We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Location -
Just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Palace. About 15 mins from Puerto Vallarta and airport near a Marina and some tourist attractions - water parks, adventure parks etc.. A small mall nearby for trinkets, coffee etc. Fabulous beach - you can walk for miles safely. Ocean good for wading and boogie boarding, but not really swimming - but it was fun. Plenty of sea life - rays, dolphins, jelly fish.
Airport -
Upon arrival at airport make sure you go straight by the people selling you trips and time shares etc., they are persistant, and nothing to do with your pick up - keep going out the doors into the terminal building and your pick up will be outside waiting.
Had a warm welcome form pick up, but will ask you make a meeting to discuss trips the next day - we didn't bother as the hotel offered so much.
Check in-
Had a nice surprise on checking in - a $1500 credit to spend on trips. spa etc., we upgraded our room to ocean view and 3 of us had great trips and massages etc., My daughter got to swim with the dolphins, ride horses and snorkel.
Trips -
We took the snorkeling trip with the Kon Tiki 1 - great crew, good snorkeling. After the swim they let you split into 2 groups - 1 to stay at a beach and relax, the other to go to an area with horse riding $, and a walk to a wonderful waterfall where you can swim. The beach was a little boring, but the ride was good although everyone was upset at the condition of the horses and how they were treated. Boat ride home dancing and fun.
Dolphins -
My 13 year old had a blast with dolphins. They were in the water for a hour with them, and the animals seemed well taken care of. $20 a photo was a bit steep though.
Canal trip -
Very interesting - saw homes and yaughts of stars, and crocodiles, iguana's birds fish etc. - very good.
Sunset cruise -
It rained that evening so we didn't go.
Massages - great.
We were going to get a taxi into PV, but got lazy - would liked to have gone though.
Rooms -
Comfortable, clean, small balconies, but big rooms with a hot tub int he middle which took up a lot of room. Bathroom small, and as usual, nowhere to put your toilettries etc. Beds comfortable, and shampoos etc., were very nice. Coffee bad. Plenty of drinks in room and they bring wine too if you ask - we hardly drank in the room as there are so many options outside.
Pools great, with activities all day - soccer, volleyball, bingo... Bar food o.k., but it sits out a long time - fresh baked pizza a better option.
Beach - safe, clean, volleyball kayaks etc.
Security - always around.
Gym - good to work off some calories
Small collection of books and games for quiet times. Pool table, table tennis etc.
A "show' every evening - only worth a look are the Circus, and Mexican night - otherwise I've seen better at a high school production. The staff do try hard to entertain though. Alan is a great guy. They need to include more dancing for the guests, as when the shows finish - by 10, a small "crappy" band starts up and everyone leaves.
The staff - they made this place really special - friendly, caring, took time to chat, seemed really interested in getting to know you - wonderful Our waitress in the bar - Angelica is a treasure, and Antonio in the Italian were the "stand outs', but they were all wonderful.
Restaurants
- Mexican - not good.
Brazilian - worth a try.
Italian - great.
Oriental - great. - Deep fried bananas.....
Room service - fab. Had many breakfasts in bed, but the buffet was also very good in the Italian.
Didn't go in kids club, but looked small and dark?
Could do with more activities for the teen and tween set - movie night or dance?
In room movies and video games not included in price??????
Weather in July quite wet.
I'm sure I'm missing things out, but would recommend this place highly. Next time we want to try the Palace in Cancun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElaineT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,936
    789
    250
    89
    55
See reviews for
1,442
1,425
46
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We also stayed at this hotel in Sept. 2007, and are very happy members of the Palace Resort group. The beach and mountain views are beautiful. The beach sand was very clean and lots of shade umbrellas. The ocean was a litle rough, but clean water and we loved 85-degree pool and ocean termperatures. Not a drop of rain during our 8 day stay. Staff, as always, does their very best to assure happy guests. They still have the Argentenian restaurants, both here and in the Cancun area, and we do not recommend them. But who needs 5 restaurants anyway? I notice that dress is more and more casual, so don't feel you have to bring "dinner" clothes. Bathing suit and beach cover for breakfast also eliminates "daytime clothing". The side trips are always well run and lots of fun. We did not golf on this trip, and actually enjoyed not having to haul the clubs along. There are lovely courses nearby--pricy, but worth it. The spa was enjoyed by all of us. A lovely view onto the beach and great "shopping" on the beach at good barganining prices, without being hasselled by the vendors. I go back again and again to Palace Resorts just for the guacomole and homemade coconut ice cream. Hard to find anything better than Vallarta Palace. Nancy from Tampa, FL

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yagercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Spent a week here in June, and it was an overall GREAT experience. Have stayed in many Palace hotels before, and this one is as terrific as all the rest. Vallarta Palace is in a terrific location, has great staff, nice rooms, wonderful service, good food, good tours, and really nice spa services. Stay here--it's worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nxmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I traveled with three other ladies for one week to the Vallarta Palace. I am a member and have also been to many of the Palace resorts over on the Cancun side. I chose Nevo Vallarta this year because we live in California and the travel was so much easier. We went down the first week in June (June 5-12) and we were worried about the weather as June is the beginning of the rainy season in PV. We need not have worried! Each day the weather was cloudy in the early morning, wth all clouds burning off by 11am or so and the temps were hot, in the upper 80s to lower 90s each day. Weather.com said we'd see "partly cloudy' conditions with at least three days of thunderstorms, but we did not. Every day was perfect for beach and poolside.

The one thing we wondered about before we left was the "French Balconies" that sounded lame (only 18 inches deep). Again, we need not have worried. The are perfectly adequate for standing outside and seeing the resort and ocean. Some of us are smokers, and we just closed the doors behind us when we did. Other than that, we kept our full-size sliding glass doors open and it was like our rooms were a large balcony! We did not feel cheated in any way. If you are a couple and want a king-sized bed only in your room, the Concierge level (couples only) have full-sized balconies. That is the only way to get a balcony to sit out on in this hotel, though many people in the company told me differently before we went there. ONE WAY to get a sitting area outside with chairs and a table is to request the first floor, garden/pool view. Those have small patios with chairs, and they look out over the pool area. Since the pool closes at 8pm, that would still allow you to get some sleep, and you actually can still see the ocean from many of those rooms, just not the same type of view you'd get up on a higher floor. That is the option I'm choosing next time I go, since the pool doesn't get busy until around 10am and it seemed like it would be nice to walk over to the pool or lovely gardens with my coffee each morning without having to go through the public areas inside the hotel.

The spa was small but very beautiful. The mani/pedi chairs are all facing a huge glass wall overlooking the ocean, and though the massage rooms are small, they are also lovely--we had manicures, pedicures, massages, seaweed wraps, and a body scrub, and without exception loved them all.

A couple of complaints: they take away your bathrobes the night BEFORE you check out which for some reason really irritated me. The service beach-side was very slow until we asked the waitress to speed it up a bit--we love cocktails! After that it got better. And most importantly, we had incentive dollars and a discount for being members, but they were not applied correctly, so our bill was wrong when we checked out and it took about an hour to get it corrected. Irritating, but it did get fixed.

One last reminder when traveling to Mexico: when you step off the plane and enter the airport going INTO Mexico, many, many people will try to convince you to use their taxi services, trip planning services, etc. Please know that Mexican airports are PRIVATE for-profit businesses on that side (with tourists coming into Mexico). Ignore tem all and continue to the waiting area where your shuttle is waiting. When you return to the airport to leave Mexico, those are public employees who do just want to help you get your bags into the right spot. Feel free to use their services for nothing more than a tip if you want.

All in all, we had a lovely time. We enjoyed the hokey nightly shows, the kareoke and the band...the daily entertainment at the pool was hilarious. You'll be well-taken care of at the Palace in Nuevo Vallarta! Oh, and DO THE ZIP-LINE! It's a terrific time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MexicoLadyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We had a great time at this hotel. The Public Relations and Guest Services Staff were excellent. Angie in Public Relations and her staff went out of their way to accommodate a surprise birthday party for my daughter. We just gave her the party supplies and they took care of everything- from decorations to having the whole restaurant staff come out to sing Happy Birthday for my daughter. They even made and decorated a birthday cake in the shape of a horse (with candles and the works) because my daughter loves horses. They were very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurechallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Loved it! Just visited last week during memorial day week. My wife and I were married there and stayed over a week. Service was truly outstanding. The rooms were very nice and clean. The beach is beautiful and the staff catered to our every need.Food and drinks were plentiful. The place is awesome. Truly the best vacation we've been on in a long time.The only thing I can say bad is the workers in the spa seemed to have an attitude problem. If you are getting married there please ask for Angeles. She is the greatest. She took care of every thing we could have asked for. Love the resort and the staff is so helpful. I can't wait to return. LOVED it!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the Vallarta Palace in April, along with many family members and friends, to attend my cousin's beautiful beach wedding. It was fabulous and we are already planning another trip!

We decided to upgrade to a concierge level room after reading some past reviews of the hotel. We would definitely do this again! We loved the aromatherapy, nightly chocolates, pillow menu, and included massages! We did get a room with a larger balcony (enough room for 2 chairs and a small table), and we did enjoy this - although we weren't in our room enough to make this a must have. But beware that not all concierge level rooms have the larger balcony - my sister and her husband still had a small balcony.

Overall the food was very good (favorites include the pizzas made-to-order by the pool & the beef medallion at the Italian restaurant). The service was absolutely top-notch (Angelica is the best pool-side waitress ever!). And the drinks quite tastey (I recommend margaritas made by Gil in the lobby bar - awesome!).

Loved, loved, loved it & can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank occasionaltraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double hydro spa tubs, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children's pool, beach volleyball court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa(R), a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing