We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pick for a Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Pick for a Honeymoon”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our Honeymoon, but this was not where we had originally made reservations. We arrived in PV with a reservation at the Westin...and it was absoalutely terrible. We had a room with a balcony jacuzzi, which was filthy. They put us in a room with a pass-thr door to another guest room, with tile floors, so all hours of the night we could hear the screaming children packed into the room next door, and every word out of the parents' mouths. The hotel was nearly empty, and they put us in a room with a shared door? Anyway, after very nicely complaining and asking to be moved, and after the Westin's swift refusal, we decided to go check out Vallarta Palace...

Upon arrival, I almost cried I was so happy with the service, cleanliness, and goregous rooms and views, after getting such horrible service at Westin. We explained our problem to the hotel, and they showed us all facilities, the room we would stay in, and explained provided services to us before we switched over. When we came back with our luggage, the staff was amazing, we were greeted in the lobby with champagne and fresh juice, and were sent on our way to enjoy.

The room was spectacular. A bit on the small side, but we didn't need much more. Stocked full of alcohol, a fridge with drinks and mixers, an amazing 2 person jacuzzi (my husband is a big guy...it fit us both easily!) and the cleanest bathroom I've seen at a hotel. A glass-walled balcony overlooking the pool and ocean, and easily seen from the bed.

The 24 hour room service is the fastest and most efficient I've ever encountered. The Asian cuisine was by far the best, but the Brazilian restaurant and the Italian are not bad either. Across the street outside the hotel is the Paradise Village shopping center and there are some AWESOME little restaurants upstairs in the mini-mall, and a Dominos and McDonalds if you're missing "American" food.

The pool is nice, always clean. Pool drinks service is great, request the brnad of alcohol you want or you'll get a headache from the cheap tequila!

If you go on the honeymoon package, definitely upgrade your 25 min massages to the 50 min. Worth it.

The absolute BEST day of our trip was when we went with Vallarta Adventures to Las Caletas...book through the palapa by the pool at the hotel and you'll get a discount. Worth every penny!

Great for honeymooners as its located in Nuevo Vallarta and we weren't looking for hopping night-life. Easy 15 min cab ride to DT or Marina though.

Will definitely recommend to others and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsayjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,103
    830
    260
    91
    59
See reviews for
1,585
1,472
47
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We traveled to Vallarta Palace in 2008 and had a great time! The pool was great, beach nice. The water in the pool and ocean was a bit chilly but nice.
The food was great. We LOVED every reservation restaurant and try the apple juice...I don't know where they get this but it's awesome!
The rooms were very nice and updated and the bedding was clean and comfortable. They kept our mini fridge stocked and a new towel decoration every day. We tipped the cleaning person as we always do and never had any problems.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Vallarta Palace and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We went for Christmas and I can't find one bad thing to say about this place, we'll go back again.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren_in_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The Vallarta Palace is a beautiful modern-type hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. Each room has its own double jacuzzi that worked great and each shower had strong pressure as well. The staff is wonderful and works so hard to make sure that everything is perfect. The food was good. I cannot say it was fabulous, but it is an all-inclusive and you cannot expect it to be. There was always something that you could find that would suit your appetite. The hut on the beach always had great lunch fare. We tried the Asian restaurant our last night and it was probably our best meal. This is a small resort. The only major dissappointment was lack of entertainment for the evening. I saw two of the shows, which were not very good. There was a band in the lobby bar that was good, but other than that there is not much going on in the evening time. I have to say the biggest dissapointment is the water in this region. It is not clear at all and reminds me of the local beaches off the mid-Atlantic except with Palm trees. It is beautiful to look at the sea though with the mountains nearby. Do not book an excursion that is mainly for snorkeling because you will not be able to see a thing. The water is not clear enough. We did book an all-day sailing trip, which was absolutely fabulous, but snorkeling was a joke. The hotel was grand and nice. I am glad we tried it, but I will stick to the Gulf/Carribean side of Mexico from now on because I love the crystal blue waters.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We are "Palace" members and have stayed at nearly every Palace resort in Mexico. Vallarta Palace had the BEST beach of any of them. They have boogie boards for loan. Service was LACKING as compared to Cancun's other Palace resorts, however the staff was still friendly. The rooms are much smaller than Cancun, and have no room for roll-a-way beds---making 4 people in a room uncomfortable for sleeping. View from room was fantastic with great sunsets. Food was better than most of Cancun's Palace resorts---same menus, but tasted better.
TOURS--- we did Catamaran Snorkeling trip which was fantastic. We chose to go horseback riding to the waterfall in the fishing village of Quimixto. $15/person (45 mins RT)---well worth the $, as the villagers are so poor and need the $. Take extra $ to buy shells from the poor kids selling shells. Bring your own snorkles/mask if you own them as they charge $10/person for 40 mins of snorkeling.
We also did the Channel tour which was very interesting--well worth two hours of our time.
The BEST thing we did was walked down the beach (about 5 mins--to the right as you face the water) where there is a sea turtle sanctuary. Before sunset, you can release the baby sea turtles that hatched that day. It was so much fun to watch the turtles scamper towards the waves---they request a $2 donation.
Overall, we had a great time, and will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeLoveMexico00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Am member and throughly enjoy palace program!! However,.Stayed 2 weeks at Nuevo palace,PV and experienced terrible guest services which I will address online after filing a written complaint to hotel manager and received no response. Was 3rd in line one morning and observed both parties ahead of me experience conflict with supervisor jorge and employee alfredo. All problems were prior conflicting information given to guests and failure to properly schedule excursion times correctly. Attention Palace Manager: terminate these people and respond to guest written complaints.Otherwise ,a decent hotel ,not their best, but staffed by some motivated, dedicated and competent employees who always always go out of their way to assist guests. I will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primoWalnutCreek_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We have stayed at a few resorts in Mexico now and would probably rate the Vallarta Palace as the best so far. Great job greeting us at front desk on arrival. All the staff were very friendly and obviously well trained in customer service. The Vallarta Palace actually has a Public Relations department there to help with any problems you might have (more on that later). The rooms are really nice. I'm not sure how many different types of rooms they have. I am pretty sure they all have Jacuzzi tubs. From the time we entered our room, we thought it was perfect. We have actually stayed in bigger rooms at other resorts, but even so, at the Vallarta Palace (V.P.), we had a king bed and Jacuzzi tub, and a very nice bathroom. The room had a very good layout. The toilet and big shower were in a separate room, and the vanity area was just outside of that. The room started out ultra clean from the start, and stayed that way throughout our stay. We always left a few dollars every day for the maid and I think they deserve it if they are doing a good job and they definitely do a good job at the V.P. The maids made towel animals for us every couple of days. Everything about the rooms was first rate. Okay, we did have a mechanical issue with a leaking toilet flange on the second day of our stay. Maintenance responded within minutes of our call. They said they would need to replace the toilet and that it would take 30 minutes. Worried that it might take longer, we asked the front desk for a new room, and within 15 minutes, we were unpacked in our new room. No other mechanical issues after that. I thought they handled the mechanical problem very well, and let's face it, mechanical issues will come up, it's how the resort handles it that matters. The closet safe worked great, fridge was cold, air conditioning very good, no issues with anything in the room. The Jacuzzi tub was nice, and there was plenty of hot water for it and for showers. We have stayed in Mexico resorts where the water temperature would fluctuate (even as you were showering!), but that never happened in the V.P. One comment about room views. We stayed in room 6070. The wing we were in did not have a very good view. While we could see the ocean (sort of), the rest of the view was not that inspiring. Because the view is not the biggest priority for us, my wife and I did not object, but if you value views, stay away from any room 2057 - 2071, 3057 - 3071, 4 ..., 5 ..., and 6057-6071.
Food: Overall, we would rate the food "A". There are four restaurants. Mexican buffet, Brazilian grill, Italian a la carte, and Asian a la carte. All are very good. My wife did have a very disappointing rib eye in the Italian (all fatty strings), but I had the rib eye that night too, and it was quite good. I think the chef should have just not used the steak that he made for my wife. This was the only bad food experience we had, and should not perceived as the sum of our food experience. The steak was the only reason we would not give the food an "A+". The Asian food was excellent, the Brazilian grill was very good, the Mexican very good, and the other meals at the Italian were excellent. Each restaurant had a manager that was always checking on us, and in hindsight, we probably should have said something early about my wife's steak, and I'm sure it would have been resolved quickly. Also, room service was excellent when we tried it one night.
The resort itself is very beautiful. Great clean pool. The grounds are amazing, with beautiful gardens. They have a lot of bushes trimmed into animal and other shapes. One is trimmed to look like a sofa. Amazing, and everything is kept very clean. The outside washrooms behind the Italian restaurant are first class, but the outside washrooms behind the Triton bar have obviously not been face lifted yet, and don't seem to live up to the character of the rest of the hotel, but they are just pit stop washrooms for people at the pool anyway. The drink girls around the pool and on the beach were always friendly, and we never had to wait very long for any of them to come around during our whole stay. People, tip the drink girls!! Think about it, if you are getting a drink for you and another for your spouse, and you give her $1, that's 50 cents for a drink. And if you want great service, than splurge a little and give the girl a dollar.
The Beach: way above average. Of course, the Pacific ocean is not as impressive as the Caribbean side, but we like it. The beach was beautiful, clean, and you can walk for miles. We started on a walk and tried to get to a resort we stayed at a couple of years ago, but after about half way, we gave up and turned around. So if you like to walk on the beach for miles, this is the place for you.
Lounge chairs at pool and beach: never had a problem getting any chair we wanted.
The hotel has free internet computers just off the lobby and we used them every night to keep in touch with family.
Tours: We did not do any tours, even the free ones. We were pressured at first to attend the promo on Palace resorts, and although they swore that the time would not be greater than 90 minutes, we were worried over some of the reviews we read before going on the trip, and in the end, decided not to attend the information session. We don't go on vacations to have someone try to sell us something. We did go for a spa. And yes, we could have saved a lot of money on the spa if we had listened to the "90 minute" sales pitch, but it just isn't worth it. As for the Spa, my wife and I treated ourselves to the couples holistic whole body massage, and it was worth it. One tip: don't spend extra money on the couples massage, you might as well save money and go as individuals instead of as a couple, because once the massage starts, you both drift off and don't talk to each other anyway, so why bother?
So, I mentioned the Public Relations department. My wife and I would like to personally thank Erika, the resort PR Manager, who went the extra mile to help us out on our last day. Our flight did not depart PV until 3 am, so Erika provided us with a room (no bed), where we could store our luggage and get a shower at the end of the day. Things like what Erika did for us make the difference between a good hotel and a really good one. Thank you Erika!
And last comment, nothing to do with Vallarta Palace, but the tour group Nolitours failed to pick us up at our hotel on the departure night, and we had to pay our own way to get a cab to the airport. That's not very impressive, and we will try and reach Nolitours, but not sure what they will do about it. Back to hotel, everything was amazing, do not hesitate to go to Vallarta Palace, and we will be looking at other Palace resorts from now on.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wheelerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,064 reviews
6.1 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,768 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 12 in Punta de Mita
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double hydro spa tubs, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children's pool, beach volleyball court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa(R), a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing