We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience during one of their "tours"”
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bad experience during one of their "tours"”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A rep at the airport for bliss hotels promised my small group half a dozen deals to go on a tour. She asked that we bring a credit card, and when we asked her if a debit card was okay, she assured us it was fine. When we got there, we were told that we needed a valid major credit card, even though our group had homeowners. When we told the we did not bring one, we were left waiting for over an hour to speak to the manager. Several tour guides passed by and didn't even offer coffee or water while we waited. they acted like we asked to go on their tour, and we owed them, when they had invited us for a tour. The faux-posh attitude they projected was downright rude, and, as a New Yorker, I don't use the word "rude" lightly. Finally the "manager" came, and said since we didn't have a cc, they were taking away the deals offered and only offered today our cab ride back to our hotel. we were 45 minutes away from our hotel, and 2.5 hours out of our vacation. When I tried to complain on our time wasted and their lack of hospitality, he threatened to call security! I've never been so offended. In my opinion, this hotel chain is investing in a lot of land but not in hospitality. If their staff is any indication on what kind of image they are trying to portray, they are going in the wrong direction.

Room Tip: Never got to see the rooms, but the lobby seemed chic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    113
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
345
152
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family (9 adults and 7 children under 10) stayed in two master suites and one lockoff during the Thanksgiving week. The two master suites were located close to each other on the second floor with views toward the ocean but the lockoff had views inland. As owners we expected ocean views on all the rooms. The second floor room toward the center sits next to the roof of the floors below but the one on the end looks down on the garden below.
The rooms are comfortably large. We cooked a Thanksgiving dinner with chickens and served all 17 in one room. No oven so we got the chickens at Wal-Mart. The bathrooms in the master bedrooms are verey nice. The Jacuzzi tub works very well. The large shower provides a torrent of hot water. However, the other bedroom on the end unit was for special needs so it did not have the jacuzzi tub as did the other units nor did it have the same shower. That was a little disappointing for the couple that stayed in that room. We really loved that the Grand Bliss bracelots that all guests had to wear the entire stay and doubled as room keys. We never had to worry about finding a room key because everybody had a room key to all units on theirs wrists at all times. We liked being able to order food and place it on a tab to be paid at the end and discounted by the pesos and 10% discount at checkout. They did not try to sell us on the Grand Luxe because apparently there is a wait list of two years. So the presentation for my wife and me and the breakfast for 17 was not too bad at all. The ocean was very warm in November and waves were a lot of fun. 5 people went parasailing at the Grand Bliss beach and 12 went on the banana boat. 6 got discounts for the dolphin swim which is located just a 15 minute walk from the property. I enjoyed the colorful birds that populated the exquisite tropical landscaping. I did not see any crocodiles this year. The children said this was the best vacation we have ever taken together. Beds are quite hard-- my only major complaint. The living rooms easily sleep four children on two sofas and two trundle beds underneath the sofas. The balconies are huge with a large soft cushioned chair for enjoying the lush landscaping near the end unit but the other unit nearer the center of the building had no view of the landscaping. The gym/spa is still under construction. The Grand Bliss pool is finished and quite nice, a lot like the Mayan Palace pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryce04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from one week at The Grand Bliss! We recommend this resort and we look forward to staying there again!

Rooms: We had a studio unit. It was very spacious, Clean, comfortable, and offered a wonderful view of the ocean! The bed is very comfortable And appointed with fine linens. The bathroom was also very spacious with a Jacuzzi tub, separate shower, separate toilet area, and double sinks! They offer a generous supply of soap, lotion, and shampoo Which all smell wonderful! our room also contained a small refrigerator in one of the cabinet Areas which was very nice to have! Our balcony face the ocean and had two chairs and a small table. Everything about the room was great!

Room service; Room service was also above our expectations! We ordered pizza One night and felt that it was good pizza and reasonably priced! We also ordered breakfast in and were impressed!

Beach; The beach area was our only disappointment. At this time there are no chairs on the beach because that part has not been constructed yet. You can access the beach and it is a great beach.

Pool; The new pool is the crown jewel of the resort! The pool is clean and beautiful with lots of nice areas! They have a beautiful swim up bar. The activity staff provides games and books in addition to information and fun! We had two great meals at the new pool restaurant! The pool area offers a happy hour twice daily And the waiters provide great service!

Lobby: The lobby is Beautiful and smells great! There is a nice bar at one end of the lobby area. There is also one small shop Where you can purchase a few necessities. They also sell coffee.

Restaurants: There are no restaurants within The Grand Bliss. (Except for the lunch restaurant at the pool). You have to either use room service or go to one of the sister properties on either side of the resort. We highly recommend Cafe Del Lago at the Grand Lux property. It is a beautiful restaurant with indoor or outdoor seating. They Offer and impressive buffet every morning!! If you go there between 7 AM and 8 AM you receive a 30% discount! This is a great value.

It is my understanding That they offer free transportation from the airport to the resort. We were not aware of this prior to our arrival And we paid $26 one-way. The return trip from the resort to the airport was only $16.

Overall it is a great place to stay!!
We did experience some frustration because there is a lot of construction going on in the area. There was some noise but not too much. The biggest problem was that you cannot walk from one property to the other very easily As many areas are restricted Due to construction. They do offer a shuttle between properties but sometimes there is a wait for the right shuttle.
We did encounter one small issue with the resort but Cecelia eagerly resolved the issue and made sure that we were compensated and happy!

We hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bargainbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed week of Oct. 21, 2012. We had just checked out of the Grand Mayan and loved it there so our expectations were already high. We had to check out of the Grand Mayan by 10 am and were pleasantly surprised that they let us check in at the Bliss right away. We found out later that we didn't really even have to check out since we were getting another room in one of their other complexes. We didn't have an ocean view but it was a partial ocean view because we got a room on the corner. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was way more room than we needed for two people but it was really nice to have such a spacious place. The balcony with little pool and the rooms were fabulous. There was construction going on at the Grand Luxxe but it didn't affect us at all. Everyone here from the desk clerks, bartenders, bell boys, and maids were so friendly and nice. We were at the end of the off season so the hotel was not very crowded which was nice. Pool was under construction so that was a negative but we were able to go to the Grand Mayan and use their pools so it wasn't a big deal. No restaurant at this hotel was also another negative. We went to their timeshare presentation which we had never gone to one before and was curious. Bad mistake. We got a free breakfast at Cafe de Lago which was really good but we spent about 5 hours at this presentation. When you say you're not interested, another person will come and try to offer you a better deal. We went through 4 people before they finally said okay you can check out now. Well, the last person we saw, Jasmine, said we get a free gift for attending this presentation which was a free tour. We picked the Los Arcos tour. She said all we had to do was go to the Flamingo resort which was close to Bucerias and try out their facility. They just wanted people to enjoy it and spread the word. We would have a free breakfast and they would pay for our cab ride to and from that place and also the cab ride to and from the Los Arcos tour which was in Marina Vallarta. She said it was nothing like the presentation we had just come from. We got back to our room and my husband said take a look at the ticket she gave us. It said we had to go through a 75 minute presentation. I was livid. We marched back to her and asked her about that and she assured us that's just the paper they gave her but the 75 minutes would include the breakfast and it was nothing like the presentation at the Bliss. So the next day we went to the Flamingo with Jasmine and she handed us off to another person. We ended up being there for 2.5 hours. When we put our foot down and said we weren't interested, another salesman came and he said why are you here if you're not interested. I thought that was rude so I said we got tricked and were told we just had to enjoy the facility and this wouldn't be another 5 hour presentation. He shut up and left. We were finally led to the checkout room and got our cab money and free tour ticket. The kicker of all this is that we ended up not going on the Los Arcos tour because we read a lot of bad reviews on it and didn't want to waste our day. The good thing about this presentation at the Flamingo was that we were able to walk to Bucerias on the beach and use the cab money we got to go back to the Bliss. Oh, we also got 2000 pesos for attending the Bliss presentation which would show up on your check out bill so you can use that for food and drinks or anything you buy at the stores onsite. All in all, we loved staying at the Grand Bliss.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and away from the construction side. Corner units are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkachoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was a really nice time but it was under construction (we would watch the construction and see what each person was doing day to day). The staff was nice but unorganized. I tried 5 times to get more than 1 cup of coffee brought to our room in the morning then just gave up. It took 4 times to get washcloths. Also, trying to get reservations to everything was difficult because you couldn't talk to just one person. Often the person you talk to didn't have the most recent information and you ended up having to call someone else. I would suggest staying in the Grand Mayan until the construction is finished.

Room Tip: Stay in the Grand Mayan not the newer buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MSells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MSells :

We very much appreciate our guests' reviews and opinionsabout their stay at The Grand Bliss. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

It is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests. Moreover, our resorts are constantly being refurbished as we aim to ensure that our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.We are certain the end result will be the vacation resort of your dreams.

We hope to host your vacation again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am an owner at the Grand Mayan (same property). I received an upgrade for the Grand Bliss. The rooms are similar to the Grand Mayan both being very nicely appointed. This is the first time in the 5 years, as an owned, that I received an ocean view. It is true that there is a fair amount of construction but that aside this was by far my best visit. If it were not for the construction I would have rated the stay as 5 stars. The construction aside the property is kept spotless. The amenities at this resort property are incredible. Room service (usually not provided at a time share) is both daily and exceptional. Everyone was very helpful and the service was beyond excellent. I would suggest caution with the time share sales. You will be hit with incentives to visit a "property update" as soon as you check in. I would suggest extreme caution when dealing with the resort sales department.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Art P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love the Mayan resort in NV but this trip was our least satisfying. The grounds are in disarray due to the ongoing construction. The Grand Bliss is beautiful, opulent and empty! Very hot and muggy. The pool for the GB is built but not open for use. There is no restaurant at the Bliss
And it's a trek to the ones on the property. Once construction ends or moves away from the current Bliss building and the pathways are clear things will be much more convenient. The kitchens are very nice but only One knife for food prep and one salad bowl! Our next visit will be to the Grand Bliss in Rivera Maya just after opening so I hope the property is ready. We will return to NV in the spring of 2013 and I expect it will be a nicer time.

Room Tip: Buy some kitchen knives and bowls for food prep at Walmart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrStuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DrStuo :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss.We are also pleased you found our resort to be beautiful.

Your comments are always welcomed. We will take note of your observations so that we can provide all our guests an extraordinary vacation experience.Also, we are pleased to inform you that the pool area is now available for our guests to enjoy, as well as an on-site restaurant called “Chinguirito” (Spanish cuisine).
We look forward to welcoming you back and make your next stay memorable.

Sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo VallartaManagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,069 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Property: The Grand Bliss
Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras | Boulevard Riviera Nayarit, No. 254 Bahía de Banderas Nayarit, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing