We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lunch with the dolphins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime 159

Prime 159
Ranked #20 of 123 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unforgettable dinning experience that combines the atmosphere of a traditional steakhouse with an unparalleled view of Nuevo Vallarta's canals.
Ameliasburg, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“lunch with the dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just enjoyed a relaxing lunch at Prime where the food is tasty, the service is excellent, and the "show" is unique, The view over the marina is always great but in the afternoon, you can enjoy a show of marine creatures - - dolphins in training just a bit along the waterway, iguanas munching on plants on the rocks below the deck of the restaurant, and pelicans sunning themselves in the trees across the water.

But -- we went there to eat. Drinks -- and they have a different special each day-- followed by tender warm rolls with herbed butter. I am not a big meat eater, but the steak salad here is a favorite of mine -- tender strips of high grade beef on a bed of lettuce, tiny strips of carrot and red onion. My husband's favorite is the burger of Kobe beef served with lightly spiced fries.

So if you haven't eaten at Prime at lunch time, give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    72
    26
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“YUM...Filet Mignon at it's BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A birthday dinner at Prime 159 yielded not only EXCELLENT Filet Mignon cooked to perfection (Med/Rare = pink all the way through), but also a complimentary oooey-gooey, oh so tasty slice of fudge torte for the birthday girl. The three of us ladies took a short cab ride from the Grand Mayan to Prime 159 and were NOT DISAPPOINTED. Great seating inside and out, but we opted for the atmosphere of outside dining. Our waiter was alert and attentive, and made a super red wine recommendation for us...best to just purchase and split a bottle. We started off with Caesar Salad and were REALLY GLAD that we decided to split two, and we could have just ordered one! The chef split our two into three serving dishes with two slices of bagette for each of us.
Next, we ordered three sides, sauteed mushrooms, asparagus, and a potato dish. Again we shared these sides. All in all we ended up STUFFED beyond belief...WHAT A WONDERFUL EVENING...THANK YOU PRIME 159!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Too pricey for the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was supposed to be the best steakhouse around so we had high expectations. Of the 6 dinners, only 2 met our expectations. the flank staek and prime rib were the highlights. We sent the New York steak back, the mussels had sand inthem and the sauces were bland. even the dips were disappointing. The bread was musty and the "butter" smelly. Do not order the calamari, unless you like hard, tasteless, breaded chunks of something. A good wine list. Definitely not worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank calvinater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our first visit this year to this restaurant. The outdoor patio overlooking the marina in Nuevo Vallarta was beautiful with a nice breeze blowing the entire time. The food, especially the tuna and bone-in-ribeye were out of this world! If you get a chance to stop in here the trip is worth the time from PV.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected great steakhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

So being a self proclaimed foodie needed to find a great place and was willing to spend a little more for it. We ordered filet and it was done to perfection. This had to be the best we have had here in Mexico. Everything we ordered was tasty and well prepared. Service was top notch. Highly recommend this place!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime 159 also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Prime 159? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing