We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Family Time - Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Varadero
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed five nights, Mar 23-28/11, two families with children 6, 8, 8, 9,12. We each had the all-inclusive with the family suite. We enjoy our drinks and cervezas so made sense to us to do the AI (and the ease of drinks/food for the kids.) After five nights at a busy hotel zone resort, I really enjoyed the simple, quiet time here (no line ups!). The beach was clean and beautiful (with lifeguard), chairs plentiful, the kids swam in the pool. Everything is only a few steps away so is very convenient. I loved the mexican charm of our room and the resort. The food was great for breakfast and lunch (lunch you can serve yourself from the beach snack bar and a few stairs up to the restaurant and still return to the beach or outside area). The cafeteria feel of the restaurant wasn't great for dinner but the food was still of good quality and always had choices of two proteins, two starch, hot veggie, buns and salad bar. The waiter service of the young fellows was outstanding! My husband and I did the specialty sunset dinner at Drake's (the beachside snack bar) and it was very good. This hotel is a favourite of nationals but there are canadian/americans holidaying who want more of a off-the-beaten track, less mega-resort americanized holiday. To the north were nice private condos, to the south was the HUGE Grand Mayan complex. Buy your silver from LUIS, the Villa Varadero silver salesman - extremely nice man. Try the CADILLAC margarita at Eddies!!

Room Tip: A quick marina walk to Vallarta Adventures and OXO
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially as there were so many of you! Thank you for describing your stay in detail and mentioning what you did like in particular. Glad you were able to enjoy our Specialty Dinner! It's a favorite of ours, too. We are always proud that we are a Mexican hotel with international guests. Thank you for being part of our story and we hope to see you here again on your next trip to Vallarta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 905 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Breakfast is the only enjoyable meal, i would not purchase all inclusive. Beds are extremely uncomfortable and only one tv in family suite. I read reviews about the beds on Tripadvisor but never thought they would be that hard. Suited for families with very small children, seems to be children crying or screaming most of the day. Parents of young children would be comfortable there. Not suited for teenagers. Restaurant staff were very nice, reception were ok. Didn't seem too interested in anyone other than their Mexican guests. Never spoke english when announcing events. Not much close by so had to take bus and it was a bit of ride each way. Puerto Vallarta would be better for families with older children.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Although we are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with your family, we are grateful you let others know about your experience and what kind of guests you feel would be best suited for the area. We welcome all our guests and hope each one has a wonderful time; we are sorry you did not fully enjoy yours.

We wish you well on your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We just returned from a week stay at the Villa Varadero.

We chose the all inclusive plan. Breakfast was great. Lots of delicious options. Snack was pretty good. It consisted of nachos, fries, hamburgers, hot dogs and salads. This was a great option for our two young kids. They ate a lot during this period (12:30- 5:30) They served a hot lunch around 2:30-5:30. It was okay, Dinner was alright. Sometimes they had things we liked, and sometimes we didn't really like dinner as well. The dinner food could use a little improvement. Considering the price we paid to for the all-inclusive, it was still really good value. Drinks were delicious. The kids had non-alcoholic pink panthers all week. We all loved those to death.

Parts of the hotel are older. We stayed in an older room. The view was nice and the room was clean so we didn't mind that it was older. Beds are hard. We got used to them after a few nights. It was pretty quiet while were there. A mixture of families and couples. Young and older. The day we left the hotel was sold out and a lot of families arrived. There were a lots and lots of kids that came in. It just seemed packed near everything and we were glad we were able to stay during a week that wasn't as busy. I know it would have been less enjoyable if were there with so many other families at the same time. It was very loud the last couple of nights were there because a family group with 6 or 7 kids came in on our floor and they were very loud in the halls after 10pm and around 7 am. They don't have clocks in the rooms. It's just not as customary to have clocks around. We forgot to bring a watch and left our phones at home. So it was hard finding out what time it was. Definitely bring a watch or small clock.

The staff was friendly and great.

The location is gorgeous. A nice long unpopulated beach with a pier. You can walk up the beach to a little flea market. The hotel is right near Vallarta adventures. The activities director took us on a nature walk which was lovely. There aren't many restaurants or shopping options in walking distance. It's pretty quiet. Taxi stand and bus stop are by the hotel.

We loved our room and would come back, Beach was lovely. It was a great value as kids 10 and under stay free. Which really saved us a lot of money. The staff was friendly and the location on the beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciathomas0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay and also give details about the hotel for other guests and possible guests to use and find helpful. It's these details that help inform others about what to expect.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us and do hope that you will return in the future.
Just so you know, and anyone else who will stay with us, our quiet hours start at 10pm each night. If there are guests who do not abide by this time, please let Reception know and we will do our best to handle the situation. We want everyone to get the rest and relaxation they want on their vacation.
Thank you for the suggestion about having clocks in the rooms, we will add that to our list and maybe when you come again we'll have done just that

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

good economy all inclusive resort with good beach in trendy Nuevo Vallarta. Good food with great friendly staff. Close to all amenties in Nuevo, Buscarias and Puerto Vallarta
Great restaurants, buses and attractions as well as the airport close by

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackied6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

For such a short review, you really were complimentary. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We hope to be able to have you stay with us on your next trip to the Vallarta area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My 8 year old boy and I stayed at villa varadero for 2 nights; the room (1608) was horrible, dark, noisy and old, even the windows are so old that they can't get closed. The All Inclusive deal is terrible, food stinks, bad presentation and not tasty at all. Id rather be charged for a better quality of food. I asked to have the room changed two times and they didnt do it. The only big hit of the hotel is the extremely friendly personel. They're great. Too bad for the old, noisy and crappy food!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swaisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

We are extremely sorry that you had such a bad experience with your room and the food. Although I can't comment about your reservation specifically since I don't know all the details, we almost always make whatever changes to room assignments when there is the option to do so. Also, I can recommend that some guests prefer the American Plan (room + breakfast) instead of the All Inclusive plan. This gives you the flexibility to eat at other locations without always eating at the hotel. Many guests prefer to have everything included and know their costs up front, and some do not. Thank you for commenting positively that our staff were friendly to you and your son; we do our best to make everyone feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Our family just arrived back from a five night stay at the Villa Varadero and these are some comments if anyone is interested.

Cons.
1) Food was straight up basic Mexican/American cafeteria style with no presentation. We only had the part-inclusive breakfast package but agree with others that the all inclusive is by far not worth the price verses offerings.
2) Extremely noisy Hotel. You have a large staff who were very friendly but also had no qualms about speaking/yelling at the top of their lungs all day long. We were in a room facing the street and between the street noise and staff it was impossible to take a afternoon siesta. If you have kids who take naps this makes things extremely annoying.
3) The entire Hotel from the crumbling rooms to the cold pools needs a complete makeover. Refrigerators by the way are from the 80's and dont work (tried 2) so buy some ice to keep your beer and milk cold.
4) Although the staff is very friendly to Americans, I do have to say that there were some guests who did give the impression/looks/vibes as this was a hotel for locals.

Pro's
1) Very Safe area. Would even let the kids roam around alone if they wanted to.
2) The beach was very nice and not packed. Scenic and super clean.
3) Staff, Taxi cab drivers and locals all were extremely friendly.
4) Bus system is very easy to use which will take you anywhere from the nightlife to shopping.
5) A handful of great restaurants nearby, small everything store and small shopping area within walking distance.
6) Staff kept rooms clean and were very helpful.

All in all the Villa Varadero was a bare basic place to sleep, eat a straight up breakfast and enjoy the Mexican sun. Would I stay here again? yes, if the price was dirt cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthtrip00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad our “American Plan” (vs. All Inclusive) was appropriate for you and your family. As you can see from our other comments, we really do make an effort to keep the rooms clean, the beach clean and warmly welcome everyone. From the very beginning, we’ve always had a mix of guests from Mexicans locals to international tourists and pride ourselves on the diversity. Everyone is a tourist when they’re no vacation and we want you to feel welcomed. I really wish you had let us know that the refrigerators, which are recent purchases, as this was something we could have fixed while you were here. Also, many of us have children too who take naps, so moving you to a different room, depending on the reservation you made, might have been possible. If you do visit the Vallarta area again, we hope you consider staying at Villa Varadero. If not, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel, and definitely would recommend it and would stay here again. I traveled with my husband and a friend, who stayed in another room.

PROS
Amazing staff
Diversity of guests (Mexicans, Americans, Europeans, old, young, families, singles, couples)
Great beach access
Amazing breakfasts

CONS
Cleanliness is so-so (but I have incredibly high standards)
Smallish rooms
Location-Nuevo Vallarta is a bus ride away from Puerto Vallarta; there isn't much to do in Nuevo Vallarta.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmg524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabyPerez, General Manager at Hotel Villa Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

We are so glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your vacation at Hotel Villa Varadero. Thank you for breaking up your Pros and Cons into two easy-to-read lists. This is helpful to other travelers as well as to us.

To first address your Cons: We hold ourselves to keeping clean rooms, a clean beach, and being friendly. I’m not sure which room you stayed in but we have different sized rooms available and I’d have preferred that you let us know about anything that needed to be cleaned in your room while you were still here. We really do make an effort and would have been happy to accommodate such a request. Second, what we love most about Nuevo Vallarta vs. Puerto Vallarta is that it’s quieter here. It really does provide a relaxing atmosphere for a low-key vacation, plus it’s about 30-45 minutes by bus to get to downtown Puerto Vallarta where it is often bustling with tourists and shops. The local marina is actually a world-class marina and there are shops in the mall next to the marina.

Second to address your Pros: Thanks – we agree!

Here’s to seeing you on your next trip to Vallarta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.1 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Resort
Bahia del Sol Resort
#27 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Varadero

Address: Retorno Nayarit Lote 83 / 84, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $74 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Varadero 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Varadero offers all-inclusive, family-friendly accommodations on one of the best beaches in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. Ideal for romantic getaways and family vacations, our beachfront hotel offers a tranquil, quiet, and intimate alternative to the larger hotels and resorts on Riviera Nayarit. Step inside our contemporary lobby and find just the Mexico you came to enjoy. Beautiful sea views greet your arrival. Many rooms at the hotel offer beautiful ocean views of the gorgeous sunsets . At every moment of your stay, you will enjoy the attention of our friendly staff committed to providing you with a relaxing experience. Over the years we have grown and improved, focusing all our efforts on offering our customers the best of our attention while maintaining the best prices. Located right in front of the main hotel, we recently constructed our newest tower, giving the hotel four towers with four different categories of rooms and two categories of suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varadero Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Villa Varadero Hotel And Suites
Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing