We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a night away from the All Inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime 159

Prime 159
Ranked #20 of 123 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unforgettable dinning experience that combines the atmosphere of a traditional steakhouse with an unparalleled view of Nuevo Vallarta's canals.
suburbs of Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a night away from the All Inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our hotel food was, well, hotel food. We needed a meal away. We looked up the top steak houses and this was one of them. It was great! The shrimps were BIG, the steaks tasty and the wine was perfect. I didn't want to go eat dinner at the hotel again :(. I saw some reviews about price...you have to spend money for good food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sedrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    72
    26
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place makes you really feel like you're on vacation, the setting, the service and the food were all so nice. Our favorite!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank anneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Best Steaks in N.V.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Primo on our last night, which was a great idea. We both ordered the rib eye, which was one of the largest, and best cooked I've ever witnessed. The service and atmosphere were worth the trip alone! Make sure you take a trip to Primo 159.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swaptrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Share your steak, save money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A decent steak that comes in large portions (14 oz.), so my wife and I shared a New York steak at 280 pesos. The waiter had no problem dividing the meal into separate plates. We also split an included side of garlic mashed potatoes and added a tasty mushroom side for another 80 pesos. Throw in large bottled waters and we ate well for about $35. The service was prompt and the atmosphere was quite nice, with outdoor tables overlooking water near the marina.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surreyrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mediocre and Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were a party of 4 and went to Prime 159 because we had a coupon for a 1000 peso (around $80) discount. Two of us ordered the filet which was good and prepared well, one of us ordered the sirloin which was a little fatty even for sirloin, and one of us ordered the prine rib which was inetible because even the "lean" areas were riddled with fat. The sides which accompanied the beef were worse than mediocre. And the bill was $160 even after our discount (and no one had much to drink).

The service was excellent and the setting is nice, but there are much better options in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime 159 also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Prime 159? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing