We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Quite as Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Quite as Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bdrm penthouse from Nov. 10-18. As one can see from the majority of the reviews, the rooms are almost unbeatable. Spacious, washer/dryer, plunge pool, fridge and stove if needed. Great rooms. The staff are terrific. Everyone we encountered was positive and helpful, which can be a challenge when the resort is at capacity(whcih I will discuss below). The shuttle or walk to the other resort and beach club was no problem for us, and we actually enjoyed the walk along the beach to get there or back. Although not the brilliant blue waters of the mayan, the beach was great, and you could walk forever in either direction.

We took advantage of the free Sea LIon encounter, which was awesome, and the Rhythm of the Night show which was very good as well. I very much enjoyed the food. The restaurants are a step above your typical all-inclusive, and I found being provided with a bill at the end where I could leave a tip was great. Didnt have to carry around that wad of one dollar bills, or 20 dollar
pesos. For these reasons and more, I gave the resort an excellent rating.

the only issue and surprise I ran into was how busy and full of young adults the resort was. Obviously, nothing the resort can do about this, but it was not the older, quieter crowd that I was led to believe I would encounter from reading all these reviews. I'm aware that there were at least 3 weddings of younger adults, which were larger groups(46 in one wedding party) during our week. Young adults like to have fun, and why not! A wedding is a special time and all should enjoy themselves. Unfortuneately, myself and my wife wanted to enjoy sitting up in the skybar lounge most evening, to have a drink and listen to some music. Because of the large number of primarily young wedding party guests, most nights we were packed, with seats being hard to find. They certainly took advantage of the free alcohol and were extremely loud and dominated the entire bar. There was even vomit on the floor of the bar on one occasion. Again, not their fault. they are young and enjoying a wedding, but it made it quite uncomfortable for us to remain up there for any length of time. Again, our problem, not theirs, just not what I had expected or hoped for with our evenings. I believe as well that as the resort was a full capacity, the service was stretched abit, so that the wait for food was maybe a little longer than it would be if the hotel was less full.
Overall, a great trip and a beautiful resort with absolutely perfect weather. i would love to come again when the resort is just a little less busy.

Room Tip: Top floor penthouses or first floor walkouts are the way to go at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    208
    65
    23
    24
See reviews for
662
540
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had read through almost all of the reviews of the Residences but still didn't have a great feel for the place upon arrival so the purpose of this review is to give a bullet point outline of the key aspects of this resort. The reader should bear in mind I have 3 little kids (ages 6, 4, 3) and I also traveled with a group of 22 total for a family reunion. We traveled Nov 11-17th, 2012.

The Resort:
Very clean
Consists of 1 main pool, 1 kids pool with rooms surrounding this
4 main restaurants
Not huge but it felt reasonably empty even though they said they were at full capacity which was a plus for me
Nice points include free unlimited towels (no towel cards or anything like that)
Also almost everyone felt the pool water temp was just about perfect
Access to the sister resort

The Rooms:
As most have noted they are huge, we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, tons of space
Rooms are very nice, we had 3 plasma TV's, AC, washer/dryer, etc
The beds are hard but with a bed topper (must request this) they are very nice
You likely need a 3rd floor or above room to have a decent view of the ocean from the room
All rooms are pretty centralized since the resort isn't huge

Food
I was a little disappointed in the food given the rave reviews, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. I would say it was quite good for an all inclusive place, but not as good as most cruise lines which I would give 5 stars.
If I had to rank the restaurants I would go in this order:
Insu
Lemon Grass/Steak House
Omiaggo
You can get food from most restaurants even if you are at another restaurant if you ask for it
We loved eating outdoors (all but Omiaggo)
Portions are pretty small, especially the sides but that isn't necessarily bad since you can order as much as you want of anything
Favorite foods included the wings, rings, calamari, steak, churrios, fajitas, fish and chips
Food that was poor included the burgers (looked good but odd after taste) and salmon

Beach
Very nice
Super sandy and soft - no shells (sucks for collectors but great for walking on - tons of living sand dollars however which live an inch beneath the sand in the low water)
Very gentle slope, nice for kids/older adults
Medium roughness - even when calm you will get some waves but the gentle slope lets you determine what size waves you want to fight
Pretty empty
Very easy golf cart ride to the beach, never waited for more than 5 min even with a group of 10+ wanting to go at the same time
Ocean water temp was great, could stay in for an hour without shivering

Tipping
Tipping is expected
General trend is to not tip much when just getting drinks (you don't get a bill)
Tip when food comes (you get a bill with each meal)
I didn't tip American percentages as if I was at a restaurant (ie 20% at all meals), instead it was like $5-10 for breakfast and lunch and ~$20 at dinner and the staff seemed genuinely pleased with that, that amount would be lower than the 20%
You don't need to carry around cash, you can put your tip on the room for everything so you just say to somebody "put 3 USD on my room for this" and you are good to go.

Weather
This of course will vary but was great for us.
High 80's/low 90's for highs, 70's at night, never rained, not very windy
No bugs of any sort except a few bees at one outdoor restaurant next to the bar

Extras:
Spa was very nice, a bit pricey but high quality
Sea lion tour (included) was very good
Las Caletas (additional tour not included) good but a bit pricey
We went fishing - lots of people got sea sick, it gets pretty rough even if it seems calm from the shore.
The other resort is much bigger. If you have kids you'll definitely want to go to it as it has 5 pools for all ages including water slides, a little pool for those learning to swim, plus some big adult pools for games, etc. Food is just so-so at the other resort so if was just my wife and I we would have stayed at the Residences (except for going to the beach) but with kids and the whole family we spent a lot of time at the other resort
We lost our stroller and a swim bag and both were turned into the lost and found and then returned to us, very nice
Resort is a reasonably short bus/taxi ride from the airport, nice after a long day of travel

Problems:
If you travel with 22 people there will be some issues. These included:
One family's reservation got mixed up and they were sent to the sister resort, not the Residences. Initially we thought it was their fault but then looking at emails it was clear it was the fault of the travel agent or some other hotel rep, that was a big screw up. But do make sure to book the right place.
One room the AC didn't seem to work well
A free tour got cancelled at the last minute so only half of the group went
I wanted a DVD player for my kids to watch movies, took 5 separate requests and 48 hours to get.
In general it seemed like all of the staff, including upper management, was very friendly and helpful but it seemed like there was some management issues and certain areas didn't communicate well with other areas.
All staff was helpful but some had more troubles with understanding English than others so it was common to get the wrong drink or wrong appetizer, not a huge deal but worth mentioning.
Americans tend to chat for a while once they sit down and then they order, I would suggest ordering sooner rather than later since the wait time for food being served can be on the long side (especially if you have kids that are tired).

In general this was an excellent, beautiful resort and I would certainly go back. Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding areas were beautiful (scenery wise) and we stayed in the main areas and had no security/safety concerns whatsoever.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above if you want to see the ocean (obviously facing the ocean as well).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Apart from not being on the beach, this resort truly raises the bar.

We had never been to such an elegent resort. The staff truly go above and beyond when compared to other resorts we've been to.

Getting to the beach is very well set up. There is a large golf cart that is available 24 hours a day. The PRIVATE area on the beach is excellent. Menu service on the beach was amazing. What ever you wanted was yours.

We thought we would get tired of the resort food as we were there for 12 nights however the menu changes daily. We ate at the steak house at the sister property for a change. Looking back we found the food, selection, quality and service was above the sister property (which is where the beach is).

Take advantage of the excursions. The city/country tour to the Tequila factory was great. The way Tequila is made from the plants grown, to the specific geographic area was very interesting.
The staff at the "Quinta Fona Chelina" were super, they answered any and all questions, as well as explained in detail how tequila is made. We purchased two bottles of flavoured, very very good. Nice family run business.

We did the evening sail, swim with the dolphins, and catamaran trip.

You will be treated like royalty by the staff. Get the fresh salsa and quacamole, with taco chips. Nice snack for the pool.

The tapas bar at the top was breathtking, sunset was unbelievable.

And for us Canadians, they had TSN on the TV's,(including the lounge, just ask) you read it correctly TSN !!!! Jay and Dan in the morning.
I had never been to any resort anywhere, in Cuba, Bahamas, Dominican republic, or anywhere in the USA, that had TSN. Hats off to the resort for that. (TSN is the Canadian version of ESPN, not that I don't like basketball, bowling or tennis, but Hockey is nice to see)

You wll not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting such an extensive review of your vacation experience in our resort. Your insights are very much appreciated and will certainly benefit other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed seven nights in a one bedroom,two bath suite. It was wonderful. The service was out of this world. We were attended to for what ever we wanted.It was very relaxing here. The many choices of foods were a delight to have. All the kind staff ,servers, and workers work really excellent in caring for us.It was great being able to use the shuttle to go next door to the other sister resort beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you very much for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value your insights and are certain that other travelers will benefit from them as well. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a shared suite for three nights in September with our 2 year old and another couple with a 4 and 8 year old. Our friends had chosen this resort as this was their third visit. our first.
This place has everything-relaxed atmosphere, good facilities with multiple pools including a kids pool and three onsite restaurants which are excellent,a good beachfront, nice accommodation with plenty of room for everyone and high levels of service throughout. The only downside was an expensive internet charge which for the money should be included and occasionally our experience was somewhat marred by some of our fellow guest who seemed to be making the most of the all-inclusive drinks on offer judging by the volume levels generated. This place does come at a premium price in my opinion but they deliver so if you have the cash to splash I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The suites have a small kitchen which we found invaluable for heating/storing milk and the fridge wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelmurphy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation experience. Your opinion is important to us, as we strive top maintain our high quality standards. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first time at the Marival Residences & World Spa. We had a two bedroom residence and it was huge. Modern and beautiful.
All the staff helped make our stay a wonderful experience. Especially the servers. All the food was delicious. This resort is not on the beach but they do have a 24 hour shuttle service to the Marival Resort. It is also a nice walk. We will be returning again and again.

Room Tip: You need a room on the 4th floor or higher to have an ocean view. If not important, the hotel grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t-lbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for sharing your insights on this web site. We appreciate your comments, as we aim at making every traveler's experience unique and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Claire, Qc
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were there August 9th to 16th. Weather was absolutely spectacular and very hot! The hotel is incredibly luxurious with wide and spacious rooms, fancy restaurants, nice buffet, beautiful pools and spas, etc. People working there are very nice and they were kind and patient with our 2 children, so they made our trip much more easier. Food is like the rest, so tasty, diversified but moreover, it was high class meals like tartar etc.

Reagrding the wedding, everything went smootly with the help of the employees whom were pretty much attentive to our needs. We did have a nice ceremony and a beautiful setup for the evening and our diner.

In the end, all we can say is that we had a very good time and we'll keep good memories of our wedding at Marival Residence Wolrd and Spa.

Only two things were weird... We had to pay for the Internet (WTF in a luxury resort like this one) and there's no direct access to the beach, we have to take a suttle all the way to the other Marival resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaVyA7X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#7 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#2 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 3,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#5 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 3,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#10 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de Los Cocoteros Lotte 53, Villa 8, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There is nothing like the luxurious four diamond all inclusive Marival Residences Luxury Resort", WINNER OF Best Luxury, Best Family, Excellence and Travelers' Choice awards! Unmatched accommodations, a food and beverage experience in a class by itself, a Free Tour and unlimited free golf at PGA courses are all included! Located in Riviera Nayarit's Nuevo Vallarta, this is the 1st all-inclusive resort to offer luxurious one to four bedroom Residences -- perfect for couples and families alike -- actual homes-away-from-home, spacious and inviting -- 1400 sq ft is the smallest! The all inclusive package is "seriously all inclusive" -- gourmet dining indoors and out, 24/7 room service, international wine bar, rooftop sky lounge and tapas restaurant, a Private full service VIP Beach Club, and more! Romance is always in the air here, and free weddings and special honeymoon bonuses make it a perfect place to celebrate love. Families get the best of all worlds with separate bedrooms for the kids, a full activities program and even free nannies! Top all this off with the unique "world spa" featuring nine different therapy rooms and special treatments from around the world and it's easy to see why this resort is rated the #1 All Inclusive experience. Marival Residences Luxury Resort -- A world apart, in a class by itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing