And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing