We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Marival Residences are really #1!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Marival Residences are really #1!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful week at the world class “Marival Residences and World Spa” in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico! It was a most enjoyable time at a top notch accommodation.
We would like to mention and thank all of the staff at the residences. We would also like to make special mention of the following staff members who we interacted with and particularly enjoyed. Starting with;

Bell Captain: Sergio
As well as Robert and Tony

Chief Concierge: Carlos Gallardo Giron
As well as Marcela and Adrian and Erika Guerrero

Lemon Grass: Eladio
As well as staff – Gill, Manny, Cesar, Jesus and David

Brunello Bar: Angel, and Jose

Head of PR: Reggie Paulk

Pool Host: Manuel

Insu Skybar: Reuben, Angel and staff

Front desk: Max and Hector

General Manager: Daphne Fernandez

We hope we haven’t missed anyone and apologize if we have.

We can’t say enough great things about this resort and about the staff that make every effort to be courteous and helpful and to make sure that as a guest you are always happy. From the design of the resort right down to the beautifully keep landscaped grounds to the immaculate and well appointed rooms, we can’t think of a place we would rather stay!! Again, it is not only the high quality of every aspect of the Residences, but the high quality of the staff that work there, that truly makes it number ONE!!

Daryl and Patricia Miller, Surrey B.C. Canada January 23 to 31, 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, all of our staff appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    223
    71
    26
    30
See reviews for
742
604
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Nothing could be better. The staff is friendly and attentive, food is fabulous, property well maintained and beautiful.

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing north or south. View from west facing rooms is incredible, but I don't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCindyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you very much for your comments, please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great staff, great food and drink, fun excursions included. Spa treatments were incredible, service top notch. I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYBUGinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you very much for your comments, please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florid
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Here is the good and the bad about the Marival Residences & World Spa.

My husband and I stayed here last January and had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful, service was great. We returned on 21 Jan '12 and met several friends here. The service was not as good as last year and very disappointing (in the Omaggio restaurant). Our first night's dinner took forever to have the order taken and then to have the meal served and a couple of us only ordered salads for our meal. The first morning we went to the Omaggio it took a long time to get seated, have our order taken and served. My husband ordered oatmeal (easy enough!) with a chocolate croissant, the croissant came and not the oatmeal! We finally flagged someone down and he got his oatmeal and said it was the worst oatmeal he ever had. When I tried to get a coffee refill, they poured my coffee and never asked my husband if he wanted any.

We then started eating at the Lemmon Grass restaurant and the service was very good. Also the breakfast buffet outside was great. A chef prepares hand made, fresh tortillas to be filled with a variety of ingredients.

On the positive side, this is a gorgeous resort. The only downside is that you have to go to their sister resort to the beach, but the beach has a separate area for Residences guests. They will take you by golf cart, or it is only about a 13 minute walk. Try the shrimp parfait - it is delicious. Bar service on the beach was great and so are the drinks (try a Miami Vice!!).

There were a lot of activities included and we did most of them last year (zip lining, city tour, sunset sailboat cruise, dolphin & sea lion encounter). We did repeat the sea lion encounter and it was amazing being in the pool with those beautiful creatures and being able to pet them. They told us that we couldn't do both the dolphin and sea lions on the same day (which we DID last year as they are at the SAME facility!) so that was disappointing not to be able to do the dolphin encounter again. We had other things planned and couldn't fit in another day for the dolphin encounter. I was also disappointed that we had to pay for taxi fare to get to these activities. I think an all inclusive resort like this should not only provide the activities, but should get you to them without the guest having to pay extra.

The drinks and food were very good and the room is spectacular - they even stock the fridge w/beer, water, soft drinks. We were on the 3d floor both years and had an ocean view last year and an ocean/pool/resort view this year which was very nice.

The calamari at the Lemmon Grass restaurant was excellent.

We booked the Rhythms of the Night excursion from Vallarta Adventures with the hotel and it was very good. You are taken on an hour boat ride to an island at sunset, fed a wonderful meal including drinks, coffee, dessert (plus drinks on the boat) and then you go to a Cirque de Soleil type show in the amphitheater. It was a great show with beautiful native costumes, acrobats, acts with fire, music, etc.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure your room is at least on the 3d floor. If you want a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we learn from all of our guests comments and our management takes them very seriously. We hope we can be of service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week here at this all inclusive resort as part of a trip with ILT (International Leisure Travel) I have been to several all inclusive resorts over the years, but this one was far and away the best in every way. Our "room" was a 1500 square foot suite with two full baths, absolutely gorgeous. the food at any of the various restaurants was uniformly excellent--like a 5 star restaurant for dinners. All the excursions were included and were so much fun--we went zip lining, swam with a sea lion and took a day-long cruise to Yelapa--a small fishing village. The staff were so very friendly and accomodating. I have nothing but praise for this wonderful vacation property.

Room Tip: the beds are quite hard, but you can ask for a soft pillow top and they will put it on--made a big d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you very much for your comments, please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were upgraded from the Marival Resort to the Residences. We stayed for 2 weeks and everyday was a beautiful experience. The experience was unbelievable. We had some of the BEST meals we had ever had in our LIVES at the Residences. One of the restaurants (Lemon Grass) has a new menu every night and the dishes were extremely good. The other restaurant (Omaggio) has specials each night. The rooftop tapas bar (INSU) has a full menu of appetizers that can be combined for complete meals. The atmosphere is breathtaking from the rooftop with the infinity pool and the sunset over the ocean.
I have never found a staff that is so well trained and friendly. The service was exceptional and personal. After 7 days all the staff knew us and our 15 month old son... and he learned to say Hola to them!!
Our only concern with staying at the Residence is that it requires a shuttle or short walk to the beach. We ended up really enjoying the short morning walk and return home each day with our 15 month old.
If you have the opportunity to stay at Marival, do it!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vybrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you very much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the walk back to the hotel with your child, please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I would like to add to the many comments I've read about Marival Residences. We came home a couple of days ago, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accomodations are lovely, the service is superb, and the resort itself is extremely nice.

We only had a couple of dings on our trip - the first at check-in when we were not granted our request for an upper floor. From our "room" (they are more like condos) we had no sense of being anywhere near the water, but our view to the grounds was nice. They offered to change us after a day or so, but that's a pain to pack everything up again and move to another room, so we stayed where we were.

When we called Marival several months ago, we called what we thought was the main reservation number. You actually are sent to the marketing department. That in itself is ok, however if you agree to come at a discounted price which includes the 3 hour presentation to buy into their time share program, be prepared for some nasty comments about that. My husband and I were shocked at one of the managers who made us feel as if we had done something wrong by booking our package (which included the presentation) under those conditions. We finally told her to knock it off - they were the ones who offered it to us. In fairness, the other two people at the presentation were very nice. We've been to only one other presentation by the Marriott, and in no way were we treated that way.

We let that whole thing go, and really had a great time the rest of the trip. The VIP section of the beach at the Marival Resorts and Suites was nice, and we were able to order food and drinks to be served at our beach chairs.

We had some very good meals at the Residences, and there were enough food choices that we were able to have a variety. After reading some reviews on the Lemmon Grass, we were expecting poolside snack food, but we had some nice meals there as well.

We are in our 50's, and we were some of the youngest people there. The resort is more family oriented (and much less expensive), but at least while we were there, the majority of the guests (many of whom were on a golf tour) were much older. It was the quietest place we've ever stayed!

I would definitely recommend this property - if you know what to expect. You will receive wonderful service, and the January weather cannot be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheHaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Traveler: Thank you very much for your comments, please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#15 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
13.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing