We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My friend and I just got back from a one week stay at Marival Residences (June 24 - July 1). There isn't one bad thing to say about this resort. Our room was a suite with 2 full bathrooms, 2 separate bedrooms, living room and dining room and a gourmet kitchen. Our room had a view of the beautiful pool area with a huge patio with table for 4 people plus 2 cozy chairs. The service above all from all the staff was excellent, we were treated like royalty. Thank you again to Carlos, the concierge, Jose and Antonio, bellboys, Edyth who checked us in seamlessly, Jean-Pierre ever the professional at Omaggio restaurant and how could we forget Francisco (Paco) who took care of us while we enjoyed the VIP Beach Club. The food was excellent, lots of choice. Omaggio served breakfast, lunch and dinner with a different theme every night. Lemon Grass the restaurant by the pool had lots of choice from burgers to gourmet pizza and Sky Lounge atop the hotel with its great tapas menu and absolutely beautiful sunsets. Brunello was the resort bar with both indoor and outdoor seating simply great! I highly recommend this place for a relaxing and pampering vacation. No matter what you may need while there the staff will make certain you get it. Cannot wait to go back!!!! Muchos Gracias amigos!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this web site. We value guests' opinions, and it pleases us that you have enjoyed everything about your stay, including the view, the restaurants, beach club and the service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    231
    77
    27
    31
See reviews for
796
626
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Marival Residences and can't wait to go back. We had a one bedroom unit that opened up on to an infinity pool -- it was basically like our own private pool. The grounds and all facilities are kept immaculate. The service (room cleaners, waiters, bell boys) was outstanding: not only prompt, but delivered with what seemed like real good will and true friendliness. The concierges Carlos and Michelle were extremely attentive and concerned. We mostly ate in the Omaggio, where the food ranged from good to excellent. We were particularly impressed with waiter Fernando, whose dry wit and playful manner entertained us, but all the waiters were good and really make an effort not only to meet but to actually anticipate one's wishes. Patricia occasionally served us snacks on our patio from the Lemmon Grass (the casual dining//bar in the pool area) an she was absolutely warm, charming, and always remembered what we liked to drink. Local excursions are easily arranged through the concierge. We particularly enjoyed the catamarran boat ride to Yelapa which included snorkeling and on board entertainment by the crew. Almost everyone we met outside the hotel (taxi drivers, even beach vendors) was also warm, friendly, and anxious that we enjoy our stay in their home. As far as comments that the drinks weren't up to snuff, I'm baffled since you can order anything you want as often as you want -- you have only to ask. I'm hard pressed to find anything to complain about. I wasn't crazy about the showers (weak, diffuse spray, no tubs) and Room Service for breakfast can be a bit slow. We tipped almost everyone liberally throughout our stay, not because they seemed to be expecting it, but in order to show our appreciation for their gracious and professional service. We met a family from Texas that have been returning to Marival every summer for ten years, and I can understand why. It's very kid friendly while at the same time quiet and relaxing. One more point: guests at Marival Residences can use all the facilities at the Marival Resort (a short golf cart ride away). There is a private beach (again, with awesome service), disco, theater, etc. We pretty much found the Residences provided everything we wanted, and I preferred the more laid back, tranquil ambience of the Residences, so only went over to the Resort a couple of times. It was pretty muggy with occasional tropical rainstorms in the evening in late June. Next time I'll pack lighter, more absorbent clothing. Since there are washing machines in the units, it isn't necessary to bring a change of clothing for every day.

Room Tip: The ground floor units that border the infinity pools are my favorite. Stepping off my own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site about your vacation experience at our resort. Your comments are highly appreciated, and we are certain other travelers will also find them both useful and informative. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accomodation and the service from the staff. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The resort is absolutely beautiful and kept very clean. The pool was very nice and the pool chairs were very comfortable and always had clean folded towels on them. The service around the pool was excellent. We consistently had a drink brought to us within about 5 minutes of being at the pool.

Our room was on the 5th floor and had a nice view of the resort and ocean. The room was nice and clean and very large. The only minor setback was that the room did not have a bathtub. We had to ask a couple of times for the refrigerator to be stocked with beer (6 bottles at a time maximum). The room balcony was huge and awesome - we loved sitting out there at night.

The restaurants were top notch. The food was absolutely delicious. Our favorite was Lemon Grass - it had the best guacamole and calamari I've ever eaten. Also, the rooftop bar was nice. It was nice to be able to go up there late at night and have drinks. As a beer drinker, more beer choices would have been nice. I got a little tired of the only beer being Corona and Modelo.

The VIP beach was really nice. The service there was great. The ocean water was very warm and fun (middle of June). The only negatives about the beach were that we had to take a shuttle there (5 minutes) and that beach vendors constantly tried to sell us things. Going into this trip I was under the impression that the beach was a couple hundred yards off the resort. This misunderstanding was in part due to our travel agent. The beach was actually a 20 minute minimum walk from the resort.

We did a couples massage at the World Spa. It was perfect and I highly recommend doing this.

There was some confusion at our check in. We made our reservations with our travel agent, Cruise Holidays of Kansas City (Mark and Mimi Comfort). We had paid for our trip 100% in advance, but upon our arrival, the resort told us we did not have a reservation. After about and hour and a half and a phone call to Kansas City (international charge on phone call), our reservation was found and we were upgraded to a room on a higher level.

Due to our reservation being "lost" our prepaid excursions were always difficult to schedule. The concierges always thought we had to pay for them when really we had already done that. After much confusion, our excursions were scheduled without any extra payment. However, I spent about 2 hours total figuring that all out.

Favorite part of resort: Service - the staff was excellent and helpful despite our "lost" reservation. Also the cleanliness and beauty of the resort.

Negatives: Beach was not close to the hotel, beach vendors were annoying and kept coming back after telling them "no".

In all I would recommend this resort to anybody. The service there would be very hard to beat anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors will allow you to have a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of your honeymoon trip to Mexico on this web site. We certainly value our guests' opinions and appreciate you sharing yours with other travelers on line. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the room upgrade as well as the food in the restaurants and the prompt service from the staff. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our second trip to Marival Residences and World Spa. We first traveled as a couple in November 2012. We enjoyed ourselves so much we returned with our children (ages 11, 14 and 20) in May 2013. This was recommended by our travel agent from Cruise Holidays and Comfort Tours & Travel in Kansas City, MO. Our entire family had a fantastic vacation, due to the dedicated staff of the Marival.

The service at the resort is incredible and top notch. We have never been so pampered in our lives. The staff makes you feel like family. They make the effort to learn your name and accommodate you in any way possible. My wife was craving tortilla soup and it was not on the menu at the Omaggio Restaurant. We asked if it was available and our waiter excused himself and quickly returned to tell us that the chef was preparing it just for her. Whether at the beach club or by the pool, our orders were quickly brought to us. Throughout the day the staff was constantly checking to see if our needs were being met. This staff provides service with a genuine smile.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. They are more like a condo than a hotel room. We had more space than we needed. They are extremely clean. Our room was cleaned spotless every day and the refrigerator was stocked with beverages. (pop, beer and water) For a room tip, ask how to operate the shower for hot water and how to operate the air conditioner. If you need softer bed, be sure to ask for two soft toppers. The grounds are spotless and the landscaping is beautiful.

The Marival Residences are located about 15 minutes North of the airport. The VIP Beach Club is a quick 3 minute drive around the corner from the Residences and is located at the sister resort. We never had to wait for a ride to the beach or back to the Residences. We also opted many times to walk along the beach to the beach club. It is a short distance and very beautiful. The VIP Beach Club is roped off and is for Marival Residence guests only. Beach vendors are not allowed in the area unless invited. We always had a beach bed or a lounge chair waiting for us. The staff was happy to set up an umbrella for us when it was needed.

The food was outstanding. We enjoyed the sunset from the Insu Sky Lounge and my boys loved their small plates. We never left hungry. The Insu also serves an awesome breakfast buffet. The Brunello Wine Bar has the most delicious cheeses and appetizers. It is a great, quiet place to relax with your spouse. The Saturday patio/pool buffet should not be missed. They make excellent hand-made corn tortillas right in front of your eyes! The refried beans are the best we have ever had! We also enjoyed the Omaggio restaurant and their famous deep fried Oreos with steamed milk. The Lemmon Grass restaurant by the pool has great hamburgers, chicken nachos and fish n chips. Try a chocolate chip ice cream sandwich for dessert! The drinks at the resort and beach club are of great quality, not watered down. Our favorites were the mojito, mango margaritas and the Miami vice (a drink that is half Pina Colada and half Strawberry Daiquiri) .

Do not miss a spa experience! We did a couples therapeutic massage that lasted for 85 minutes. Not included in that time was a steam room and a soak in a cool outdoor Jacuzzi tub with a snack of dried fruit, almonds and green tea. This was all set up by Hayde who spent extra time explaining the different spa experiences and making sure that we had the one which suited us best. It was worth every penny!

This trip was the best our family has every taken and we have been many places. If you are looking to get away and relax, then the Marival Residence is the place for you. It is an excellent value for the services and amenities that you receive. Book your vacation here. You won't regret it. Ignore any negative reviews. We have been here twice and cannot find anything negative about this place! We will definitely be returning and have found our home away from home.

We have to end this review with a big thank you to all of those people who made our trip a joy. Carlos you are the best Concierge! You and Michelle work tirelessly to accommodate every guest. Reuben, thanks for the wonderful drinks and for sharing your grandmother's bean recipe. We tried it and it's delicious. Angel, always greeted us with a smile and provided great service at the Insu. Suzanna made awesome omelet’s. Hector was awesome poolside and at the Omaggio. We enjoyed being served by Jesus (bird man) at the Omaggio also. Gabino always had a smile when we returned to the Residences and always knew our names. The entire staff at the Beach Club provided excellent service and attention. Thanks you for making our vacation one that will always be remembered!

Room Tip: Rooms above the 3rd floor will have an ocean view. If you need softer bed, be sure to ask for two s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtwigks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our resort on this web site. Guests´ opinions are quite valuable to us and we believe other travelers also benefit from them. it pleases us to learn that you and your family fully enjoyed your vacation here and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First off let me say this is our 15th all-inclusive resort vacation and I would honestly put this one on top as the best!
If you are looking for a beautiful resort that offers wonderful food, grand rooms and great drinks then this is the place for sure. This is not the place that serves crappy alcohol drinks in those plastic cups, makes you use towel cards, nor do you have to get up at dawn to get a lounge chair. Drinks here are served in nice glasses, they even have beer in cans and bottles!! Nice towels all over the place, we never had a problem getting chairs either. There is even a nice gentleman that offered to move an umbrella for us at least twice to provide shade. They have 4 beds there around the pool that were available during the day as well. It is a quiet relaxing pool, no loud music-they have music piped through the resort, low key, relaxing.
Husband and brother went zip lining on tour provided by resort-had a great time! They were very pleased with tour.
Kids enjoyed the kids club as they did crafts and had video games for them to enjoy. The woman working the club was very sweet!
Beds are like rocks so do ask for your mattress toppers as soon as you arrive. We asked our bellman for toppers, beers, waters and juice to be brought up and they were delivered within 20 minutes, just enough to get our suits on to go out and enjoy the pool!
Food was excellent! Ate at Lemongrass almost everyday for lunch. The chicken quesadillas were yummy!!! Breakfast and dinners were great at Omaggios as well. The raspberry pancakes, waffles, 3 chili crusted tuna, rosemary chicken, prime rib are just a few of our favorites!
Insu was a nice place to take a dip during the day and a nice place to catch some drinks at night providing nice weather too! Open till 2am!
Not being right in the beach was no big deal either, ride there takes 3 minutes and we never had to wait long to b picked up. Other resort is quite the opposite of the residences.....was very crowded!!! Kids enjoyed the kiddie pool there with water slides. Other than that the pools there seemed filled to the brim with people. We played horseshoes there and enjoyed the beach area for the residences there. The buffet lunch was awesome!!!! Carne asada, shrimp kabobs etc....
We got our own taxi from the airport to the resort-save yourself some money and take the foot bridge across the street to the taxis at the bottom. Easy walk and safe! Around 100 pesos less-
Do yourself a favor,book this resort!!! My husband and I both agreed-this would've been our dream honeymoon if we could've afforded it 15 years ago!!! We will be returning for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value your insights and appreciate you sharing them with other travelers over the internet. We are really pleased that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay here, and all the services and amenities in the resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had the best vacation with Marival Residences; they treated us like kings and queens the entire time we were there. I have to say the wonderful staff is what made this vacation what it was, please see below comments:

Rooms:
Our rooms were fantastic, very modern, and the air conditioning was awesome. We were on the 3rd floor and had more space than we could have imagined. The elevators were fast, and if you were lucky you got to see a lizard or 2 in the evenings on your way up.

Pools:
All the pools were clean and well maintained, the wait staff was exceptional! Luciano was a big help, he offered to move umbrellas, and tables to accommodate us on countless occasions. There were others that were great too, however Luciano went over and above everyday for us and knew us both by name which was so sweet.

Wine Bar:
By far the best time we had was in the wine bar with Ruben, the best bartender, and by far the most amazing staff member we met. You could walk in and say Ruben I want something sweet, sour, easy on the tummy, whatever. He suggested drinks, and shots we all loved! He is good at what he does, and had a great heart.

Lemongrass:
Lemon grass was great, food was always hot, fresh, and the staff was amazing. We had one night when we came down after 10:30pm and the gentleman told us they weren’t serving food anymore. We didn’t get upset or anything and they sent a supervisor over and he offered us anything we wanted. It’s the great people like this that made us feel so special.

Ommagio:
We loved this restaurant; they always had a great dinner menu that changed every day. I had one not so great breakfast but it didn’t even faze us due to the exceptional service and personalities. JP was the most amazing guy in the place; he was friendly and always looked after us.

Insu:
Great food, great view, great staff. The Chili chicken was amazing, and the pizzas were my favs!

Concierge:
Everyone was super friendly, and always treated us very good. However one of our reservations at the sister resort was booked incorrectly, but the restaurant accommodated us no questions asked.

Concierge at Marival Inn & Suites:
Mariette was so great; I can’t say enough about her amazing customer service skills she was delightful. However Fiedle whilst friendly and nice really messed up one of our excursions. We booked a pub crawl and were told they would pick us up at the residences, and that normal attire was fine. We even confirmed this and a) our bus didn’t come until they figured out we were at the residences 35 mins later B) there was a dress code so the poor people on the bus that already waited at the sister resort for 35 mins had to wait another 20 while our husbands changed their shoes, and clothes, and did their hair. This was a minor hiccup as the tour was the most amazing night of the whole trip. Anyone in to the Puerto Vallarta night life must do this. We were scheduled at 3 clubs and unfortunately they weren’t letting “white people” in the 3rd but that was just fine by us. Zoo and LaVaquita looked after us so well, we forgot about the awful bouncer at other bar. The foam party, and the cow themes, swings were great!!!

Cleaning staff:
The cleaning staff was excellent, not one bad thing to say about them! The staff that looked after the landscaping were such hard workers, the landscaping and care that went into making everything look great was above and beyond.

Drivers:
The golf cart drivers that transport you to and from the other resort were awesome, friendly, and funny and always pumped the music if we asked them to; not to mention they would make you wait long whenever you called.

VIP beach:
Service was over and above there, even when we weren’t drinking they would come and give you water to stay hydrated. The vendors whilst annoying at times took no thank you very well and we got some great gifts to bring home.
All in all a fantastic trip, if you want to be spoiled rotten go to Marival Residences! Between both resorts there’s something for everyone, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and will return! Thank you JP, Luciano, Tony, Ruben, Mariette, and Eduardo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brieanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your vacation at our resort. We certainly value guests comments and we believe other travelers will find your review both interesting and informative. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just spent a week (June 15-22) at the Marival Residencies with another couple and it was fantastic! I probably read over 200 reviews on this site and a few others so I felt as if we were going to have a great trip, and we did! Is everything perfect? Of course not but overall we were very happy with the room, the food, the staff/service and the amenities. Since so many others helped me with their reviews, I feel it is necessary to give a detailed share of mine.

Suite - Huge, very clean, and modern. Probably the biggest complaint we had on this trip was that all 2 BR/2 Bath rooms have a King bed in 1 room and 2 double beds in the other. Why they wouldn't have at least a few suites with 2 kings for couples? It certainly didn't ruin the trip, just not ideal. Otherwise having so much room to relax, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and a big balcony made it feel like home, not a hotel. We had a third level room on the north side so we had only a partial ocean view. We asked for an upgrade but were offered an ocean view at $120/night or penthouse at $135/night for upgrades. Both options were the same layout we already had. I thought that was overly priced and was surprised we couldn't get a better deal given the rooms were not being used. Since we used RCI to travel here, that may have been a reason why but regardless, I thought it was a bit ridiculous. Also - remember to get a pillow top for the bed. We thought we would check out the bed first, before asking for one after we read reviews online, but we should have just asked right away. The best are hard as a rock, so just go ahead and put to request in. The A/C is a bit tricky to get the right temperature in the room so you just need to ask for help. It's not central air, so the flow can seem stiff, but by the 2nd day we figured it out.

Food/Drink - Omaggio served fantastic food with lots of variety and it always tasted fresh. The menu changed every night, which is good and bad (in case you saw something on the menu you wanted to try from the night before) Insu has an amazing variety of tapas that are all delicious and can make everyone happy. Lemmongrass is a nice lunch spot with some great offerings, especially light options. Not everything there is excellent but it's the best casual lunch option in my opinion if you want to stay out by the pool. The drinks are very good and if you want a stronger one, simply ask. To expect doubles on everything without asking would drive away most people who aren't looking to get drunk. We also ate outdoors on the first night as they were at full capacity and wanted to prevent overcrowding at other restaurants. All options were grilled and we had a great surf and turf with Snapper and Ribeye. Also they had an outdoor breakfast buffet on Sunday with delicious tacos and the tortillas made from scratch. Overall, we were very, very happy with the food.

Pools - A little warm at times but then again, it was 90 degrees everyday. We spent a lot of time in them and made some friends from Kansas City and Canada. Plenty of space for anyone to not feel cramped. Also, the poolside drink service was almost always good.

Concierge/Front Desk - They were very helpful and friendly in setting up excursions, car service to downtown or the beach, and answering any questions. Carlos, the Chief Concierge is exceptional and makes everyone feel special. The front desk unfortunately wasn't that friendly and always kept their heads down when people walked by. In many ways it felt like it was an imposition asking a question, even when no one else was waiting. It also took a long time to check in and they were not exactly helpful with explaining how the resort worked. It was a bit surprising because we found that all the people of Puerto Vallarta to be extremely friendly from those we interacted at the resort and in town. We would go back in large part because of the people

Staff - Everyone was very attentive, helpful, and made us feel welcome. Unfortunately I can't remember everyone's name but Fernando (Omaggio), Chano (Poolside service), Patricia (breakfast at the pool and all around) and Ernesto (at the beach) went above and beyond the call of duty. We tipped at every meal and the majority of time when we got drinks only as we left for the day/meal. Those that don't tip shouldn't expect special service and I truly believe they recognize those that tipped consistently and because of it, we had exceptional service almost 100% of the time.

The Beach - We took the shuttle (golf cart) every time and it was fine. The roped off beach area is nice with very comfy chairs and plenty of umbrellas. The wait staff (mentioned above) is excellent and the beach itself is nice. The water is a bit murky due to a few rivers from the mountains running down to the ocean but it was still very refreshing and clean. There are beach vendors that come around with jewelry, hats, sunglasses and more - you can definitely bargain with them and they are also friendly. But if you're not interested, just say so and they will not bother you.

Spa - if you truly want to relax, get a massage at the spa, it is wonderful. I got the therapeutic massage for 85 minutes. That means that several treatments are used during one session - reflexology, deep tissue, Swedish, hot stone and more. They also had a special going on to add an additional 30 minute treatment. I chose the exfoliation and it was great. My skin still feels softer 5 days later. I also got a pedicure that was okay, but it was nice to have the option.

We would encourage everyone to take time to go into town, the people and food are wonderful and we feel like our trip would not has been as wonderful without venturing out. We felt extremely safe and that the people of the city were excited to have visitors. Most are proud to show off their city. We will be writing more reviews about our excursions, but definitely take a look at Vallarta Eats: Taco Tour. The resort doesn't yet have a relationship with them, but it is the #1 excursion on trip advisor. We learned so much about the city and were stuffed with delicious tacos.

In conclusion we would, without a doubt, return to the Marival Residencies and will recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor or higher for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive, comprehensive review of your vacation experience. We value guests' opinions, and we believe other travelers benefit from them as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort

Property: Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing