We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited APR 3-17, we have visited many times over the years , but found this year exceptional , the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent , the 3 individual restaurants were especially good (food and service) especially the Mexican (Las Palomas).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing a review of our resort on this important travel portal. We value guests' opinions, specially those from repeat guests of many years, like you. It is great to know that we exceeded your travel expectations in every aspect, from the quality of food and beverages to the service from the staff. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 3,860 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Restaurants
The Italian restaurant had great ambiance and excellent service and food.

The international was good as well, food was wonderful, but had a less pleasing atmosphere.

The Mexican restaurant was delish. The table side guacamole was the best I've ever had.

The staff at all of the restaurants were friendly, accommodating and prompt.

The Buffet
The buffet was average, as most of the buffets we have been to at the resorts we have frequented (aside from the really high end 5 stars)

The Pizzeria
Most unique concept I have seen to-date. The late night pizzas which you could hand select the toppings, were super tasty and the aroma that the ovens gave off within the vicinity was to die for.

Beach
The sand for the Pacific was beautiful. It glittered gold. We love to play in the ocean and unfortunately for the better part of the week the blue flag flew so we were only able to boogie board and really get in and have fun the one day.

Main Pool
This is where all the action was. Aqua aerobics, water polo, water volleyball, beach volley and soccer, contests ... the list goes on. We have done our fair share of all inclusives and aside from Cuba, the Animation/activities staff were the best we have ever seen in our travels.

David, Paco, Abel, Chelese,(probably spelled his name wrong), Leo, Cesar were the most memorable and put special effort forward to keep all of the guests entertained.

David and Paco were also very talented musically. Great voices.

If we were to come back, it would be for the animation team.

Theatre
The theatre productions would be my second favourite of all the performances I've seen at all inclusive resorts. This would be part and parcel to the fact that the Animation Team also
performed in the evening theatre productions.

Rooms
The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was quiet and worked well.

Kids Club
The best we've seen! The water balloon fight at the kids waterpark was epic. The pirate treasure hunt was pretty fun too. We have always threatened our kids on vacation that if they don't behave we would send them to kids club because the other places we've gone to the kids clubs drab and boring and the kids never wanted to go. So this resort was a breath of fresh air with the kids activities.

Thanks for making things fun
Animation Team. David you rock!

Karen and the Painchaud Family

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Painchauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2015

Dear Painchaud Family,

We're very happy about your experience with the animation staff at Marival Resort & Suites, we always want to see you smile, and we can clearly see that they accomplished their mission. Thanks for remembering their names, that's sweet from you. And also we're happy that the little ones had fun too at the Marival Kids.
 We appreciate you have shared your experience with others! We look forward to your next stay and seeing you "home" again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A great place to spend a vacation. I've read many reviews about the Marival but no one ever mentions TINO and his bell team. DAVID, GABRIEL, JORGE, OSCAR, SAUL AND PEDRO. These are the first people you meet when you get to the Marival. They make you feel welcome right away and set the tone for the rest of the stay. So many fine people to mention them all. Have been visiting the Marival for several years and am looking forward already to visiting in 2015.
Al and Sandy

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a comment about our resort on this web site. We value guests' opinions, specially when coming from repeat guests of many years, like you. Thank you for mentioning the bell team by name, we will pass on your comment to them. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We actually stayed here in January 2013. Family of 5, had a 1 bedroom suite just by the pizza place. The suite was awesome. Upstairs was master bedroom with its own balcony. Its hard to find hotels that accommodate 5 in a room.
The grounds were very nice. The entire resort was fantastic. Had no complaints.
The beds were probably the most comfy I have stayed in- ever- in any of the 4 resorts I have stayed in in Mexcio and probably the top 2 of all the hotels I've ever stayed in ever.
The food was good. Lots to choose from. Beach was nice, although it is the pacific so a little on the rough side, definitely wanna keep a close eye on the little ones. I would recommend bringing lifejackets. We went on a couple of excursions, Yelaps was spectacular and the lunch was phenomenal, but who doesn't like fresh, authentic Mexican food? It was really cool seeing and old, authentic fishing village in the mountains. Then swimming in a natural waterfall pool. Was beautiful. I enjoyed everything about this resort and would def. go back if there wasn't sooooo many to choose from :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2015

Dear Traveler,

We're really happy to read your positive comments about Marival Resort & Suites. We're very glad you enjoyed the facilities, the meals and the beach, and Yelapa, such a beautiful little town where you can find the most fresh catch of the day. We appreciate you have shared your experience with others! We look forward to your next stay and seeing you "home" again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just returned from our second trip to the Marival and we were not disappointed. We are a family of 5 with teenagers and there was always plenty of fun and entertainment. We loved the food and with teenagers who eat all the time, it was ideal. Our favorite part of the trip was the awesome entertainment and organized activities. The staff was super friendly and got everyone involved. The evening shows are LasVegas like and really well done. We had a quiet one bedroom suite in building 10 and it worked well for our family. The mexican fiesta night was really fun, great food, entertainment and a definite must attend. All of the alacarte restaurants were fantastic. We had no problem getting pool or beach chairs and didn't have to get out there super early.

I only wish we could upgrade to VIP if we wanted too. I don't want to have a long commitment but it would be nice to have the extras some time. As far as the timeshare/vip sell, we never were pressured and just told them we were not interested and that was that.

The only disappointment was that our favorite bartender Edwardo was only there our first night. We can't wait to come back and see him again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REOMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Traveler
Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience with other travelers on line. We are very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here, specially the entertainment and organized activities. as well as the quality of food at the restaurants and the service from the staff.
We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Plus Marks First:
- Beach Club Fabulous (Jacqueline and Gerardo are just great staff members)
- Animation Crew Excellent (Hardest working man at Marival has to David)
- Very good team keep lobbies and common areas clean - hats off to you all!

Bad Marks Last: These are things the organization needs to work on to make the place and the overall experience better.
- Internet is extremely slow, and even for a vacation spot this is unacceptable. There are people who travel who still need to work.
- Furniture in rooms was dirty and not comfortable.
- Something needs to be done about everyone reserving chairs and not sitting in them for an entire day. You need to create a policy about this and enforce it.
- Sales staff and front desk personnel wholly ineffective at communicating benefits to members. If you ask 10 people a simple question, you will get 20 different answers. That's a problem!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Member
Thank you for your helpful review. We are glad you enjoyed our new member´s beach club and the service provided. We also appreciate your kind comments about the activity staff and the cleanliness of our facilities.
However we apologize for the slow internet service and the lack of information given by the front desk and sales personnel. We will send your concerns to the manager and will be working harder on training the new staff. We apologize for not meeting your expectations about the room´s comfort. We are happy to share that the resort will do a renovation of all the rooms in the grand section during the next low season.
Regarding the loungers, we regret this incident has caused you an inconvenience, however, we would like to emphasize that saving seats at the beach or pool area has never been permitted, anyhow we try hard every day to ensure everyone respects this guideline for all our guests’ comfort.
Please be so kind to contact us next time prior to your arrival and we will be glad to help you with any special request in order to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We travelled to the Marival in February 2014 for our fourth visit! We went with extended family, 19 of us, ranging in age from 1 to 65. I call the Marival "my happy place". We were staying on family's timeshare and so were "gold members". The new gold members beach club is amazing and the staff there are awesome, especially Jacqueline. She treated us all like gold and our 7 year old girls like "princesses".
My favourite after dinner activity is just hanging out at the snack bar and talking with all the other guests. Alfredo was our waiter most nights and he was wonderful, by the third night, we didn't even have to order our drinks, he knew what we were going to have and just kept bringing them over.
We were able to eat at all of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed them all but especially the Mexican restaurant with their "show-like" presentation of food delivery! The guacamole and taco soup are amazing. Really enjoyed watching our coffees being set on fire too.
Our 7-year olds loved being able to go to the swim-up pool bar by themselves and enjoyed all of the drinks on the menu "virgined". We also enjoyed the theatre several nights and the girls loved the staff and their energy.
While we enjoy so mucy at this resort, there are a couple things that could be done a little better:
- make the dinner reservations easier to do, we were unable to book dinners for the second week but the gold counter suggested we email our requests (vs. asking in person) and that worked!
- while I love the gold beach club being just for owners (feels special!), there was 19 of us travelling together and 3 of the party didn't have enough "points" to get in. My hubby spoke to various people all the way up the chain to see if we could even pay for them to join us in there but it was always a no. Surely there can be some exceptions?
I do love this resort and we are already booked for our next time (4 weeks from now - May 2014, travelling for our 20th wedding anniversary). We are bringing another couple with us who haven't ever been here. I can't wait to show and share my happy place!

Room Tip: 2-bedroom suites are worth the extra $, the ground-floor rooms that open up to the lawn and pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing a review of our resort on this web site. We thank you also for making our resort your favorite destination for family vacations. We are very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here, particularly the members beach club, the quality of food in the restaurants and the service from the staff.
We have forwarded your comments to management for proper consideration. We look forward to greeting you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $162 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing