We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,854)
Filter reviews
2,854 results
Traveler rating
2,335
335
98
38
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,335
335
98
38
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister resort beach club world spa lemmon grass demi pool omaggio restaurant insu sky lounge beach concierge bedroom penthouse sea lions private pool rooftop bar beach access vip section full kitchen washer and dryer chief concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 2,854 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful 1st time all inclusive experience for us celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. The employee's anticipated our needs before we knew we needed anything. I will be back!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Distinct Luxury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Terry,

It is a pleasure to provide the excellent service that you deserve. Thanks for sharing your review. We hope to have the honor to enjoy your stay again in future special moments.

Our best wishes, your family at Marival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We loved this place so much during our first visit last year, we returned again this year family spring break trip

Rooms - Excellent!
Perfect for our family. 2 bedroom suites, very spacious and clean. Amazing balconies (we had the ocean view).

Service - Amazing!!

Pool staff - Last year, we met a few of the pool area workers. I couldn't believe that a few of them actually remembered us from our previous trip. The 2 pool staff individuals we want to point out that both provided us with amazing, friendly service were Yalberto and Manuel.

Restaurant staff - really want to mention Guillermo who worked out of the Omagio restaurant. He made our family feel extremely welcome. During the day, he would go out of his way to say hello if he saw us walking by. His food recommendations were always great. Hope to see him again next year.

Food - Average
Unfortunately, this trip we experienced average food. Last year, the food was excellent. My son was sick one night. My wife was sick another. I was sick on the very last day. We also heard from a few friends that they were sick as well. I hope this improves for next year.

Overall, it is still one our favourite places to go. We are returning next year.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Distinct Luxury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, it is always a pleasure to read our guests' opinions. We appreciate you took the time to share the names of those who made your stay an extra special one. However, We're surprised to read you were sick as well as your family. We would have loved to know this while you were here, as we would have offered you medical service and made our research on why you were sick. We have very high standards to handle food. It is very unlikely.
We hope you feel better now.

Our best wishes, your family at Marival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We stayed in a two bedroom unit in March. The unit is huge with a fully equipped kitchen. We purchased food at a local grocery store for snacks and to have breakfast in the room and enjoyed the resort for lunches, suppers and pool drinks! The service is amazing like every other review has said.
Oscar and Carlos at the beach were fantastic. So friendly and accommodating. Sergio at the Sky Lounge was the BEST server we encountered all week - he was so good we went back to the Sky Lounge every day until we left. The Sky Lounge was also by far the best food for our family (2 adults, 3 year old and 5 year old). They loved the small appetizer portions, we loved the high quality, the service was fast and the drinks were tasty. plus the view is the best. Our kids fell asleep super early some nights so we also experienced the room service. It was fairly quick as well and had similar items on the menu to Lemon Grass. We would also highly recommend D-Stock (the restaurant beside the spa). This is not included in the all-inclusive but the prices are super low and worth every bite.
One thing people have not commented on in the reviews is the fantastic kids club. I read a review before we left that this resort is not kid friendly- that simply is not true. You don't encounter a lot of kids at the pool/ocean for two reasons most likely: they're at the kids club experiencing the best vacation of their lives or they're at the sister resort enjoying the super fun kids area with two waterslides and pirate ship. Poamela and Diana - THANK YOU for giving our kids so many fun activities to do. Our 5 year old daughter wanted to go back every single day and while we tried to keep it to 2-3 hours at a time she could have stayed all day. She brought home so many neat crafts (ceramics, piggy bank, penguin shaker, etc). So for adults it's the perfect quiet getaway and for kids there is the kids club, playground, shallow kids pool, ocean, plus the sister resort with it's kids water area (best I have ever experienced at a Mexican resort). This was the first vacation with our kids where I was not ready to leave after a week. We were all super relaxed and energized from the fabulous service, amazing food, and fun-filled week we had. We only left the resort to go to the kids pool at the sister resort and checked out a local market on Tuesdays (that was also close to the grocery store). Thank you Marival Residences - we have not stopped talking about your resort since we got home :)

Room tip: All rooms have amazing ocean views.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExcitedforCuba789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Distinct Luxury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear guest,

It is an honor to read you had a wonderful time with us. We'll forward all of your kind comments to our team, we're sure they'll be thrilled to be mentioned. Thanks for sharing your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Our best wishes, your family at Marival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Our 4th time here better every time. Great food. Great vibe. Great Staff. Carlos Pineda beach coordinator is wonderful ask for him to get all your needs met at the beach. Francisco (Paco) was our sever every day. Hands down the kindest and best guy here. Carlos and Paco together made the trip

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ericsRecycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Distinct Luxury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Eric,

We're glad to read you had a wonderful 4th time with us. Thanks for sharing the names of the ones made your stay extra pleasant. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Our best wishes, your family at Marival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

I stayed at the Marival Residences from 3/13-3/19/19. I got married at a nearby location but booked rooms for my family at both the resort and residences. Between the two hotels, my family occupied at the very least 20 rooms.

We did not do a block rate because their block rates were more expensive than expedia. You would think that bringing this much money in for the hotel would lead to excellent service but I was treated poorly at nearly every turn.

Beware: if you are with a big group, they will intentionally serve you slowly to minimize their costs and how much you eat. They will not stop by the table and the waiters will be rude and inattentive.

On my wedding night they would not let my groomsman who was staying elsewhere come up to my room for a night cap--mind you the guy had flown in from Singapore and I had not seen him in ten years. They tried to charge me $300 to bring him up for two hours.

To top things off, they charged my wife for losing her bracelet when she lost track of it after the wedding. They felt it necessary to take that $40 too and suggested she should have worn it with her wedding dress.

So to summarize if you want to stay somewhere where you are treated rudely, disrespected and where every employee actively tries to prevent you from eating or drinking (also the food is quite average) than Marival is for you. Cheapest people I've ever met.

Room tip: Stay away from here.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank aaryacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Distinct Luxury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments on this website, as our guests' feedback is very important to help us improve the excellent service that distinguishes Marival Residences Luxury Resort from all other resorts.

We profoundly regret not meeting all of your expectations, even when our team did everything we could to do so. Apparently, we couldn't make it. We'd like to inform you that our restaurants are open since 7am to 10:30pm for all our guests to enjoy unlimited meals. Also, our guests have room service available 24/7 as food is always available. There is no reason our waiters wouldn't assist you on serving you the dishes and/or drinks you'd request. We offer you an apology if you felt our service wasn't the appropriate one.

As in any other all inclusive in the world, visitors aren't allowed unless they pay a day pass, which would have allowed any visitor to enjoy our facilities, unlimited meals and drinks by your side. It would have been very important to clarify this with your wedding and group coordinator prior to your arrival, as this would have avoid the disturbances to you and all of your friends that tried to access the property during your stay.
Even so, makeup artists, hair stylists, photographers and several others of whom we were not informed would come up to see you, accessed the property and even your residences. After the wedding, many of your friends wanted to continue partying with you, our security staff detected several of these wearing wristbands from other guests in your crew. Even so, we did what we could to provide a safe environment to you all.

Our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews