We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$359
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$294
$246
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$315
$149
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$391
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$864
$726
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,468)
Filter reviews
2,468 results
Traveler rating
2,031
277
87
31
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,031
277
87
31
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubworld spalemmon grasssister propertydemi poolomaggio restaurantresidence guestsinsu sky loungeshort golf cart ridesea lionsvip areabedroom penthouserooftop barbeach accessfull kitchenprivate poolchief concierge
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 2,468 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

Staying at the Marival residence right now. Our room is nice but the beds are crap. The food has been excellent and all of the service has been great. But that's where it ends. They try to up sell you into getting some package upgrade. Not to sure what it was because the person selling didn't speak English very well. We have been told that it's the end of the whale watching season and there was still a charter by the concierge last night. The next day we spoke to concierge and they told us that the charter stopped whale tours in early march. It would be nice if we would have been told the truth last night so we wouldn't get my children's hopes up. The kid shoes are really kind of boring and really don't hold any of the children's attention. The do give them ice cream and drinks to give them something to enjoy. Overall it is nice and expensive enough to keep the college kids away. I would stay here again but maybe leave the kids at home.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank lawnsausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort for your vacation. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our gourmet cuisine and 4 diamond service.
We are sorry to hear your didn't enjoyed our resort fully. Our team is always ready to solve any inconveniences and would have love to help with a soft pad to make your bed more comfortable. Also, we would like to point out that we have a pillow menu to ensure the best sleep for our guests.
As for the Kids program, we offer the option for the kids at the Marival Residences and also at our sister resort, which has more kids facilities and a wider program. We would like to recommend you to try it out during your next visit.
As for t whale watching tour, we normally do have them operating till late march, as it is the regular time of the year for this activity. Unfortunately, this year, our whales have left a little early, so the tour were finished before time. WE invite you to visit during January, so you can enjoy the beautiful spectacle this gentle giants offer.
We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. And we hope to have the honor of hosting you again so you can take advantage of all the inclusions in your program.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Merival Residences. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Penthouse with Pool. The suite is very roomy. Love the large balcony, laundry and living area. Both bedrooms were a good size. We don't think we would get a room with a pool as the pool is accessed by a staircase by the door and is one level above. Its more like a long hot tub. We didn't use it enough to make it worth while. The food was very good. Service was terrific. The concierge Raquel was amazing. Pool is great. The shuttle to the beach area was no big deal as other reviews mentioned. The service, food and drinks at the VIP beach area was terrific. Beds are a little hard but we asked for a pillow topper and they mentioned they were all the mattresses were being replaced soon. We used the Spa and the signature treatments were very nice. Definitely would recommend an ocean view as the sunsets are so nice. We ate one night at the resort and didn't like it at all. Our teens liked the activities at the resort. Only about 20 min from the airport. We loved Merival Residences and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean view above the 3rd floor. Penthouse with pool wasn't worth the extra in our opinion.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Dear Katy,
Thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort and giving us the oportunity to host you.
It's a pleasure for us to read about you wonderful experience with us and that you enjoy our fully equipped residences, amazing service and VIP Beach Club. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that everyone in our staff will be thrilled to read your review.
Thank you for sharing your experience and your recommendation. We are looking forward to hosting you again for another marvelous trip.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

Great time relaxing and visiting with family. In my opinion the best thing about the Marvel Residences is the staff, they sincerely make you feel welcome. I love that it's a small resort with suites, lovely pools and great service. Look forward to a future stay.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Dear Ruth,
We are excited to hear you had such a great time with us and that that you enjoyed your time at our resort and with our staff.
We work hard to offer exceptional vacations and your comments are very appreciated.
Thank you for such a good recommendation and for your loyalty. We hope to see you soon again.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Not on the beach or even close. Can't see or hear ocean from the pool. $54 to get from airport to hotel and $12 to get back to airport. $26 to Punta Mita and $70 to get back. Rate quoted before arriving in dollars was not what was charged to credit card upon return. Had to disuse charge with AE. Screaming kids relieving themselves in the too small pool all day. Parents not caring. Not enough shade. Won't go back.

Stayed: March 2017
9  Thank notafoodie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, Director General at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience, it is unfortunate that the situation with the taxi changed your perspective about your stay at Marival Residences Luxury Resort; specially when the hotel is completely independent of any taxi services. They are separate entities and we cannot assume the responsibility of what takes place between the taxis and our clients. The rates that are posted at our hotels are respected in the event that departs from the hotel in taxi. The airports have their own concessions and rates that have always been more elevated than a common local transportation. Also the rates that are charged by taxi is strictly between the passenger and taxi driver which should be asked before entering it as any other country in the world.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the children issue. Your stay with us was at the prime time of Spring Break that attracts young people and families and it is typically a busy period of the year.
Unfortunately American Express is the only credit card that does not permit us to charge any account in dollars. Only in pesos. As a result the amount that is reflected when you receive your bill will be according to the exchange rate that they used at that time.
Hopping the above clarifies any misunderstanding, we appreciate your preference and hope to have the honor of hosting you again,
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Okay just pure observations here. No subjective reviews. The not so good: If you like children and I mean a lot of children this place is for you. No peace and quiet to be had. No adult pool. Also you are 200 yards from the beach, but you have to take a shuttle or walk over a half a mile to gain access to the beach due to private homes between the resort and the beach. Top shelf liquor, NO. If you want Grey Goose or Patron, etc, you will pay for it. You get bar pours. Wine served is poor, if you want a bottle-you pay. Pool is small for this size resort and a lack of umbrellas. Had a 1 bedroom Penthouse. Room is very nice, the bed is like a slab of concrete. Why they have not changed them after all the comments is beyond me. The plunge pool you have with the penthouse is not heated, of no use to us. Charged my Amex Platinum in pesos, would not charge in dollars. Guess what? Overcharged close to $200.00. Lunches are good. Breakfast and dinner very average.The Skybar food is very good. The only reason I gave this place 3 stars is because the staff is great. Maid service is great. Very nice, friendly and efficient. The Marival Resort next door is not worth the trip in terms of food and drink. There are better places for the money unless you just want to sit in a very nice room with a terrible bed. Good luck but I would take a pass on this one.

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of an ocean view. I had to put up a fuss to change rooms due to location on the first pass.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank csolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_Fernande5, Director General at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear guest,
Greetings from Marival Residences Luxury Resort. As your opinion is of vital importance for us, we would like to take this opportunity to address the concerning issues that you have placed.
Unfortunately American Express is the only credit card that does not permit us to charge any account in dollars. Only in pesos. As a result the amount that is reflected when you receive your bill will be according to the current exchange rate.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the children issue. Your stay with us was during the Spring Break high season, and this attracts many young people and many families, which does not in any way reflect how the hotel normally operates. Even if we are a family friendly hotel we would not traditionally have as many kids in the area of the hotel. We also run and all day Marival Kids program keep the little ones entertained.
Unfortunately during your stay we did not detect some of the mentioned issues, such as your dissatisfaction with some restaurants, you preference of Grey Goose, certain wines, Patron tequila, shortage of umbrellas or the unheated pool all of which we could have immediately resolved with pleasure during your stay with us. I would really like to know if you reported any of these topics to anyone. As we do not find anything in our registrations. Furthermore, it is important to note that we have other top rack quality tequilas and Vodka such as Kettle One, Tequila 1800 and more which are compatible if not of higher quality than Grey Goose and Patron.
We did receive your report about the bed hardness and sent you a topper. Since we did not hear back from you, there was no way of knowing that it was not to your satisfaction or meet your expectations.
We will be honored if you give us the opportunity to host you again at Marival Residences Luxury Resort.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews