We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Received our #2 Ranking for the trip!”

Porto Bello Bistro & Lounge
Ranked #23 of 139 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: After 20 years of service in our resaturante in Marina Vallarta we decided to open our second home in Nuevo Vallarta making a change in our image, with a Terrace, Bistro and Luonge where we serve our best dishes with our excellent Porto Bello service and Music of our DJ
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Received our #2 Ranking for the trip!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

At the end of our trips, we always rate the restaurants and this received our #2 ranking! Very nice atmosphere. One of our party loved the Sea Bass and another loved the Mahi Mahi. They also have wonderful pizzas. The desserts were great! I recommend this place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CircleofFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    54
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is a great place to eat”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ok Forget the service If you want great service go to a different country. We went as a group of six and sat down. The food was fantastic. I had salmon with citrus and it was great. Others had Italian dishes that were excellent No complaints. The chocolate dessert was to die for. It was wonderful So If you just want a great Italian meal with friends to eat drink socialize this place is where to go to It was pronounced as the best place all of us ate during our week! The price tag was very reasonable... It is noisy and the service is adequate. T

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food, great ambience, poor service....”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food in PortoBello is very good, as good as the marina outlet.

What a shame the service is so, well.... Indifferent.

I would return for the minestrone, lasagna and pizza which are all excellent - far better than tacky Dolce Vita - I mean who would put the Freudian image as a restaurant logo?

If the service improves this would be the number one place in swampy-mosquito-land (Nuevo Vallarta)...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesTheVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic fine Italian!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our dinner at Porto Bello was fabulous! We had a seat next to the lagoon on their outdoor patio. The service was wonderful and prompt, the food incredible, and they have a nice wine list. If you're looking for a fine dining experience similar to an upscale Italian place in your home town, Porto Bello is a great choice!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

You could be sitting in downtown Vancouver! Honestly, one of the nicest in the Nuevo area. Food was fantastic, service was great very pleasant staff. We just dropped by and thought we'd check it out - so glad we did!! Definitely worth a visit. It was beautiful to sit and watch the sunset along the channel!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunset44422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro & Lounge also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing