We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
$512
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$672
$554
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$466
$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$210
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$341
$275
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$198
$154
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$238
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$353
$129
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Riu Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,816)
Filter reviews
3,817 results
Traveler rating
3,097
430
153
65
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,097
430
153
65
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa towerresidence clubbedroom loftfloor conciergeblue fishrooftop poolvidanta resortlazy rivershuttle servicela cantinaconstruction noisemeal planpunta arenahavana moongrand blisstaxi standgrand mayan pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,082 - 3,087 of 3,817 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Let me start off by saying were guests of owners...NOT owners; this is our 4th time to stay at one of the properties.

Staff: Amazing, friendly, honest, extraordinary service!
Room: Punta building. Beautiful, great views (3rd floor), comfy beds, wonderful!
Food: Depends where you eat. Gong: wonderful meal, Punta pool: good, we tend to eat "out" for dinner.
Pools: wonderful!

#1 complaint: the lions, wolves....They are now "selling" you as you check in. She wouldn't take no for an answer (we were trying to be nice) until we said NO (a bit rudely)! Then...they called every day, twice a day until our friends agreed to meet with them. (they are going to cancel but said yes just to get them off their back!) You should NOT have to be hounded! At the pool, I heard over and over and OVER again the frustration with owners about getting bad rooms, rooms not in the building they had be "sold", etc. Many owners were spending their first or second day "fighting" to get a room they deserved. It isn't rocket science...they SHOULD give you a room # when you make a reservation on a first come, first served basis. That way, you don't get a stomach ache on your way down until you actually get your room # and then spend a day fighting for what you should be getting!

We had a fantastic room & wonderful fun with dear friends at an amazing resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momincv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first trip during the rainy season and enjoyed the lightening at night. There were a few power outages, but it seems like they have wired the refrigerator to run on a different circuit if the power goes out so you don't lose your food. Because September is their rainy season and low season they were repairing a lot of things, such as the lazy river at Grand Mayan. The one draw back to this time of year is definitely the mosquitos and bugs. I went through two cans of Off Spray, and would definitely recommend you bring something higher than 15% DEET if you are allergic to the bites. I found a natural mosquito repellant at the Saturday Market Co-op in Old Town Which seemed to work if you reapplied it enough times. Another drawback is you cannot get a tram to take you to the front entrance of the resort until 11 am. We were trying to go to catch the bus to town. Later we found out that they do it this way so that they don't willingly take you out to meet a representative for another time share presentation. How juvenile is that? If this is really the best property for the money they should not worry about their owners seeing a different property.

We went deep sea fishing through Mike's Charters located at Paradise Village Public Pier. Jorge and Juan were fantastic.

I cannot say enough nice things about Miguel, our concierge in Bldg 1. He came back on his day off to decorate our room with a few balloons to surprise my husband on his birthday.

The Santuario and the nightly entertainment was amazing. The lady who does the sand art was unbelievable with her Mayan and native themed sand art developing in front of your eyes. Several other acts including singers, jugglers, dancers, etc. Everynight. No reason to go off the property for a nice evening of entertainment. There are screens surrounding the property so that you can see from just about any seat in the house. The water feature was drained, which I suspect was to prevent mosquitos in standing water.

The other big change this year was the taxi stand no longer located in front of sanctuario but to the side of it, such that you have to walk a ways to get to the sanctuario and the shuttles back to the Luxxe towers.

We paid our $27Pesos and participated in Turtle Camp and the baby turtle release. It is always done at sunset to help the baby turtles have a chance against the shore birds. That is at the far north end of the property by Kids Camp. Check it out. Very interesting to see how many turtle nests there are and NH stands for number of Huevos or eggs. A lot of the nests contained over 100 eggs.

We did the Victim Tour as we like to call the sales update. That way we know what is planned for the future of the property, and get the promised discounts. The City Tour is free if you do the sales update. The day trip to San Sebastian was nice, and as Luxxe members they may get you on a private van trip avoiding the days when the cruise ships are there.

We enjoyed seeing a Tequila distillery and tasting their flavored Tequilas, such as Almond, Coffee/Vanilla/Choclate, or Mandarin.

Room Tip: We like as high up as we can get and overlooking the Ameca River to watch the crocodiles on the island and to watch the various birds and fishermen. You can see sunrise and downtown PV from the river side of the building. If you want to see the sunsets, get a side away from the river.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in Tower II. The rooms are quite luxurious and spacious. Staff are very friendly. Service overall was very good, although resolving some issues became more complicated and time consuming than seemed to be necessary. The grounds are lush and beautiful. The ocean is warm! The Lazy River is our favorite group activity. The gym in Tower II is excellent. We had two people using a wheel chair and staff were very accommodating of our needs in that regard, often providing special shuttle service. (It appears they do need a few more wheel chairs.)

We did have some issues. The reservation was mishandled and we did not get the size room we thought we had reserved. We should have been clearer about their jargon. They could have been more helpful at clarifying their jargon.

Inexplicably, for such a luxurious resort, lighting is a real problem. There is no light over the kitchen sink, so it is quite difficult to wash dishes after dark. The lamps by the beds are fixed in place and of low wattage. They do not provide adequate light for our older eyes to read by. A real inconvenience and annoyance. They should install lights over the sink and adequate reading lights at the beds.

Restaurants are quite overpriced relative to Mexico. OK, everything at the resort is overpriced. Adding insult to injury, the meal tickets they sell, which are supposed to be a money saver, expire right after your stay. So if you have a couple left over, you can't use them next time you come. Not good to make the guests feel ripped off, especially over a relatively minor cost. They should remove the expiration date or provide for a simple process for getting it extended until a future visit.

While the experience of the staff was overall a delight, the sales staff are another matter. Beware.

And construction noise continues to be a big issue.

That said, we enjoyed a very relaxing family vacation in a luxurious setting. The modest improvements suggested above would make it better.

Interestingly, we have stayed at Grand Mayan and at Gran Luxxe, and some of the family prefer Grand Mayan, which is also quite luxurious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Philip M:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, grounds and we are grateful for your kind words about our overall staff’s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are happy to learn you all enjoyed the lazy river as well.

Rest assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration in order to continue providing you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. We work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests, as our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation. Lastly, allow us to point out that our prices are competitive compared to other luxury resorts.
It will be our honor to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Punta, Presidential Villa, at this resort for our 20th wedding anniversary. There were 3 bedrooms and 2 plunge pools, more than enough for two. The rooms were spotless, with maid and turn-down service daily. I highly recommend the spa, also. It's the best I've been to. As Interval owners, the concierge provided a complimentary certificate for a message. We ate at various places around the resort. All of the food was very good. We took a taxi to the local Walmart to buy groceries for our room. The only thing I missed was not having an oven in which to bake food. We used the stove top griddle pan, instead. Watching the sunset on the beach is an absolute must as well. There is a lot of ongoing construction, but we were not affected in the Punta I. I don't see the need to repeat what others have already said. In summary, my husband and I had a fantastic stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank latkwat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The amenities were vast. The suites were decorated in an upscale manner focusing on serenity. The housekeeping, concierge, activity, and waitstaff are simply amazing. Customer service is taken very seriously. Bernardo and Alberto are names that come to mind. They were dedicated to making our stay the best it could possibly be. The grounds were lush and well cared for. The restaurants, bar services, activities, and fitness center were top notch. We will certainly find our way back next year.

Room Tip: 6th floor or above, ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmustomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews