We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night club noise until midnight”
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Night club noise until midnight”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Mr chavez has lost it this year! The transportation center has been reinvented as a nightclub 7 nights a week. It starts at either 7/8 & goes to midnight. It is absolutely gorgeous. It is open aired and large open roof. I am staying at the Grand Bliss, 1000 Feet away. At the GB the odd number rooms face the ocean, the even rooms face the night club. There are 8 floors with 6-2 bedroom units that can be split into a 1 BR unit & a hotel room. I am on the 5th floor center. With the doors closed & the double draperies closed, the windows vibrate and the is a constant boom boom boom from the base and constant vocal that you cannot here any words. Good luck sleeping before midnight. The temps are in the 80's and one must close up the unit so as not to hear the music. You can still hear it. Forget about using the balcony/ patio at night. There is a rule here- once assigned a room, there is no changing. The staff adheres to this rule. No one cares about your quiet relaxing vacation. The residents in the Luxxe and Grand Mayan buildings also can hear the music. By the way, this resort is now being sold as the DisneyWorld of Mexico with its future plans.

Room Tip: Odd numbers are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Brad R:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us.

We are very proud of our spectacular Santuario entertainment center; nonetheless, we are always looking for opportunities to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are an incentive to continue perfecting our performance.

We will gladly follow-up with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Bliss Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    110
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
324
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Husband and I had a great vacation at the Grand Bliss. It is a time share and we do own a "Master room". A two bedroom would be nice but just not in the cards for us right now. The staff is more than helpful and prompt. The selection of resturants is nice except when you just want a little something. Very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived on Friday which is a less hectic day to check in and check out (Saturdays are very busy). The taxi drops you off at a central drop off spot and they take your luggage and bring it to your roon in their golf cart like shuttles however they won't take you in them. (even if you are handicapped which we learned the hard way since my father needs more assistance.) You have to walk a pretty good distance through the pathways and through the "Sanctuary" bar area and then accross some awfully designed lattice like cement walkways that our baby stroller would get stuck in and my handicapped father would struggle with just to get to the resort!After the long walk the lobby was gorgeous and they brought us yummy beverages while we checked in. We had read on here that even numbered rooms don't have the ocean view so we were trying to get an odd numbered room but they won't budge on moving people. We faced the "Sanctuary" bar and nightclub which was hard for my mom who's a light sleeper and heard the loud music all night. We faced much of the construction and could hear the jack hammer noise outside and below our room at 8AM. The noise level continued all day until 5:45PM. although with doors closed it's not bad and it wasn't as loud as I had heard others complain about. They are constructing more venues and rooms on the property. You have to walk another 300 yards to get to the pool and ocean through a thick, jungle-like maze but we found the pool. The grounds are beautiful and there are many restaurants on the property but none inside the resort lobby. There are a couple of lobby bars that were always empty and a small gift shop that also sold cold drinks. Otherwise the Grand Bliss is a beautiful wasteland. All of the other buildings have more amenities. There are many activities going on during the day and many things for the younger ones to enjoy but they are all at the other buildings or the pool area; like at the lazy river at the near-by Grand Mayan property. Overall, once the construction is finished, if it ever is, this will be a wonderful destination property for young families. For older people or people with physical handicaps, it is difficult to get around due to the distance you have to walk. Many owners we talked to were upset with the arrangement of not being off loaded in front of the building and the distance you must walk to get to the pool area and beach. Otherwise, it's beautiful.

Rooms are spacious, balconies wide and deep with plunge pool and comfortable lounge furniture. Beautiful sunsets on the ocean side but we were not privy to them from our room. We loved the lazy river and the room service was not too bad price wise and very tasty. We had problems eating in the resort on Thursday night because every restaurant we went to was closed (because they have a big party on the beach that night that they try to get you to buy tickets to) We have a baby so late night parties are not in the plans for us. Even after finding one restaurant closed staff members steered us to others that after the long walk to get to we found were also closed. We found that most staff members rarely knew accurate information. I think it is simply too big a property for them to be able to know the details of. You could ask several staff a question and get different answers every time.

the gym in the Gran Mayan is a short walk from the Bliss and well appointed although no locker rooms and the only place you can get a free drink of filtered water!

You can get much cheaper good food off the property in town or in the marina area but you have to walk the half mile or so or take a cab (less than $3) which still includes the long walk to where the cabs pick you up so for us with elderly parents it was a challenge.

Several amazing pools with wave pools, slide, kids activity area, snack bars and poolside service. Pools ranged from crowded, kid-filled and kind of crazy (the Grand Mayan---which by the way is the ONLY warmer pool the rest of the pools were frigid and too cold for us to have our toddler in for very long), to quiet pools at the Mayan Palace and Grand Bliss. On days when every lounge chair and palapa at the Grand Mayan pool and beach was occupied, there were still many places to sit down for a group of 5-6 at other pools and beach areas. Every hour from 11:00 am to 7:00 pm there is a happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks at one of the poolside bars or restaurants. Drinks were tasty, cocktail menu was extensive, and alcohol was not skimped on. Typical cocktail is $95 pesos (a little less than $8 at this time). Service was always good but in the restaurants it's pretty slow unless you tell them you are in a hurry in which case we did note they can speed things up a bit.

Beds are firm but clean, more comfortable than other Mexican resorts we have been to and bedrooms are spacious. Bathrooms are large, with separate toilet, great shower and jacuzzi. Kitchen is serviceable for simple meals prepared on the stove, snacks and breakfast, but without an oven or large fridge. Going anywhere on site meant a 5-10 minute walk through gorgeous greenery, lakes, flowers with abundant birds. For us, these walks were a plus (and helped to work off some of those breakfasts but for my parents who are older and with physical limitations it was tough). The resort is a little over 15 minutes from the airport by taxi, at a cost of $250 pesos for up to 4. Buses are available just outside the Grand Mayan gate at the Sea Garden for $13 pesos each (about $1.05) which go directly into town. Coming back requires getting a bus from the Wal-Mart opposite the main marina. A second bus into/out of the old town is $8 pesos each (65 cents). Contrast this with a taxi for 6 which will run about $300 pesos ($25) and up each way. Foodstuffs, alcohol and other goods can be bought at the Chedraui or WalMart in Valle Dorado--a $60 peso ($5), 5 minute taxi ride each way.

Unlike some other Mexican resorts we have been to, the water is not drinkable in the resort so we went to Walmart for massive things of bottled water and food for breakfasts and lunches.

Room Tip: You can try to say the sound of the garden side is too loud but good luck, We never heard of anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seattlesuzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear seattlesuzanna :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience while staying at The Grand Bliss. We are glad to learn you enjoyed our accommodations, grounds and some of our facilities.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us, as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

We hope to welcome you back and really impress you with what we have to offer.

All best wishes,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived in our taxi from the airport and was greeted by the friendly bell boys who immediately loaded our luggage onto a cart, gave us a ticket and said to call this number when we were assigned a room. We then walked approximately 300 yards to register and check in. We were taken to a sales lady to receive our bracelets with the key lock for our room. After traveling all day, we had to listen to the sales speach but after saying no several times we were allowed to go to our room. We were very impressed with the size of the room and furnishings, but the room was a lock-out that had no separation from the other side because it was broken. For security purposes, we wanted another room. We proceeded to the desk clerk to get another room and was told they would not rent the other side so we had no reason for concern - not. After several phone calls by the clerk, we were given another room. Again, a very nice room. We awoke to a jack hammer noise outside and below our room at 8AM. The noise level continued all day until 5:45PM. They are constructing more venues and rooms on the property. You have to walk another 300 yards to get to the pool and ocean through a thick, jungle-like maze but we found the pool. The grounds are beautiful and there are many restaurants on the property but none inside the resort lobby. There are a couple of lobby bars that were empty. There are many activities going on during the day and many things for the younger ones to enjoy; like the lazy river at the near-by Grand Mayan property. The entertainment every night in a building outside of ours was very loud and lasted until 10:30 each night. Overall, once the construction is finished, if it ever is, this will be a wonderful destination property for young families. For older people or people with physical handicaps, it is difficult to get around due to the distance you have to walk. Many owners we talked to were upset with the arrangement of not being off loaded in front of the building and the distance you must walk to get to the pool area and beach. Otherwise, a great property.

Room Tip: No choice, but you can get the ocean side it will be much quieter and the view of the ocean will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank juanclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear juanclem :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of The Grand Bliss. We really thank you for your kind comment about the bell boys’ staff and the services.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us, as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Good: Mayan Resorts is a wonderful, self-contained property which includes the Grand Luxxe buildings, the Grand Bliss, Grand Mayan, Mayan Palace (what's left), various restaurants (all excellent), a kilometre of soft, sandy beach (a few rocks here and there), a golf course, and a central open lobby/disco called Santuario. All buildings are well-kept and impressive, though somewhat too massive and cold in design (over two weeks, never saw more than a handful of people sitting in the large furnished lobbies). Rooms are spacious, balconies wide and deep with plunge pool and comfortable lounge furniture. Beautiful sunsets on the ocean side.

Several amazing pools with wave pools, slide, kids activity area, snack bars and poolside service. Pools ranged from crowded, kid-filled and kind of crazy (the Grand Mayan), to quiet pools at the Mayan Palace and Grand Bliss. On days when every lounge chair and palapa at the Grand Mayan pool and beach was occupied, there were still many places to sit down for a group of 5-6 at other pools and beach areas. Every hour from 11:00 am to 7:00 pm there is a happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks at one of the poolside bars or restaurants. Drinks were tasty, cocktail menu was extensive, and alcohol was not skimped on. Typical cocktail is $95 pesos (a little less than $8 at this time). Service was always great.

Surprisingly (for such a large resort), all the restaurants on site offered good, tasty, nutritious food. The breakfast buffet at Cafe del Lago has to be one of the best we've encountered. Multiple omelette/egg bars, a french toast/waffle/crepe/pancakes bar, loads of fresh pastries, smoked salmon and cheeses, sushi and asian dishes, 12 different kinds of juice, a range of breakfast and Mexican specialties which changed every day, and a fresh-made empanada bar which is a must. Yes, we ate too much. And while $225 pesos (with coupons) is a lot for breakfast in Mexico, it's not expensive by Canadian/American standards, especially considering the choice and quality. We visited about three times a week--most days that we were just chillin'.

Beds are firm but clean, comfortable and spacious. Bathrooms are large, with separate toilet, great shower and jacuzzi. Kitchen is serviceable for simple meals prepared on the stove, snacks and breakfast, but without an oven or large fridge. Going anywhere on site meant a 5-10 minute walk through gorgeous greenery, lakes, flowers with abundant birds. For us, these walks were a plus (and helped to work off some of those breakfasts). The resort is a little over 15 minutes from the airport by taxi, at a cost of $250 pesos for up to 4. Buses are available just outside the Grand Mayan gate at the Sea Garden for $13 pesos each (about $1.05) which go directly into town. Coming back requires getting a bus from the Wal-Mart opposite the main marina. A second bus into/out of the old town is $8 pesos each (65 cents). Contrast this with a taxi for 6 which will run about $300 pesos ($25) and up each way. Foodstuffs, alcohol and other goods can be bought at the Chedraui or WalMart in Valle Dorado--a $60 peso ($5), 5 minute taxi ride each way. The gym facilities at the Grand Mayan are good, but crowded at times and without lockers.

Over a 2 week period we had exactly 2 days of rainy weather, and that is unusually much for the October-May period. Service at all levels was friendly and helpful (make sure you leave the card on the door if you want clean up before 2-4 in the afternoon). Room service was good, and the pizza delivery surprisingly tasty. We had a fabulous time.

The Not-So-Good: While units are spacious, there is precious little storage. 10 people can sleep in the 2BR suite, but there is barely storage for 4. Creative organizing is definitely required. Lack of an oven and kitchen space meant eating out more frequently than we would have liked. There is only one washer and one dryer in the entire building! Use of machines cost $100 pesos (a little over eight dollars per load) which included detergent. Laundry services are available, but pricey for a large family.

The property is wonderful, but Puerto Vallarta is a great town, and the distance from town makes getting in/out less easy. It also means that something as simple as dining elsewhere requires a cab ride and a 10 minute drive. Which would be fine if the cost of on-site restaurants wasn't so high relative to places in town. The food is great, but there is a lot of great, inexpensive food in downtown PV. So, on the one hand, it's great to be at the resort, but a lot of the great vibe of Puerto Vallarta is about being able to walk around town without a lot of trouble.

While the building lobbies are gorgeous, neither the Grand Bliss nor Grand Luxxe lobbies are comfortable places to sit. This is a fractional-ownership property and there is an aggressive push to get you to buy. On the plus side, the value proposition is better and the sales presentation more comfortable than many others, particularly in resort areas. Take it as a cost of staying at the resort. Lastly, in return for the presentation, there is usually a discount on all purchases at the resort, a breakfast for everyone in your party (even if they don't attend the full presentation), and some other perks.

Tips: Try to stay on the ocean side, high floor. Explore the whole site. The shop in the lobby offers pretty decent coffee for $15 pesos ($1.25). Look at the visitor guide to find out when and where happy hour is each day. Buy breakfast coupons which reduce the cost from $300 pesos to $225 pesos. Small kids are cheaper, though, so pay for them separately. Don't be afraid to take the bus into town--it will take 35-40 minutes, but the town has a lot to offer, and the buses are quick, frequent, and safe (and some are almost entirely without shock absorbers or cushioning).

Room Tip: High floor ocean view are preferred, and south side have (restricted) views of Puerto Vallarta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SSwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A rep at the airport for bliss hotels promised my small group half a dozen deals to go on a tour. She asked that we bring a credit card, and when we asked her if a debit card was okay, she assured us it was fine. When we got there, we were told that we needed a valid major credit card, even though our group had homeowners. When we told the we did not bring one, we were left waiting for over an hour to speak to the manager. Several tour guides passed by and didn't even offer coffee or water while we waited. they acted like we asked to go on their tour, and we owed them, when they had invited us for a tour. The faux-posh attitude they projected was downright rude, and, as a New Yorker, I don't use the word "rude" lightly. Finally the "manager" came, and said since we didn't have a cc, they were taking away the deals offered and only offered today our cab ride back to our hotel. we were 45 minutes away from our hotel, and 2.5 hours out of our vacation. When I tried to complain on our time wasted and their lack of hospitality, he threatened to call security! I've never been so offended. In my opinion, this hotel chain is investing in a lot of land but not in hospitality. If their staff is any indication on what kind of image they are trying to portray, they are going in the wrong direction.

Room Tip: Never got to see the rooms, but the lobby seemed chic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family (9 adults and 7 children under 10) stayed in two master suites and one lockoff during the Thanksgiving week. The two master suites were located close to each other on the second floor with views toward the ocean but the lockoff had views inland. As owners we expected ocean views on all the rooms. The second floor room toward the center sits next to the roof of the floors below but the one on the end looks down on the garden below.
The rooms are comfortably large. We cooked a Thanksgiving dinner with chickens and served all 17 in one room. No oven so we got the chickens at Wal-Mart. The bathrooms in the master bedrooms are verey nice. The Jacuzzi tub works very well. The large shower provides a torrent of hot water. However, the other bedroom on the end unit was for special needs so it did not have the jacuzzi tub as did the other units nor did it have the same shower. That was a little disappointing for the couple that stayed in that room. We really loved that the Grand Bliss bracelots that all guests had to wear the entire stay and doubled as room keys. We never had to worry about finding a room key because everybody had a room key to all units on theirs wrists at all times. We liked being able to order food and place it on a tab to be paid at the end and discounted by the pesos and 10% discount at checkout. They did not try to sell us on the Grand Luxe because apparently there is a wait list of two years. So the presentation for my wife and me and the breakfast for 17 was not too bad at all. The ocean was very warm in November and waves were a lot of fun. 5 people went parasailing at the Grand Bliss beach and 12 went on the banana boat. 6 got discounts for the dolphin swim which is located just a 15 minute walk from the property. I enjoyed the colorful birds that populated the exquisite tropical landscaping. I did not see any crocodiles this year. The children said this was the best vacation we have ever taken together. Beds are quite hard-- my only major complaint. The living rooms easily sleep four children on two sofas and two trundle beds underneath the sofas. The balconies are huge with a large soft cushioned chair for enjoying the lush landscaping near the end unit but the other unit nearer the center of the building had no view of the landscaping. The gym/spa is still under construction. The Grand Bliss pool is finished and quite nice, a lot like the Mayan Palace pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryce04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,519 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Property: The Grand Bliss
Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing