We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the bay!”

Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 139 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nicksan, located in Riviera Nayarit at Residences Plaza, next to Marival Residences Luxury Resort, not only offers Japanese cuisine. It offers an artisan experience in every way from the arrival to the last bite or sip of you drink. This is how this establishment of Mexican and Japanese cuisine fusion is described. Nicksan goes above and beyond. It's experiences are born from the mix of traditional ingredients of two cultures on opposite sides of the world. Resulting in the birth of incomparable flavors that no other restaurants like this can offer.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best in the bay!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nicksan is not simply one of the best sushi places, but one of the best restaurants in the bay. I have been there 3 times in 2 weeks (twice for dine in and once to satiate a craving with a to go order). The atmosphere is wonderful. Set in a beautiful contemporary space with one of the most interesting ceilings I have ever seen, Nicksan will delight all your senses. We had a chef's tasting menu and loved it. We started with a miso soup, followed by a delicious crisp salad tossed with a curry vinaigrette and topped with a white fish sashimi. The next dish was among one of the best things I have tried as of late, a beautifully plated mackerel sashimi in a cilantro mousse. Incredible! The sushi is flap-on-your-plate fresh and the staff, particularly the very attentive manager, are friendly without being overbearing. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for posting such a well-informed review of our restaurant on this web site. We value customers' opinions and we are certain your insights will benefit other lovers of fine dining as well.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    22
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bewteen GOOD/VERY GOOD”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Enough hanging pleasant surprise the restaurant week, menu at 299 pesos..
Sushi a little bit dry correct cake, sanmi (white fish tempura stuffed with spicy kani, very tasty, mixed tempura rather good, not fat, sea bass correct with fresh mushrooms vanilla ice cream with gelatin espresso, not bad and original, ice cream tempura was lacking chocolate, but we asked for it more and the server brought it to us more in
brief, for once enough good value for money, good service
note :3,5

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARCOITALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant on this web site. Customers' opinions are quite valuable to us, and we believe lovers of fine dining also benefit from them when shared on line. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nicksan was one of the highlights on our trip to Puerto Vallarta. We wanted to do something special for our last night in town and were given the suggestion to go here. Best decision. The food was amazing, drinks were sooo good, and service was warm and friendly. We sat outside with a great atmosphere on the deck. Felt elegant and fancy without being stuffy whatsoever. I'd recommend Nicksan to anyone and definitely plan on returning!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. We value your opinion and we are certain it will also benefit other lovers of fine dining. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
2 reviews
“Something special !”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nicksan is an unique experience and if you have a background in fine cuisine both Mexican and Japanese then it's even better ! However all one really needs to enjoy this delicious food is your appetite !  It is pricey, so If you are watching your costs and don't want to lose sight of their best options, be sure to accept help from your waiter who will asks about your preferences and even allergies and then design an amazing meal for both your waistline and wallet !
There's a great variety of choices, both raw and cooked, the spicy tuna  tostadas ( their signature dish ) are super fresh and tasty. My favorite for creativity, taste and value is the green tea pasta with shrimp !
Exquisite cuisine in a  beautiful setting with impeccable service , World class all the way !










  

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BnW39point4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Customer
We would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our restaurant on this web site. Your insights are quite appreciated and other lovers of fine dining will certainly appreciate them as well. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! Best Sushi, Best Service”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the best restaurant in all Vallarta. We just went again last week - consistently great food, and the waiters are terrific, service is great. The food - we brought a friend who travels internationally, she said it's the best sushi she's ever had. This is high value for the price. Especially the multi course meal specials where they choose - no matter how often we go, they vary it so it's new and different, but they keep the favorites - tuna tostada. Once we went and order an entire plateful of just them! They're amazing.
Now they added delivery - order it and have your own picnic on the beach

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to post a client opinion on this web site. We really appreciate you sharing your thoughts about our restaurant, and we are sure they will benefit other lovers of fine dining as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Nicksan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing