We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Asian Food in a nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ginger Garden Lounge - CLOSED

Ginger Garden Lounge
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent Asian Food in a nice location”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had dinner this week at Ginger while on a business trip in Vallarta. The restaurant has a very appealing ambiance with tables both outside and inside. I was well received as a single and given a nice table outside. The waiter was very nice and knowledgeable. He recommended the tuna tartar appetizer over the veggie lettuce wraps so I took his suggestion. For a main course I ordered the duck tacos. The tar tar was served with mango and almonds on wonton tostadas. The presentation was beautiful but the dish was so salty that I couldn't taste any of the other flavors. The waiter did offer to change it for something else but I declined. The duck tacos were good but also not fantastic.

I give Ginger 4 stars on because the food was't amazing but the service and location was nice. I would probably go back because their aren't too many options in this area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    38
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, elegant atmosphere”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A five minute cab ride from the string of resorts in Nuevo Vallarta, Ginger is in a contemporary setting with both outdoor and indoor seating. It has an extensive drink menu with some out of the ordinary specialtys made with sake...as well as other liquors....I had the cucumber crush with an underlying hint of ginger and my husband had the berry mojito. BOth great and not too sweet.
The menu is extensive as well with about 10 or more appetizers, make your own salad combos and pad thai. Also meat, seafood and poultry dishes. I had the Magret Duck made with sweet potatoes and a great sauce and mys husband had grilled Mahi Mahi with mixed vegetables and another great sauce. Some vegetarian options as well.
Excellent quality of food!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening at Ginger Garden”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of dining at Ginger Garden, both the food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed the complimentary cosmo sake, as well as the ginger cookies at the end of the meal. The restaurant itself is very beautiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kawakawaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent escape from salsa.”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Authentic Thai taste. Layout does not create privacy and intimacy, but still a nice ambience. Pad Thai was adequate. My partner enjoyed her Kung Pao chicken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereleact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We wanted something other than the usual chips ans salsa. We went to the Ginger restaurant and had a fantastic time. The food was great with the lettuce wrapped chicken breast the highlight of the meal. Service was effficient and aatentive to our dining needs.
I fully recommend this restaurant for a change of pace.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredntravlling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Garden Lounge also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing