We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fusion food”

Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 156 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nicksan, located in Riviera Nayarit at Residences Plaza, next to Marival Residences Luxury Resort, not only offers Japanese cuisine. It offers an artisan experience in every way from the arrival to the last bite or sip of you drink. This is how this establishment of Mexican and Japanese cuisine fusion is described. Nicksan goes above and beyond. It's experiences are born from the mix of traditional ingredients of two cultures on opposite sides of the world. Resulting in the birth of incomparable flavors that no other restaurants like this can offer.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant has the best fusión asian food in the bay. The service is impecable. All the dishes were a treat to the palate. The only thing I do not recomend is the Dinamita scalops. They simply copied somebody elses receipe and it did not come out well. They should stick to their own dishes no need to copy somebody elses.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALo227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Client
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. We value diners' opinion, as we strive for excellence. We have forwarded your comments to management for proper consideration.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Once well once average or bad, salad of octopus as some rubber, the average rest, except new fish.. hichami fish?
The worst the cooks who prepare sushis, sashimi do not wear gloves!!!!!!
Correct service
always rather expensive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARCOITALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for posting a review on this important forum. Your comments are very important to us because they help us to improve the quality of our service and achieve excellence.
As you may know our restaurant adheres to a very strict program of high standards of quality and hygiene of food handling (Distinctive “H”). In the traditional Japanese cuisine gloves are not used, but the day of your visit, our cook had a little wound in his finger and, as a hygiene procedure; he put on gloves only for that occasion.
We apologize for the inconvenience and we gladly invite you to visit us one more time and enjoy another culinary experience with us. Five chef specialties and unlimited house drinks for only $250 pesos.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a most restaurant for us every time we are in Nuevo Vallarta.
We always have a great welcome from Alberto and his people. They make us feel so welcomed!
The food is absolutely delicious and so refined. There is nothing like it in any other Japanese restaurants we had been to in other cities.
They always have new suggestions for us and they are great.
We feel so pampered and spoiled.
It is pricey but very much worth it.
We will keep coming ALWAYS!!!

I am so thankful for having this restaurant in a city we love so much!

Keep it up!

Katya Alvarez

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatyaR-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Client
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. Customers' opinions are quite valuable to us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed personalized service from the staff as well as our new offerings. We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh my God!!!! Not only is the food the best I have eaten in years, the service and ambience are equally amazing. Sergio, the manager, ranks above all others for his hospitality, generosity, and personality. The food is a fusion of 85 percent Japanese and 15 percent Mexican. Each bite was a fiesta of flavors exploding in my mouth. I will return to Nuevo Vallarta if only for another chance at this dining experience. Ate there twice and each time was phenomenal. Don't forget to take a look at the ceiling....you will feel as if you are in the wave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Customer
Thank you for posting a review of your dining experience at our restaurant. We appreciate your insights and we are certain other lovers of fine dining will benefit from them as well. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just just happen to stumble into this restaurant, and happened to stop at luch. The staff was just super friendly, and for $250 pesos we were recommended to have the Chef's directed menu. WOW!!. the food was just incredible, and the location setting beautiful, but most of all was the service.. thank you guys.. just a great time..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Monamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Customer
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. Your opinion is very important to us; we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience here, and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing