We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,543)
Filter reviews
2,543 results
Traveler rating
2,084
295
89
33
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,084
295
89
33
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubworld spalemmon grasssister propertydemi poolomaggio restaurantinsu sky loungeshort golf cart ridebrunello winebedroom penthousevip arearooftop barfull kitchensea lionsbeach accessprivate poolwasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,543 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Our family of 6 (myself, husband (in our early 40's), and 4 kids (21, 18, 13, & 11) stayed at this resort.
Pros: The resort itself is very clean, well kept, our room was bigger than our home in CA! We got the 3 bedroom/4 bathroom residence which had a nice view of the pool area and the ocean waves. Our family was able to spread out and be comfortable and have privacy. There was a really nice kitchen (which we never used, but its so nice to have especially if you have smaller kids or infants). The fridge was stocked with beer, water, and sodas. The employees at this facility work very hard to keep everything maintained. We were able to also visit their sister resort which was nice as well. The shuttle service was quick and efficient. Effran was very friendly. Taxi rides costs us about 20-30 USD if we went to the city or to the airport. Food was good at all the restaurants, and they had lots of options. Insu sky bar was the best! My kids ate so much food. We went to the sister resort beach, Marival Suites and we were treated like kings and queens! The beach side service was very impressive. We saw the same waiter each time and we made sure to tip him well. The food kept coming and the drinks kept flowing. There were more people here, so our kids preferred this beach more than the beach at our resort. Boards were free to use in the ocean. There are some vendors out to sell things, but none of them are pushy or annoying.
Cons: We don't know how to speak spanish, so there were a few times where things were misunderstood, especially during meal ordering. You cant go into the pool at night, so it was a bummer for all of us, we would have enjoyed later/night pool hours. During check in, they were trying to get us to go to another resort for a sales pitch and in return we would get a reduced fee for an excursion, but all we wanted to do was check in, eat, and hit the beach. The housekeeper kept coming at weird hours, a tip would be to let them know when to come. perhaps it was another misunderstanding? If you have small children, make sure to check that the bracelets are secure. My youngest lost his bracelet the first day after the beach. The bracelets are not secure and easy become lose throughout the day. I thought they would be understanding and give us a bracelet for no charge, but the guy at the front desk didn't want to hear what I had to say and just charged us for it. He was the only one that was a rude to us at this resort. They should stick with the plain old plastic bands. I would say this was my biggest complaint. We went to Omaggio and my son walked in with a tank top shirt and after he sat down, he was told he could not wear that there. But, the ladies can wear whatever they want. We saw plenty of women with tanks on. I was a bit annoyed by this.
Overall, we had a great stay here. No place is every going to be perfect. If I were to come back here, I would prob want to try the demi pool residence or get the penthouse with your own small private pool. It is a very quiet place, so if that is what your looking for then this a great option for you. If you want more activities for teens and if your a younger couple, then this is not really the place. Your teens will get bored.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank ashasingh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_ffernandez5, Gerente at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience that the charge for loss of the bracelet represents for you, we ask your understanding to the importance of what this bracelet represents since it implies the direct access to each and all of the services that you had the opportunity to enjoy.
In regards to the lack of activies we would like to inform you, that in our sister resort, there is a teens club, night shows and themed parties everyday that our guests have access to. Nevertheless, we want to inform you that your kind suggestions will be taken into consideration, thanks again for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of having you back soon!

Our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

We love the Marival Residence Resort. The prefect relaxing family vacation. The new beach access is beautiful, with stunning beach side cabanas and service throughout the resort is second to none. Ivan Landin at the beach side never failed to have our cabana set up for the perfect day. We are so grateful for all of the staff!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank ckirkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_fernande5, Manager at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Kendall,

We appreciate you took the time to share your review with us and for the special mention of Ivan, he was very happy to be part of your review. It is our pleasure to provide you with an excellent service.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Marival was excellent place to visit the condo were spacious the facility very nice the food is amazing in the restaurants only 4 but the food is top notch like to thank Emiliano in the concierge department went beyond and above everybody to help us out with reservation and our transportation Back to the airport since we paid in gray line $175 to take us to the resort and bring us back they did not show up and Emiliano got us a taxi to the airport Thank you for your nice conversation also the spa people were very nice and profesional i believe genoveva was my masseuses and Daniel a new guy there he was only 19 and 1 week on the job he was excellent Thank you

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank yoraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_fernande5, Manager at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear guest,

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review and for mentioning Emiliano, Genoveva and Daniel, they were very happy to read your kind comments. It is a true pleasure to assist you during your holidays. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

The Penthouse room is well worth it, very spacious, very convenient pool. We did not leave the property our entire stay. The food at all the restaurants was excellent and we had excellent service everywhere. My room service order was screwed up once and they fixed it in about 5 minutes.
I do suggest they relax on their sales, during the check-in procedure a guy with a cane would not take no for an answer on trying to get us to go for the usual 3 hour "tour" to sell you time share. It probably took a good 7 times of saying no and my tone was already angry by the third time.
Also our package included some "free" pictures with a possible upsell. When we went to pick up the pictures it was a deception, as you only received the "free" ones if you purchase a $100 package - also not cool, when they made it clear there was a free option with no compromise.
Overall it was good, but I find there is no need for these types of gimmicks at a prestigious place.

Room Tip: all of the penthouse rooms will have at least an angled view of the ocean
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnriqueF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_fernande5, Gerente at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Enrique,

We are glad that you enjoyed your penthouse room and your stay after the little misunderstanding with the photo album. The 10 photos included in your package as you saw did not have an extra charge, they were truly included in your Family Emotion program.

In regards to the "sales guy" you mentioned, we are sorry you felt uncomfortable with the sales approach of our Vacation Club team. Your experience is our priority and we do not condone this behavior in any way. We assure you that we will also be revising our processes and take measures to make sure this situation is not to be repeated.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back!
Our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Marival Residence is the perfect destination choice for an all inclusive LUXURY family vacation in Nuevo Vallarta. This 4 diamond rated resort boasts fabulous service, ambiance, and truly is all inclusive gourmet. The accommodations are also top notch! Our family enjoyed our 7 night stay in our spacious 1 bedroom ocean view residence with 1400sq ft of living space. What’s not to love?

Accommodations/ Residence Rooms-10/10
Marival Residence has thought of it all. Full size kitchens with high end finishes and even a washer and dryer are in your room. Kids will also find a little turtle step stool in the bathroom making them feel right at home along with L Occtaine bath products making you feel like you’re in a spa . Be sure to try the pillow menu! Turn down service is also provided nightly. Room service of course is available 24 hours. (10% surcharge paid at checkout) No biggie! We would recommend the chocolate cake. Yum! The ocean view rooms are breathtaking. We enjoyed being on the 5th floor in the main building. Next time, we may splurge for penthouse.

Pools-At the main resort, the main pool area is divided into 3 sections all of which are kid friendly. Young children would love the zero depth pool to wade around and soak In the sun. There’s also a splash area with water fountain features to keep you cool. Our five year old liked the pool in the middle that had a zero depth beach entry as well as a deeper section to swim. You will even have poolside conceirge and waiter service. Felix, pool conceirge, makes sure you have everything you need from a fresh cold aromatherapy towel to a good book to read and of course clean sunnies! It’s truly a FIVE STAR experience!
You also have waiter service and all the staff is phenomenal. Anything you want they provide. We enjoyed the lemon grass menu poolside.

Most of our days we went to the newly opened private beach club MozzMare and enjoyed the infinity pool with beautiful views of the ocean. This is only a 4 minute walk or go to the bellboy desk and they will take you by golf cart. Our daughter loved being shuttled. You are instantly greeted by friendly familiar faces Victor, Ernesto, - beach and pool conceirge and butlers who are ready to make sure you have the BEST day! They will make sure you have the perfect setup whether that is by the pool or on the beach. Food is again fabulous at the beach. You can eat at the restaurant or order it pool or beach side. You’re drink will never be empty either along with the finest ingredients and top shelf.

Restaurants- 10/10 Gourmet cuisine
I want to start by saying my husband is a picky eater (meat and potatoes kind of guy) and he LOVED the food. The quality, presentation, and variety exceeded our expectations. Kids are also thought of at Marival making sure they experience a great culinary experience as well!

Omaggio- Great breakfast every morning! Order a la carte or enjoy stations with quesadillas, omelette, waffle/pancake or do both!
Dinners are also fantastic here.
Monday-Asian gourmet
Wednesday-Mexican gourmet
Friday- Italian gourmet

Insu-Sky lounge
Best views of ocean and sunset. Small plates are amazing!

Also head up to the pool during the day. We had the place to ourselves. (No drink or lunch service).

Brunello- Enjoyed appetizers and drinks here.

Lemon Grass- Delicious lunch served in a covered hut by the main pool. Opened also for dinner. Each day the chef decides the menu for evening . We never made it for dinner only for a yummy dessert.

MozzMare- Book your reservation for dinner and enjoy another stellar meal at the beach. Antonio and Edgar will make sure your meal is unforgettable. They greeted us by name when we returned, and I was even prepared fresh salsa by request since the normal salsa was just a little too spicy for me. That’s service! The view is spectacular and atmosphere is very beach chic! Perfect spot to snap some family photos.

Entertainment-9/10
This resort I will say is more spa like....again, not a bad thing for our family, but not as lively with music as other resorts we’ve stayed at. Music played around pool and restaurants is a tranquil vibe not party. You can go to the sister resort that has more of a party atmosphere for nightly entertainment or during the day. Free shuttles make it a breeze to go back and forth between Marival Residence and their sister resort.

We actually enjoyed this relaxed luxury atmosphere especially with a five year old:).

Staff- 10/10
We had a fantastic week! Everyone is super friendly, accommodating , and above all professional! Daphne, the general manager, is awesome and runs a phenomenal resort with all of her staff. Thank you Marival Residence for making our summer vacation one for the books! We will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Natica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_fernande5, Gerente at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for recognizing our excellent service and for being part of the big Marival Family.
It is our pleasure to assist you and your family during your holidays. We appreciate you mentioned Felix, Victor, Ernesto, Antonio, Edgar and myself included, as we felt very happy to be part of your review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon.
Our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews