We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #48 of 139 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a local famous seafood restaurant serving traditional Mexican and Pacific seafood. Enjoy our traditional Tostadas, Cocktails, Ceviches and more! We cater to large groups, families with children and pets welcome! Located by the Nuevo Vallarta Marina Across from the entrance to Vallarta Adventures - Dolphin Adventures.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were here 3 years ago and thought we would visit this year. We ate an early dinner. Maybe it was the time of day, but the service was terrible. There were only a couple of tables occupied but it it took for ever to get our drinks and food. We had to ask for silverware. the food was fine but nothing special. The prices are average for the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEX88_03, Public Relations Manager at Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear values customer,

First of all thank you very much for your recent visit to our restaurant. We are so sorry to hear our service did not meet your expectations. Rest assured we take your comments very seriously and shall share them with the team to make sure we can improve. Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback, this allows us to improve and provide even better service.

We hope you can come back again and enjoy our new improvements!

Best Regards,
8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    37
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much more affordable than eating at the resort.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

After talking to other guests at the Grand Mayan Resort they recommended going into town for a delicious, inexpensive meal at 8 Tostadas. They were right. My wife enjoyed the Red Snapper, I had the house special octopus and my daughter enjoyed her fish, though I can not remember what type. The drinks were aggressively poured and the staffs attentiveness was appreciated. We will definitely be back there next year as we were out of there with a generous tip for under $70. Also, for those that are leery of wandering around Mexico we walked from the resort and felt completely safe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEX88_03, Public Relations Manager at Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing these kind words about our restaurant. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, our top priority is our guest experience, always! Nuevo Vallarta is a very safe place to walk around, it has a lot of security and is located within a closed community, plus we are very close to all the resorts in the area, some are only a 5 min walk away!

We hope to see you back again very soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Is a hidden place”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Is a hidden place but has wonderful service and the food, the stuffed shrimp that we tried were very delicious my husband the dinner a delicious grill snapper with garlic butter their prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is super

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEX88_03, Public Relations Manager at Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the stuffed shrimp and grilled snapper! We hope you can come back soon!

Best Regards,

8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little gem not too far away....if you are at the Mayan a Resorts”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our second time eating here this year. I have read the two previous evaluations and must say I do not agree....or .....things have changed. The service was excellent. The food wonderful and reasonably priced. We are here for three months and eat here quite often. My husband loves the Mahi Mahi in Parmesan sauce...while rich...it is delicious. The quesadillas are stuffed with....chicken.....shrimp.....etc. enough to take home for a tasty snack the next day. Enjoy a very nice dinner out....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank N8PWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEX88_03, Public Relations Manager at Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Fellow Traveller,

Thank you so much for submitting your review of our restaurante. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and service. Indeed we are very close to many resorts in Nuevo Vallarta, max. 5 mins from each as we are located in the same complex. We hope to see you again soon!

Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Food is good, but not more. Service is slow.

Not what is used to be and also not a good price/value offer.

Still worth going is you are there, but not worth a detour.

Helpful?
1 Thank deandapedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEX88_03, Public Relations Manager at Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Traveler,

We are sorry to hear we did not fulfill your expectations when you dined with us. Rest assured your comments are very important to us and we shall share them with our team in order to improve our guest experience.

Hope you can return soon and we are able to change your mind about us. Thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mariscos 8 Tostadas Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing