We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the experience”
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Ranked #51 of 140 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $90
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I agree with "lovely ambiance and great staff". How often do you get to enjoy the sunset on the sea side while being served very nice food by very attentive waiters? Not often at all. (I had the great fortune of having such a dinner at the Fairmont Orchid, but only one night because they were always fully booked.)

To the few who complained about slow service, I would say that they got the magnificent scenery, the sound of the sea and the fountains (the music is completely unnecessary) included in the price of the dinner; especially if they were not staying at Villa La Estancia.

Why rush? Where else would you want to be but here?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janelitamirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Expensive and slow, but great food!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Prices are very expensive, and the service is very slow, but the food is excellent. Nice and quiet, clean. Menu is clear. My favorites were the endive Blue cheese salad, and the scallop appetizer. The pork chops and rib eye entrees were also very good. And I don't know how they do it, but the best tasting baked potato you'll ever have. Just have a credit card with a high limit handy, and allocate a couple hours for dinner because service can be excruciating slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance great staff!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a very good dinner at La Casona Jan 7. We all enjoyed our dinners that were either steak or chicken in choice. The staff here is exceptional and I must say it was wonderful to see old faces from other establishments now working here. Alejandro is always a favorite of ours and made our evening very enjoyable. The ambiance is wonderful too the building and finishings are top quality throughout. Sit outside by the fountains and enjoy the el fresco dinning. A lovely evening for all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexicolover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa La Estancia (fantastic establishment) over Christmas and dined at La Casona once. The meals are thoughtfully prepared and use fresh ingredients. My companion and I shared the scallop appetizer which was enjoyable, however, not an ideal dish for sharing as it is small and served with three scallops. We both had the red snapper main - it is topped with a crispy potato crust which was quite tasty. I would have liked the dish to be more flavourful. Service was excellent and our margaritas and sangrias were refreshing.

We have heard La Casona is an excellent choice for special occasions as the several course meals and alcohol fixed price is of good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visit twice the area twice a year and stop over at La Casona for breakfast and dinner - it is always divine and relaxing. Ask for server Omar, he's the best, always very attentive and anticipates your every need! Sit outside by the relaxing waterfalls. The restaurant is also very reasonably priced and offers a better deal than other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing