We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful at the Grand Bliss”
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent Thanksgiving week at the Grand Bliss instead of our Grand Luxxe ownership. It was a great move for us. First, we get an extra one-bedroom suite, so we were able to take cousins with us. Second, the GB is so much more relaxed than the GL. While we did not get ocean front, we had a great view of the Sanctuarium, and could listen to the music at night on our veranda. The entire property is undergoing a great deal of change, and some folks are highly resistent to it. Having said that, there really is no construction issue at the GB or the Grand Mayan. The second half of Luxxe 4 is under construction, so if you're sensitive to that, either insist on a lower numbered building, or get over to the GB.
My only real complaints this trip are: (1) luggage delivery; and (2) wi-fi. It took over 3 hours to get our luggage delivered from the Sancutarium to the GB, which is funny since they are across the street from one another. Also, one of our bags arrived late (having been taken by another family at baggage claim at the airport), and that too took a great deal of time to get delivered to us once it was dropped off at the resort. The second issue is that internet is now quite confusing. I have free internet in my contract. However, now they offer two tiers of internet, and apparently the free service is the very limited bandwidth option. You have to pay 975 pesos to upgrade to streaming media and the like. While that's not a big deal for me, at night my teens like to watch videos. They need to fix that because it really falls under the category of nickle and diming owners.
But the food was great, the rec staff was energetic, and the facility looks magnificent. As always, we met wonderful people, enjoyed strong (if expensive) drinks, and came home with a great tan. We've already booked to return over Spring Break and next Thanksgiving. I stronly recommend the GB for families with teens who would otherwise find the GL stuffy and boring.

Room Tip: Stay away from building 4 in the grand luxxe if you want to avoid construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thelevinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear thelevinefamily:

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable. We constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. We are delighted to find out that all our staff was welcoming and pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day.

All your feedback will be shared with the appropriate areas and we will continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations. Comments like yours are an incentive to continue perfecting our performance.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 740 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the Grand Bliss, Nuevo Vallarta. If you have never been to this property, it is huge and impressive. If you have, but not been there in 3-4 years, you will be in for a surprise. The property, which includes Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan, Grand Bliss, and Grand Luxxe, etc. has exploded with development. There are new pools, restaurants, night club/bar lounge and there are plans to develop a second golf course, equestrian center, new lakes and there are already raised walkways through the rain forest-like vegetation connecting much of the above. The staff from maids to waiters, to security are always smiling and helpful and ground maintenance is superlative. That's the good news.
The restaurants are not cheap, especially for dinner, though burgers or club sandwiches poolside are reasonable for lunch. Likewise drinks are a bit pricey unless you stick to the 2/1 happy hours. The nightclub has a 2 drink minimum for which you get various entertainers throughout the night. The golf course is beautiful but costly unless it is in your contract and caddies are required (but very helpful). Plan carefully when scheduling tee times because, (and they don't tell you this) there is a $100 USD charge for cancelling. Getting around can be hard but there are little shuttles that help a lot.
The Grand bliss is lovely but really no different from the Grand Mayan and there is a lot more going on at the Mayan pool. The water slide, wave pool and children's waterpark are there. The pools at Grand Bliss and Luxxe are pretty quiet. The beach is most pleasant. Lastly, the sales pitch is strong and persistent...be prepared. Keep your wits about you and you will be fine.
Overall, Puerto Vallarta is one of our favorite vacation destinations and this visit was no exception.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is hard to come by but try, try, try. Higher is better but this advice is obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Drn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our first time traveling to Mexico,mwe went for my 50th Birthday.
The Grand Bilss is exactly that "GRAND" The staff was excellent, I give high praise to the Grand Bliss swim up bar servers, not a day went by in our seven days that they did not give excellent service. All the people that work in the Grand Bliss pool area made our stay enjoyable and memorable. Bruno a server at another pool area also gave us excellent service when we were there.

The resort it's self is clean and all other staff were accomadating and service was excellent. Our only complaint is there was a musty smell in our room.

We would stay at this resort again regardless to the smell.

Room Tip: Even # rooms no Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Bev M :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was efficient. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion, happy belated birthday!
Moreover, rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are certain all the staff mentioned will gladly receive your positive feedback as they always look to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

The Grand Bliss NuevoVallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first time to the Nuevo Vallarta property. Our past trips have been to Playa del Carmen. All in all it has been a wonderful trip. A recent reviewer commented on an odor but I was never aware of any kind of a pesticide smell. The staff was attentive. For the most part the restaurants were great. We had one rough meal at Havanna Moon but I think that our waiter was just having a really off day. Not to sound snooty but having a separate Grand Bliss pool was really nice. It was never over crowded and the pool food/drink service was fast and, again, attentive. Loved talking with Edgar Guacamole Loco, Marco Polo and Karina (forgive me if that isn't her name) who were running activities there at the pool. They always asked if you wanted to participate but didn't push if you declined. There are also many more restaurants to pick from here than at Playa which is nice.

I think my only real negative from the whole trip is the transportation (the golf carts). In Playa del Carmen there seem to be more drivers and they are hotel specific so you barely ever had to wait for a ride. You walked out of the lobby and there was almost always a cart waiting. I could be wrong but the Nuevo facility feels much larger and you frequently have to wait quite a bit for a shuttle to take you to some of the more remote places. We were a party of 6 with an older person who wasn't able to do lots of walking and we wanted to travel together so that might have been the issue but they just didn't seem quite as eager to get you to your destination. I have to say though, if that's the only negative then there really isn't anything to complain about. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms have view of the water but there is construction on the lagoon on that side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miranda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I'm an owner of Grand Bliss and love it there (please read other reviews, it is a wonderful place). That said, when we arrived on a Friday we could smell pesticides very, very strong in lobby. We complained but was told is is how PV smells (BS!). When we got to our room, same smell (it was in the HVAC system). Our quests room was the worse. They sprayed a scent to cover it up, but it was still there. That night our friend had a breathing (asthma like) attack and had to go to hospital. $$$ Hotel staff, and assist. manager where rude, uncooperative, and hateful for our complaining. Manager promised a couple freebee's but didn't come through and was never available when we tried to contact him. The manager should be ashamed!!!

Room Tip: High, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pfergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear pfergy :
Thank you very much for submitting your review of The Grand Bliss.We are glad to learn you like our resort.

However, we are shocked to learn about the inconvenience experienced during your visit, since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding facilities and service excellence. This highly exceptional occurrence will be thoroughly investigated, since we aim to ensure our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

With all good wishes,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been to most of the Mayan properties in Nuevo Vallarta - used to think that the Grand Mayan was the best (rooms great and closest to waterpark) - but I'd go with the newer Grand Bliss - the rooms a bit bigger/better (if you can imagine that) - and the Bliss is most centrally located between water park and theme-oriented buffet restaurant - a little quieter than the Grand Mayan - and (I think) more friendly service than the larger Grand Mayan. The Grand Luxe is the newest addition to the Mayan property - with the biggest/best rooms/service - but the newly built Luxe is at the far end of the property - a bit of a walk to the water-park - the Luxe does have a nice (inifinity) pool (but that's about it) - the Luxe pool area is so hot because the palms/vegetation are still young and not grown in yet. So pick the Grand Bliss as your #1 choice on the Mayan properties - or then Grand Mayan (a close #2) - you will NOT be disappointed!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Tim B :

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at The Grand Bliss. We really thank you for your kind comment about the staff and the service they provide.
Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We trulyappreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort. There was construction going on, but it didn't affect our vacation. Our unit was spacious and clean. We found the staff helpful. Being off season, not all resort restaurants and pool areas were open but that was also fine. There were still many pools and restaurants available to use. The restaurants on the resort are expensive, especially for what you get for the price. We really enjoyed the Epazote Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Jay H :

Thank you very much for submitting your review ofyour stay atThe Grand Bliss. We are delighted to find out that all our staff was helpful, as this is what we strive for every day.

We are also happy to learn that your meals were enjoyable at our Epazote Restaurant. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations.

Your comments are always welcomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
#2 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,129 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing