We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best tortilla soup in puerto valla” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ernesto's Good Grub

Ernesto's Good Grub
Ranked #43 of 136 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best tortilla soup in puerto valla”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

They are best know for their chicken tortilla soup But it is more like a stew!!! Very large portions. The restaurant is in his back yard, don't let the neighborhood frighten you. It is safe and well worth the trip!!!! Great all you can eat bbq ribs on Saturday night too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJSCHEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The tortilla soup was great, as were the ribs and coconut shrimp. It's a very relaxed atmosphere, nothing fancy, but very friendly. The portions are really big, you definitely get your money's worth.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Just Pay Attention to Your Bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've been going to Ernesto's for years, we love the tortilla soup although we started out at the PV location for rib night which was delicious. The food is always good but we ALWAYS seem to have a problem with our bill, on our last visit we were charged exactly 10 pesos more for each beverage than what was stated on the menu. I know, 10 pesos big deal, but the point is it happens every time we go, "so sorry, we made a mistake" and it's corrected. I'm not really keen on that kind of consistent "mistake." We'll probably continue to go but the whole experience is becoming a bit tainted. Go to TUC in Bucerias if you want some really good tortilla soup for half the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chewybiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nuevo Vallarta location closed on Sundays - confirm which location you are visiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We wanted to eat at Eduardo's Good Grub in Nuevo Vallarta and called the phone number associated on TripAdvisor with that location (they also have one in PV). We setup a reservation and had a taxi take us to the Nuevo Vallarta location only to realize it is closed on Sundays. The phone number must be for the PV location instead (which is open on Sundays).

So, be aware of that when staying in Nuevo Vallarta and wanting to eat there. We hope to get a chance to try it again next time as it sounds really great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirbchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to Nuevo Vallarta for several years and discovered this wonderful spot a couple of years ago! The tortilla soup is to die for as well as the ribs and fish tacos! It is a family endeavor and they make you feel welcome and loved! We have told many friends about the wonderful food and service! Please stop by and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeenerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernesto's Good Grub also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Ernesto's Good Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing