We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,683)
Filter reviews
5,683 results
Traveler rating
4,163
1,024
320
102
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,163
1,024
320
102
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun bar el toro palace resorts zen restaurant rock spa resort credit sunset cruise pool party rock star city tour punta cana romantic dinner on the beach entertainment staff spa treatments fire show zip lining sushi
Filter
Updating list...
3,177 - 3,182 of 5,683 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at HR-Vallarta April 5-12 for our annual family spring break with my wife and teenage son.
Before I begin, let me say the service staff at the resort are very hard working, polite and wonderful people. They do whatever it takes to make your vacation a great experience. The grounds were beautiful! One of the nicest properties I have ever stayed at.
We chose the HR over two other properties we were looking at in Vallarta. We researched where we wanted and ultimately our teenage son chose the HR.
Check In went smoothly. We upgraded our room from a garden view to a beach view for about $30/night...well worth it! We met with our vacation advisor to go over various excursions available. He pushed us toward the ownership presentation. We weren't interested, he offered a few different options to attend a presentation but we politely said no and we moved on. If your interested, go learn if its something for you. If not, just say no and move on. They say 90 minutes...good luck keeping that timeframe.
Hotel-Awesome! Cool rock/roll memorabilia in the lobby and on the guest floors. Be sure to look all around the lobby area to see all the cool stuff. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Rooms are typical hotel size (with a safe in the closet and the stocked fridge) with the exception of the jacuzzi tub in the room, which we never use except to store luggage, towels etc. Bathrooms were nice. Showers, no tub (jacuzzi in other room) Very limited countertop space. Not many hooks to hang towels. Showers can go from hot to hotter then cold quickly. Be prepared for water temp fluctuations. Very small balconies. We pulled the two desk chairs to the balcony to hang damp suits or to sit on at sunset and sunrise.
Public areas-Beach is GREAT! Lots of lounge chairs and miles of beach to walk! 2 pools. One was the activity pool with a swim up bar and water slide on the far end for kids. Other pool was quieter. Poolside service for drinks was good. You can always walk/swim up to the bar. Bartenders are great! Activities and music were good. Oliver, Ana, Lee and Carla do a great job getting guests involved in activities. They were always positive and upbeat. Fun group. Poolside music was good (Its a Hard Rock!) Hotel wasn't 100% occupied so limited number of guests to get involved in activities. But they did a great job getting people involved. Our last day around the pool was not good. There was a large business group that stayed at the hotel and took over the pool area. Over 150 of these people decided to use the pool area to do its team building activities. Ruined the morning for us and regular guests and Hard Rock owners. We and many other guests had to relocate to the other pool or beach. The scheduled morning poolside activities never happened due to this business group. Entertainment staff had to entertain the business group. Hard Rock Management HAD to know this group was going to do team building at the activity pool. Regular resort guests didn't go to meeting rooms and interfere with the company events, the company shouldn't have done events around the pool. But the sales staff and Hard Rock management approved it. If your considering the HR-Vallarta, check with the hotel if they are hosting a large business group that could interfere with your vacation.
Our son used the health club daily. It was right next to the pool. Good equipment and clean areas.
Outside trips (zip lining, tours, etc) You can use resort credits for most excursions.
The activities we participated in required our own transportation to/from We took a morning (best) ATV tour with Wild Treks Adventures. Great trip! Taxi about $18 each way (peso only) You will get dusty and dirty. Tip:take a small backpack for sunglasses, camera, money. Take pesos (not USD) when you make a scheduled stop at a village for a drink and opportunity to buy some food. Played golf at Flamigo's Golf, again had to pay for taxi to/from (about $15 each way). Course was nice. Club rentals were Callaway's or Taylor Made (Taylor Made were newer and nicer). Tip-check your Taylor Made driver to make sure loft is dialed into what you normally hit. Staff has a key to adjust your driver loft. We went to PV one night to get away. Taxi is about $20 each way. PV takes $USD. Nice town and people. We did resort massages which where nice. They cannot do deep tissue massage at outside beach location, but sound of waves was very therapeutic from the beach. We were interested in the zip lining until we found out it was almost a 2 hour bus ride-each way.

Dining-typical all inclusive meals.
Breakfast buffet was good. We sat in same area every morning. Carlos was our server every morning, he did a great job! HR has 4 sit down restaurants. Only 3 restaurants were open nightly. The International Buffet was NOT open for dinner the entire week! Very disappointing! I realize the hotel was not fully occupied and some restaurants were closed different nights...but that's not my problem, but we didn't have a choice. We would have enjoyed having a buffet option available a few of the nights. Had to choose from 3 of the open sit down restaurants nightly or use room service. My favorite restaurant was the Italian, the beachfront location was great. The Oriental Restaurant was good, enjoyed the sushi. Brazilian was good too. Didn't care for the Mexican. Room Service was good and fast.
Entertainment-a few shows during the week.
Fire show was great. We watched (partially) was the Michael Jackson show...we saw the exact same show in Cancun the last 2 years. LOL I encourage you to go, if you've never seen it. A few bands in the lounge during our stay. You have to stop by the front desk and get a sheet of activities for the day. They are not posted anywhere else, not even on the room televisions.

Notes:WiFi is spotty in rooms, better by the pools and lobby. Nice to have wifi available though. Tip your staff. They work hard either way, but they appreciate a tip showing your appreciation.
Will we go back to Hard Rock-Vallarta? Not sure. Of our choices (Hard Rock, RIU and Occidental), the Hard Rock was the most expensive. Had friends stay at the RIU the same week and loved every minute. Occidental is right next store to Hard Rock. Its smaller but really nice.
Again-the hard working staff was great!
Hope my comments/observations were helpful to your decision.

Room tip: Upgrade to Ocean view. We were on the 5th floor. Lowest floors could be obstructed view of ocean. Ground floors have patios, but no ocean view.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank threeputt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Appreciared ndpete,

I would like to thank you for your very detailed review about our resort; certainly I enjoyed reading that you loved our rock n roll style! No doubt there is always something going on as the fun is non-stop at our resort. I will pass on your comments to my colleges, as there are always chances of achieve the excellence, also happy to hear that you had a great stay despite any inconvenience. Thanks again for your comments and feedback, looking forward to welcome you soon to the Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta.

Luis Entrada Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great resort!
Rosy! The server at the pool bar is such an energetic , happy person with an outstanding memory! Love this classy lady to pieces . The whole place in general has great setting, for every nite of the week. Everyone who works there are very polite, couldn't do to much for you , what ever your age is! Well done!

Date of stay: April 2014
Thank BoxerWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Greetings BoxerWild,

Thank you for your review and for your great feedback. I personally enjoy reading when our valued rock stars have a great time and feel at home with the warm and friendly service from our staff. Thank tou for kindly mentioning Rosy, We work hard to deliver always great rock n’ roll vacations to our guests and I appreciate your comments. We hope to welcome you again here at your home away from home .

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The people who work here are generous beyond expectation. Our hotel room was sparkling clean and the bar in the room was thoroughly stocked. Great view of ocean. We were well cared for during our week's stay. Hard Rock Hotel appeals to several age groups. Pools abound. Our only criticism is the sound level of music. It is too loud inside and out. There are DJs playing during the day and rock groups at night. It was fun to be a part of it; I would suggest however, those who prefer a more quiet atmosphere choose rooms to the back of the hotel as we will do next time. They are all excellent.

Room tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are much quieter.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Judi A,

Thank you for your very sweet review, is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, is a true honor to count on hard working people, thanks also for the feedback about music volume, we would love to have the opportunity to greet you back for an other Rockstar vacation.

Let’s rock together!

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited this hotel as our first time to Riviera Nayarit. All the staff specially Daniel from the Desk was very professional and attentive to every detail, making sure that we were taken care of. The property was beautiful with breathtaking views and sunsets, a pleasant and attentive staff that provided exceptional service and to top it off, the weather was amazing. This was our first all-inclusive. The food was very good. The gym was a decent time and very busy in the early AM hours. They offered a selection of classes which many hotel guests seemed to enjoy. The basic WiFi was very good. - whether you are in your room or in the lobby. It was a great place for a getaway in Mexico. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and already miss it.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Danny Clinton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hello Danny Clinton T,

Thank you for the awesome review. I am pleased to hear that you had a terrific time in our resort! Many of our rockers enjoy the facilities and classes at our Body Rock and we are glad that you loved it too. Thanks again for the awesome comments and we can’t wait for you to come back to get another session of Rock star treatment at the Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta.

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Check in process is easy. Our room wasn't quite ready yet so they took all our info and then we went and had lunch and came back. Buffet is typical above average all inclusive buffet with a wide range. They had cooking stations where they were grilling fajitas or fresh fish or steak and then of course a little bit of everything else.

Once to our room, we has an ocean view room. It was a great view of the pool and the ocean. No complaints from me. This is called "Gold" by the hard rock standard. They don't have full balconies. You have to be concierge (diamond) to have a full balcony but no big deal to me.
The rooms all have huge 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. This hotel use to be Vallarta Palace and this is standard with the Palace Resorts. I don't think Hard Rock would have had these if they built the hotel from the ground up because it's kind of weird when it's not a super couple-y type hotel. Oh well!

Rooms are standard hotel room size. Bathrooms are kind of small. There is a nice full length mirror in the closet and light. The rooms have a mini fridge stocked with cokes, beer and juice. There is also a liquor dispenser (does anyone actually use these?) if you just didn't get enough booze throughout the day. ha!
The hotel is easy to navigate. Some restaurants down by the ocean and some more off the lobby. We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the Brazilian. I thought the Brazilian could use some work. They had a small buffet set up with salads and sides. The mashed potatoes tasted instant which makes me crazy. They had the big skewers of meat that came around. It was ok. It wasn't Texas de Brazil by any means. Japanese was good. A wide selection. I had grilled curry mahi mahi which was excellent. The restaurant doesn't have the hibachi grills which everyone seems to have these days so that was a little disappointing. All the restaurants had excellence service.
The pool area at the hotel is great. A good size swim up bar and some activities going on. They had some silly games as well as water aerobics. There are a few slides for kids (one more just for toddlers) and the kids (as well as me) had a fun time with that. There were waterfalls and rocks and it was a pretty pool area. Great service by the pool. They had a wood fired pizza that was open 11am - 6pm with plenty of topping options (but go get ranch at the buffet if you need it!) and there was a snack bar with guac and pico and all the other junk food things you can think of that you need to be eating in your swimsuit.
At night they had different things going on. Each night was different whether they had a live band or karaoke. They had a DJ most nights in the sports bar. The resort was not full by any means so some of these things were a tad on the boring side but would have been more fun if they hotel had more guests.

The resort has a nice salon with spa treatment rooms. I opted out of doing a spa treatment here. I prefer to do them when I can do the whole spa experience. I want to be waited on with cucumber water and sit in the sauna and steam room before while listening soothing music and smelling aromatherapy type stuff. They don't have that. They have a sauna and a steam room at the gym so you can use it everyday if you want so if you like to work out on vacation and use the sauna, you are in luck! Me, not so much.
So basically it's a nice resort. It's perfect for weddings because it's not too romantic but not too much of a party. It has something for everyone. Good service, pretty good food and pretty beach!

Room tip: Upgrade to Diamond if you want a full balcony.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liavincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear liavincent,

Thank you very much for your amazing and detailed review. We are overjoyed to know that you felt the charming atmosphere of our resort and feel the exceptional service provided by our staff; I personally love to hear and read about our guests enjoying themselves and making memories here with us. Again thank you for your review and we all hope you visit us again pretty soon


Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews