We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Innovative Japanese Fusion Cuisine”

Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 140 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nicksan, located in Riviera Nayarit at Residences Plaza, next to Marival Residences Luxury Resort, not only offers Japanese cuisine. It offers an artisan experience in every way from the arrival to the last bite or sip of you drink. This is how this establishment of Mexican and Japanese cuisine fusion is described. Nicksan goes above and beyond. It's experiences are born from the mix of traditional ingredients of two cultures on opposite sides of the world. Resulting in the birth of incomparable flavors that no other restaurants like this can offer.
Orinda, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy Innovative Japanese Fusion Cuisine”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Innovative Japanese cooked and sushi based items presented in a modern clean pleasant setting at Paseo Cocoteros No.53, in the Marival Residences Plaza west of Dreams in Nuevo Vallarta.

Attentive service, table and sushi bar seating, a well stocked bar and one of the most interesting ceiling treatments we've seen add to the desirability of this restaurant. We had multiple items, all fresh, pleasing in presentation and good to eat, though some we would not order again mostly to try different items on the extensive menu. The recommended tuna tostada was a hit and the in-season Aji, an item we have a hard time getting at home, was a nice treat. They import some items from the U.S, Japan and elsewhere for quality purposes so don't expect bargain basement pricing. Our meal was a bit more expensive than a somewhat equivalent meal at home in the San Francisco Bay area. But at home we don't buy bottled water or anything as interesting as Nicksan's tuna tostadas or salmon tostadas.

Nicksan accepts Visa, Master Card and Amex.

We will return for more and definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Client
Thank you for posting a comment about our restaurant on this web site. We value clients' feedback and we are pleased to read that you found our Japanese fusion cuisine concept to your complete satisfaction. We look forward to a new opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    22
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nicksan is perfect!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been to the Cabo location, and enjoy the chefs sushi at mastro's ocean club here in Vegas, so we were delighted to find one while we were visiting Puerto Vallarta. The drive to Nuevo Vallarta is nice, and the complex of hotels and shops it is located in is beautiful! High end for sure. The mixed sashimi salad was to die for, the greens were so fresh! The sushi rolls are so creative with unique dipping sauces, don't even touch that soy sauce! They let me spin a wheel on the way out and I won a free bottle of wine on my next visit! I'm saving because I know I will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you for writing a review of our resort on this web site. We value our client's opinions and we are certain other lovers of fine dining benefit from them too. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal, and congratulations for winning a bottle of wine. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great fusion food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant has the best fusión asian food in the bay. The service is impecable. All the dishes were a treat to the palate. The only thing I do not recomend is the Dinamita scalops. They simply copied somebody elses receipe and it did not come out well. They should stick to their own dishes no need to copy somebody elses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALo227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. We value diners' opinion, as we strive for excellence. We have forwarded your comments to management for proper consideration.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“take care with food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Once well once average or bad, salad of octopus as some rubber, the average rest, except new fish.. hichami fish?
The worst the cooks who prepare sushis, sashimi do not wear gloves!!!!!!
Correct service
always rather expensive

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARCOITALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for posting a review on this important forum. Your comments are very important to us because they help us to improve the quality of our service and achieve excellence.
As you may know our restaurant adheres to a very strict program of high standards of quality and hygiene of food handling (Distinctive “H”). In the traditional Japanese cuisine gloves are not used, but the day of your visit, our cook had a little wound in his finger and, as a hygiene procedure; he put on gloves only for that occasion.
We apologize for the inconvenience and we gladly invite you to visit us one more time and enjoy another culinary experience with us. Five chef specialties and unlimited house drinks for only $250 pesos.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Japanese-Mexican fusion restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a most restaurant for us every time we are in Nuevo Vallarta.
We always have a great welcome from Alberto and his people. They make us feel so welcomed!
The food is absolutely delicious and so refined. There is nothing like it in any other Japanese restaurants we had been to in other cities.
They always have new suggestions for us and they are great.
We feel so pampered and spoiled.
It is pricey but very much worth it.
We will keep coming ALWAYS!!!

I am so thankful for having this restaurant in a city we love so much!

Keep it up!

Katya Alvarez

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatyaR-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. Customers' opinions are quite valuable to us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed personalized service from the staff as well as our new offerings. We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing