We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive and Yummy!!”
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Ranked #51 of 140 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $90
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive and Yummy!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This resturant is located in the La Estancia hotel there in Nuevo Puerto Vallarta (Nayarit side). We were looking for a change and if you are a member of Via del Palmar you can walk over and enjoy a meal there. We opted for breakfast. The resturant is a Steak House. This place was covered with bautiful white table clothes - which made for a really nice setting. The waiters were very attentive and accomodating. I'm a vegan and one of the ladies in our group was on a speical diet so we had special requests - which did not seem to phase them or throw them off. The food was yummy, and they had a good variety for breakfast...we ordered off the menu not the buffet. I definitely would go back. The prices were not bad at all - average prices like all other restuarants. Remember this was breakfast not dinner - the prices may be higher for dinner since it is a steak house.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chipper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice dinner , but sit away from the water feature”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great food and wine , with exceptional service . The water feature is very loud , so sit away from it . Not a family place, would recommend for a date night

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exquisite setting...however...”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is our second visit to La Casona and we were looking forward to a repeat of our first very satisfying experience.

Without a doubt, it is a stunning venue, with the outside seating next to the beautiful illuminated pools and fountains, and a view straight out to Banderas Bay. We have 'averaged' our review to 'very good' because the location is truly excellent, bordering on exceptional, however, we could rate the food as 'average'. It was Super Bowl Sunday, therefore the restaurant was not busy, which was nice. The service (gracias, Jose) was prompt and respectful of timing between courses. The variety of breads was interesting and fresh. The wine list is more than adequate. Spinach salad was good. We ordered a variety of entrées including a Kobayashi salmon (overcooked) and a tough flatiron steak. The accompanying vegetables were generally flat. The Chocolate Extravaganza dessert was fine although it was heavy on sauce. The tropical fruit tart was good. **With all this, believe it or not, we plan to return, as we love the venue!** However, for the price ($176 for three), we are sure hoping the food will be better next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the Villa La Estancia in Neuvo Vallarta in Feb 2014. La Casona is the main restaurant in this resort. Whether it was the amazing omelettes at breakfast or the steaks at night it was always great (the food and the service). The prime rib was delicious with some of the best horseradish I have tasted. The menu had several options including gluten free items. Thanks Alan and the rest of the guys for such great service over the week that we were there.
Caroline from Canada

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineH2Z2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Culinary Surprises”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

we were pampered and waited on hand and foot!!!
The meal selections were all delicious sounding. The waiters anticipated your every request!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing