We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Griffith, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was horrible. First the service was the worst. It is nothing like going on vacation and then having the people in the hotel treat you like garbage! We got to our hotel late at around 9 and they reception starts to tell us we are going to be charged more for the kids. we had already called in the morning and they quoted us with the kids price. He was so rude and didnt help and made us feel like we would pay more. he said he couldnt help or do anything we would have to wait. the next morning we went to front desk...again no one was available until about 1. they told us he didnt know what he was talking about that we didnt owe more money. If they cannot help or dont know anything at least the receptionist should not be rude to you. then we wanted to rent bikes. we came down exactly 4 minutes after 5 and they wouldnt rent them to us. How rude. for only 4 minutes. And at breakfast they open up 10 minutes late but we have to wait. Also, we reserved our special dinner. We were 10 minutes late and they wouldnt serve us the food. Instead they took the plates they had for us already outside back inside to the kitchen instead of letting us sit down and it. This was because the cook didnt want to stay longer and he was so rude to us about it. I cannot believe people talk to visitors this way. HOwever, the Captain for kitchen was super nice. he explained everything to us. even though we were not able to eat it was nice to hear someone treat you with respect. we stayed 3 days and there is so much more to say. POINT is do not stay here. the food was not that great. rooms looked crappy. but most of all the service was horrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brittany m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    333
    143
    51
    30
See reviews for
495
171
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom kitchen unit so did not do the all inclusive
Great staff. The bellman, the front desk staff ,and the maids were all exceptional.
Enjoyed the beach and the local restaurants. Nice quiet time, close to the bus for trips to PV.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I came to the hotel expecting great food and an enjoyable weekend based upon a previous stay at the RIU Jalisco in Nuevo Vallarta. The service in Varadero was fine, however the food was so cheap that I wish I had gone to another hotel. Mashed potatoes, chicken legs in gravy, a salad, and a brownie. That was the menu for the first night. For lunch the second day, it was ribs in gravy, mashed potatoes, rice, salad, and jello. That night it was greasy lasagna, vegetables, and cake squares. They keep the ice cream bars locked up in a freezer and one has to practically beg and then wait for one. There was no hot water in the bathroom. It was barely warm and there was hair in the bathtub and it wasn't mine. At night they have somebody outside who can't carry a tune but singing with loud speakers blaring the music. I paid the same price to stay at the Varadero that I paid for the RIU Jalisco, but the Varadero is such shoestring operation I will never go back. There is a reason why hardly any foreign tourist in the hotel, just Mexicans. It because you get so little nothing. Not a hotel to go on vacation.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the beach side because of the loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Though we stayed only one night we were impressed with the service. A better way to meet the local folks when most of the guests are themselves Mexican.
Very nice gesture to upgrade us at their expenses when hotels.com dropped the ball on communicating with the hotel when we were delayed in arriving.
Interestingly our bellman was the most bilingual - if he wasn't a manager he should have been - very good with guests particularly dealing effectively with an obnoxious older stereotypical yank who was totally rude and condescending toward all the staff.
Only issue for us on the room was an older an unclean fridge/freezer otherwise a good first impression overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very accommodating staff, clean rooms,authentic Mexican food with not a lot of variety but always found very tasty meals, "Romantic" dinners were very well presented superbly served and very tasty. Cannot say enough about how great all the staff were.

Room Tip: Get a room in building one if you want to retire early, it is the furthest from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppoMexico, Gerente at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thaking the time to write a review for other travelers to read. I am very pleased you said that our staff is great , Iwill share with all your comment. We certainly hope to have you stay with us during a future vacation to Nuevo Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Second time to stay here. Very different from last year. Last year there were many more tourists. This year, there is a large group of local kids with minimal supervision. If the adults are with them, they lead the shouts. When the group shows up on beach, it's so bad the tourists leave. After midnight is when they come out to play again on the beach, knocking over lounges and chairs. Hotel has done nothing to quiet them. Nice rooms, great beach. Food is better than last year. Staff is nice, but only when they are not helping the big groups of But hotel does nothing to stop the noise or parties that start after midnight. Surprised FUNJET offers this as a choice.

Room Tip: If you like to get ANY sleep at all go elsewhere. They were warned I was writing review multiple ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here in feb and it was a great experience , very few guests lots of pallapa's and chairs. Did not have to deal with the selfish tourists that put towels on beach chairs and think they own them for the day. Staff were excellent. Private dinner on the beach was the coolest experience ever. views from the rooms are the best. very esy to take taxi or cab into PV.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view for sure the windows open up so you actually have an unubstructed view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.2 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#25 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
0.6 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites

Property: Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Address: Retorno Nayarit Lote 83 / 84, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is an all-inclusive hotel at one of the best beaches in Nuevo Vallarta. It is the ideal hotel for a family vacation. Hotel Villa Varadero is located in beautifully serene Nuevo Vallarta on Mexico's west coast known as the Riviera Nayarit. Nuevo Vallarta is only 25 minutes from the nightlife, cultural spots, and shopping of Puerto Vallarta. It is an ideal destination for a vacation where you and your family can enjoy the beach, nature, and many other activities, such as swimming with dolphins, canopy tours, toboggan water parks, slides, sightseeing tours, and more. When booking at Hotel Villa Varadero you can choose from three types of rooms. Most have beautiful ocean views of the gorgeous sunsets over the Bay of Banderas. At Hotel Villa Varadero you'll enjoy our beautiful view of the Nuevo Vallarta beach. You will be attended to by our friendly staff and great service aimed at making your stay a wonderful experience. We offer many activities for children, teens, and adults in our guided tours of Nuevo Vallarta. One is the "Family Walk", organized by our staff for guests who want to get to know the local Nuevo Vallarta area and the marina plus access to the wonderful world of Vallarta Adventures. Another option is our guided "Bike Ride Tour" that meanders through the streets of Nuevo Vallarta. Also, from our beach you can go kayaking, play volleyball or beach soccer - all enhancing your fun at the Villa Varadero beach. For those who prefer the shade, you can enjoy a good game of billiards with friends, or some fun board games in our game room. To relax, enjoy a sublime massage at the edge of the beach - the best way to start a holiday! During the day our restaurants offer a varied and tasty buffet style menu, and at night our specialty restaurant will delight you with its cuisine and ambiance. Explore Nuevo Vallarta and its surroundings. They are sure to make you fall in love with our beautiful destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varadero Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Villa Varadero Hotel And Suites
Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing