We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Expectations can make for disapointments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expectations can make for disapointments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Goods and not so goods;
I trusted my new travel agent Leanne at (ask me where and I'll tell you) to find us something nice that wasn't pricey on short notice and she didn't let me down.
The cab took us to the wrong place because there is some confusion with the name, it's Sea Garden/Ocean Breeze. Very friendly front desk, it took 3 trys before we finally got a bed large enough for both of us to sleep on, 2 people on a twin just dosn't work for me however it was dealt with in a friendly, timely manner. Food variety was good and very enjoyable. Service and friendliness overall was the best I have had in a long time especially the restuarant staff, they always seemed to be happy to see us. If your looking for lots of food variety and crappy service try Holland America, if your looking for decent food and great service, this is the place. We went there to do nothing but relax and that is exactly what we did. There is not much to do at the hotel even though there says there is in the write up •Golf - driving range on site (not) •Golf lessons on site (not) •Horse riding/rental on site (not) •Parasailing on site (not) •Pilates classes on site (not) •Running track/path on site (not) but on the other hand the place hardly had anybody there at all, no fighting for a beach lounge or place to sit, no waiting for food etc.
After check out we had about 7 hours to airport time, they allowed us to stay and feed us at no charge. If I had to change a few things it would have been nice to have the sheets changed while we were there, we had turn down service twice in the 6 days (not that I care but if your expecting it, don't). I think the only short coming was the room cleaning staff and they were still an 8 out of 10.
This is not a place for a party animal. All in all would I recommend this place, absolutly. If your a complainer you will be disapointed here, not much to complain about.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the "marina" side, lots of road noise and they don't have room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCtrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and i are looking forward to just getting away... We are heading there March 23rd dor 6 days... I am looking forward to going, what things are around the resort to go look at... we dont want to venture too far away from the resort.. we are really just going for some R&R were not big partiers or shoppers.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just got back from the Sea Garden/Ocean breeze hotel. We had purchased the all inclusive package for 4 nights. Was not sure what to expect, but as soon as we arrived, we knew this was the right choice. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. I have traveled to PV about 12 times and this property was the best by far. The staff was just amazing. The food was very good, way better than the Riu. The grounds were a tropical delight and the pool was the warmest pool I have ever been in south of the US border. Check in was a quick and easy and we were pool side enjoying some delicious margaritas within 20 min of arriving.

The best part of the trip was the staff. They do not know the word no at this resort and will do everyhing to make you happy. I just cant say enough about the helpful, friendly staff. Edgar, Fernando, Anahi, Efrain and Hermilo and the rest of the gang at Rumba restaurant, thanks for making this the best vacation ever. The guys at the swim up bar made us some great drinks
and the service could not have been better.

Our room was spotless and always kept neat and clean through out our stay.
The A/C was a little noisy but at night it was cool enough just to leave the ceiling fan on.
One thing that needs to be addressed is the internet service. The hotel charges 170 pesos for 24 hours, and the service is really very slow. I feel this charge is WAY to high period. This was really my only complaint about this property. Also, the property is kinda on the quiet side, and tends to cater to an older crowd, so if you are looking for some wild party place, this resort is not it. I describe it this way; this resort is not a Carnival fun ship, its more like a Holland America cruise.... hope that makes sense.

I would go back to the Ocean Breeze in a heart beat. We loved our stay there

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TropicaLAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Let me begin by saying after I booked this hotel I was a bit skeptical due to some of the reviews, but I will say none of the negative ones held any truth during our stay. What a bargain and the best food I have ever had at an all inclusive. You were catered to on the beach at the pool or in the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 night 11 day stay at the ocean breeze.

Room Tip: Make sure you try Eddies a couple blocks away and venture into Bucerius a graet little fishing villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsearcher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

WARNING: Please be aware at the airport - The line ups are really long and everything happens very quickly - Once you go through customs, claim your luggage etc you walk through a hallway with a bunch of guys dressed in white uniforms - they ask you which hotel you are staying at and direct you to your bus, once you leave that area, there is another hallway that looks the same, however the guys there (also dressed in white uniforms) are trying to sell you timeshares and in our instance they didn't tell us that. He tried to get us to go to some random parking lot where there would be a car waiting for us...Thankfully we booked our vacation with sunquest an knew we had a bus waiting for us so we walked away from that guy.

Overall this hotel is very well maintained. Our rooms were cleaned 2-3 times a day and inspected by the supervisor, which we found odd at times, because it means someone or the other is always in our room-but after we realized how much sand we were dragging in the rooms and on the beds..we really appreciated them cleaning so often.

The room itself was just beautiful - My boyfriend asked the guy at the front desk for an ocean view room and he happened to have one available so he upgraded us at no extra charge! The washroom was big compared to most other hotels we've stayed in, and the marble floors were a nice touch! As well there is a small balcony where you can enjoy the view of the ocean.

The beach was amazing. It was rough most of the time, but we still managed to go for a swim when the flag was yellow. (The hotel had a traffic light system to let you know when it was okay to swim in the sea) The best part of the beach were the dolphins - they would swim in pairs and once in a while jump up and around -they were fun to watch. There are quite a few vendors on the beach - it gets annoying when they follow you but you get used to ignoring them-also they are wayyyy overpriced! we got better souvenirs at the airport.

The food and drinks at the a la carte snack bar were delicious! We had the nachos, tacos and quesadillas almost everyday! Oh and margaritas! We tried the buffet restaurant as well - but we didn't care much for it. it was okay for breakfast, when they made fresh waffles, quesadillas and omelets, but the dinner wasn't too great. The staff weren't as friendly at the buffet restaurant - seemed like there was a lot of them there yet we were always waiting on drinks to be refilled or waiting to sign for the bill. (you have to sign for every drink and meal but you don't get charged for anything)

The only downside to this hotel was the lack of entertainment. During the day, you could play bingo, do water aerobics or play volleyball - however there was no nightly entertainment at the hotel. You could buy tickets to events like a beach party or other excursions though.
I would still go back because it was so relaxing and the beach and the food were just amazing!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room - it really makes a big difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cryss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Small and quiet with excelent, friendly staff! Food was very good with quality choises at every meal. KILLER margeritas and a nice array of fancy coctails. We were all inclusive,but most guests were time share. It really cut down on drunkeness as drinks are quite expensive. Very quiet at night, bar almost empty. Rooms were good. Beach is great. We will return!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed here at the end of November. We enjoyed the experience. We've been "down south" nine times now and consider ourselves value travellers. We generally book well in advance for low dollar cost vacations. This trip from Edmonton cost us $824 each. This was our fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta and our first time to Ocean Breeze. We're not picky. We like things to be clean, the food to be tasty, and the weather to be hot and sunny (of course no one, on earth, controls the last one!).

We experienced friendly staff, helpful concierge, clean rooms, good food, and a good beach.

-The staff were great.
-The rooms were very clean and spacious. But, the room service was rather inconsistent - our friends room was not cleaned one day and they had to request it be done at supper time. We got some towel sculptures (swans, hearts...) all days but one (a nice touch though not an expectation on our part) our friends only got that one day. There's no balcony, which we would have appreciated. And we only got double beds, the king size bed was an upgrade and we were not prepared to spend another $150 for the week for that.
-The food is standard fare for 3-4 star Mexican resorts. Lots of fresh fruit and cereals and hot Mexican dishes for breakfast. There was enough variety for us for a week's stay. They only have one restaurant but can eat outside or inside. Lunch and dinner can be ordered from a menu instead of eating from the buffet. We got mixed messages...we were told by the senior waiter that ordering from the menu was an extra charge when in fact others confirmed it was not. Lunch was off a menu and quite good (try the burger - it's huge! and tasty!)
-The lobby has lots of couches and chairs to have conversations with others at.
-The beach is spacious. Shade is provided by palapas, I prefer the mixed shade provided by palms but they didn't have any trees on the beach. There were very few beach vendors coming by this resort.
-There is no gym nor hot tub.
-The pool is open from 8 - 8 and is family friendly. There is a swim up bar.
-There are no evening "shows" but there are 3 young people offering activities by the pool each day.
-There are no kayaks, boogie board etc. to use out on the ocean.
-It's a small resort and that made finding our friends and meeting up very easy and stress free.

My biggest complaint to the management is the lack of quieter spaces to find at their resort. Imagine walking in to the lobby and seeing this nice, two story waterfall. It makes a lot of white noise but that is part of having a waterfall. Then I hear Enya being played - loud - they have a very good sound system. Enya's Watermark album is a good one but can you imagine it being played from 9 am to 9 pm 365 days a year?!!! And, at 9 am, when one is trying to sleep in, Enya kicks in, loud and clear into your room because your room's door is off the lobby! I guess management wants us up at a certain time and don't have any other license than to play Enya.

There are other small water features around the resort and a big fountain in the pool that create more white noise. The restaurant had a good selection of background music but played too loud both inside and outside the restaurant. The animation team have to announce their activities, loudly of course, and then play, at times, both good and bad (imo) selections of music played much more loudly than necessary.

Turn it down! Give me some space to enjoy some peace and quiet.

I won't consider Ocean Breeze again unless I hear they've done something about the music/noise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#23 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Resort
Bahia del Sol Resort
#25 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#28 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Ave. Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Náutico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing