We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,557)
Filter reviews
5,557 results
Traveler rating
2,826
1,549
622
317
243
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,826
1,549
622
317
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la pergola casa bella time share club section mai tai martini bar quiet pool kids club a la carte restaurants kids pool animation staff italian restaurant make reservations boogie boarding bedroom suite tennis courts dinner reservations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 5,557 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2017

My family and I spent a week at Marival and had a wonderful time. This was my third visit and the food was better than past years. Pergola restaurant was especially amazing, and even the buffet was great with different themes every night. Staff were all fantastic and super friendly, everyone was great with my infant daughter. The location is wonderful, right on the beach with super warm water and free boogie board and kayak rentals, and the hotel grounds are impeccably maintained with beautiful flowers everywhere. The main pool can be a bit noisy with loud music and the staff getting everyone all pumped up for water polo etc but there is another pool that is much quieter as well as an adults-only pool. The main negative about this resort is the timeshare sales people. Staff told my mother in law she could only have a room in the main building if she did the timeshare 'breakfast' which turned out to be a 3 hour long tour of the luxury suites. My mother also had to agree to do the timeshare meeting in order for us to get a shuttle from the airport, usually a given at any other hotel. My mom is already a timeshare owner so is familiar with these meetings and left after 1.5 hours but still it was an inconvenience. They're extremely pushy and it detracts from the relaxing atmosphere. Aside from that, great resort!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PrimroseAndQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Emotions Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank your for sharing your vacations at Marival Resort & Suites with thousands of travelers.
We appreciate your feedback, as we try hard to make a memorable vacation for every guest and are thrilled to read you have returned for a 3rd time.
We are sorry to read you had such incident with our Vacation Club Sales team. the behaviour mentioned is in no way condoned by us and the issue will be investigate thoroughly, as our members are our priority. You feedback is very important for us, and we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
As for the shuttle service, as most of the resort, we offer the shuttle service to our members. Although, when buying packages through airlines or agencies you can get this service to. Our vacation club offered this extra to make sure you had no worries during your vacation.
Thank you for choosing us and we would love to host you again soon.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

This was our 5th or maybe 6th visit to Marival. It seems to have improved since our last visit about 5 yrs. ago. The food seems a bit more upscale and the appearance of the resort is even better. We didn't have the "towel hassle" we had in previous years when someone would steal your towel and the front desk was very strict about towel cards. Still annoying when people put a book or towel on a chair early in the morning and all chairs are taken, yet no one comes back for hours to use the chair. The staff are friendly, meals very good, entertainment very good. We especially enjoyed the Michael Jackson show. Drinks are so-so, but bartenders very good and many staff have been there for years. Grounds are beautiful, pools clean. Beds are small and rooms very clean. The time-share staff that "attack" you when you arrive are quite aggressive and if you aren't interested, be clear up front. It is a great family resort and lots of variety of activities to choose from. We started coming to Marival when our kids were little and used the daycare; now as teenagers they still enjoy it and found enough to keep busy and happy. Miguel in the gym is very knowledgeable and professional and we enjoyed his spin, yoga and pilates classes. The gym could use some fans. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Emotions Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Marilyn,
Thank you for writing about your experience with thousands of traveler and for choosing Marival Resort & Suites for your vacations. We are thrilled to have you back again.
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and our facilities. We work hard to make every guest happy and offer options for every one and we appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for your loyalty and hope to have the honor of hosting you again and again.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

Another visit, another great experience. This year we decided to stay for 2 weeks instead of the 1 week that we have done the past couple of years. We spent the first week with another couple that we brought down with us and they, like us, enjoyed the quality of the food and service at Marival. Kudos again to all of the staff, who always are eager to please. An extra special thank you to the concierge staff, who went the extra mile to change our room at the end of the first week into the room vacated by our friends that offered a great view of the nightly sunset. Another thank you to the dinner reservations desk for always managing to arrange a table for us in one of the great a la carte restaurants. All of them were spectacular, with Amalfi still being our favourite. This time, the Pergola restaurant was not available for pretty much the entire duration of our stay. However, they did make the Mai Tai restaurant on the beach available and we enjoyed two tremendous seafood dinners there and we were well looked after by our waiter Kevin. Another discovery we made this trip was the panini bar located in the buffet during the lunch seating. My wife and I had one almost every day of the second week and they were always prepared by the lovely, smiling Jasmine. Another improvement from last year we noticed, was the recycling program that was put in place with receptacles located all around the pool areas for plastic bottles and cups. It seemed to greatly reduce the number of cups and bottles that were left around the property in previous years.
We only have one complaint about our stay this year. The timeshare sales people really seemed to have ramped up their presence from previous visits. I am in serious disagreement with the resorts policy of guests receiving their room keys and arrival items from the timeshare sales people. After travelling all day to get to our destination, the last thing we want is to be held hostage by these people. After politely telling the first person we were not interested, we were turned over to that person's supervisor who aggressively challenged us and basically called us idiots for not wanting to check out the breakfast presentation later in the week. After a couple of minutes of interrogation, we finally got up and walked away. For a day or so, every time we walked past the timeshare desk, we were asked by the original sales person if we had gone to the breakfast yet. After that, I guess they got the message and backed off. We love the Marival and will likely return next year. However, if the time share people behave next year as they did this year, it will be our last visit!!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brimanzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Emotions Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2017

Dear Brimanzar,
Thank you for writing about your experience with thousands of traveler and for choosing Marival Resort & Suites for your vacations again. We are thrilled to have you back for the third time.
We are sorry to read you had such incident with our Vacation Club Sales team. the behaviour mentioned is in no way condoned by us and the issue will be investigate thoroughly, as our members are our priority. You feedback is very important for us, and we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
Thank you for your recommendation and loyalty. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again and again.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017

We spent most of the week resting under a canopy bed on the beach in the Executive Club area. We were cared for by Jacky in that area of the Mia Tia Restaurant. This was the best service we have received at an 'all inclusive' resort. Jacky is So happy and friendly with the biggest smile every time. Thank You Jacky.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Emotions Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Anita,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are pleased to read that your fully enjoyed your time with us and at Mai Tai.
Your comments are our motivation to continue offering memorable vacations and our staff, specially Jackie will be thrilled to read your review.
We appreciate your preference and hope to see you soon again!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

Great family vacation spot. Fun activities. Great service and the food was better than I was expecting it to be. The swim up bar is great for adults and kids. Baldo was always accommodating to my kids even with frequent daiquiri requests and Felix was slinging drinks too. Slight bird issue by the buffets but that adds to the entertainment. Thanks Marival Activities staff for all the great games. Mexican dodge ball was the best. Wish we could have played twice.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Nutbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Emotions Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank your for sharing your vacations at Marival Resort & Suites with thousands of travelers.
We appreciate your feedback, as we try hard to make a memorable vacation for every guest. Our animation team will be thrilled to read your review. We would also like to comment that since a few week, a program with falcons to keep the birds away with out harming the environment.
Thank you for choosing us and we would love to host you again soon.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews