We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2006

First off, Paradise Village, does have one of the best beaches!! They have little tiki 'umbrellas' to lounge under & plenty of beautiful sand, not rocks! The ocean was warm & the waves were cool. They have 2 snack bars on the beach-pool area & the wait staff is very attentive. The moment you walked up to one, someone would be waiting to take your order. They also delivered the drinks right to your lounge area.The pool areas are beautiful, they have the bigger pool where it's more crowded & a smaller pool that is quiter.

The actual hotel is nice, Paradise Village says they are a 5star hotel, most web sites say they are a 3 1/2 star.......I say 3 1/2, the hotel is nice & so are the rooms(jr stuite) but nothing spectacular!
The kitchen in the rooms are cheesy, they charge you $2.50 more if you use the coffee pot, they have no bottle openers & you have to go buy your dishsoap from the grocery store, so I would wash the dishes before using them!! The maid conveintely forgot to leave us towels & extra TP the first day(probably because we hadn't tipped yet) and our room was not cleaned to after 4:30pm everyday
.
Time Share Ladies---we were coming out of the hotel & they tracked us down-stating they were the welome committee & wanted to get us a drink & they had some papers regarding the hotel & properties & what to do......reluctanly we sat down stating she had 5minutes to talk........she told us the minute we sat down that she did not work on commission & really wanted to show us what the hotel had to offer......so she showed us a bunch of papers & would we like to book an excursion, she could get us a discount(we already booked one, thru an indepedent web site& it went really well) & then all of a sudden she wants to sign us up for a 90 minute time share presentation. We say NO! She pressures & tries to make us feel bad & then says she does work on commision & she needs us to sign up so she can get her 'points' & then we can 'cancel' in the morning. Luckily some women wanted to say hello to her so while she was hugging her, my husband & I just left!! She tracked us down later & said we forgot our paperwork-we just kept walking & said we didn't need it.....So beware of the ladies whose desk is right beside the Tikal Bar, unless you want to go to 90minute meeting!!!!!

They have like 5 restaurants at the hotel. All of them but 2 were closed while we were there(Aug26th,2006-Aug30th,2006). We went to Italian night the first night & it was ok, it was a buffet, but not much food to choose from & cost about $54.00 for 2 people(drinks not included).
Do not go the the Shrimp Night- We went & it was $84.00!!! I got 5 shrimp, a little mound of potatoes & a little mound of rice & a bottle of water!!!!! My husband had the same!!!
We went to the Paradise Plaza & it was all right-wanted to eat at The Jungle- it was closed- we were going to eat at that Italian Place before the plaza-Il Pasteroe(sp?)- it was closed.
We did have lunch at the Mexican place in the plaza-it was pretty good. I reccomend going to town to eat. We went to the Blue Shrimp, one night & it was excellent, the food, ambiance & the wait staff....we would have eaten there everynight!!!

We did go to the spa & it was heaven!! Something you definetly need to do!!!
We also did a bay cruise, but think an evening one would have been funner & the prirate boat looks really cool!!

We would more than likely stay again, now that we know what to avoid. Overall we did have a wonderful time, the scenery is spectacular!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank pattenak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2006

We were at the Paradise Village Beach and Resort and Spa 8/18-8/25/06. Total of 9 people. 5 Adults, plus a 20, 18, 16, and 14 year old. We had 2 ocean front 2 bedroom suites. Since they were on the 3 floor you really couldn't see the ocean. You need to be on the higher floors. The rooms were very nice and clean. The only draw back is the smell of dampness. It was not just our rooms but a common complaint throughout the hotel. The air conditioning and the ceiling fans help to keep the damp feeling at bay. We were greeted at the airport by the "Olympus" tours-orange shirts. They were great. Polite and more than willing to help you plan any further excursions. I have heard alot of complaints about the time share hawking-yes-they are there. However if you tell them you are not interested they leave you alone. It is only when you are undecided do they go in for the hard sell by promising you discounts on spa treatments or "free"tours. Remember there is NOTHING for free!

We were part of the all inclusive-so we all wore grey bracelets.
This is where is was not all it was sold to us. We were aware of the additional upcharge for certain menu items-lobster, filet. About $7 per person. We were lead to believe that all the restuarants are part of the all inclusive but they are not. Kabal is open as a beach cafe only-not at night because of the rainy season. Mayapan and Telum are the two that are included. Both
serve wonderful food. Every night of the week is a different theme night, Mexican, Western, Shrimpfest, Lobsterfest, Italian night etc. Again certain foods there is a nominal charge. The service for breakfast, lunch and dinner is great. For lunch and snacks you can get service on the beach as well as around the pool. The staff are warm and friendly. Even though tips are included we did tip and it seemed to be truly appreciated.

The beach is NOT caribbean blue. But it is nice and warm, there were big waves while we were there so there were always red flags up. There was no problem getting the beach palapas or chairs around the pool. The hotel was at about 60% capacity. I can imagine the arguement during peak season.

You get what you pay for. If you are looking for grand lobbies filled with fresh flowers, turn down service, or where the staff jumps up to greet you when you get off the elevator THIS IS NOT THE PLACE for you. If you are looking for an affordable, relaxing stay in a clean, friendly at mosphere give this place a try.
There is a mall on the grounds. There are no bargains there. The hotel is stingy on shampoo so I went to the mall to buy some it was close to $7US. The town is quite pretty. The usual-flea markets, souvenier shops, bars and restuarants the usual Hard Rock, Carlos and Obrien, Senor Frogs etc. We have been to Beaches Turks and Caicos and this is 10 times better, better food, nicer staff, you can actually leave the grounds! We had a nice time and have some great memories to carry us through.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank zeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed at Paradise Village from 8/13 - 8/18. We absolutely loved it. There were 7 adults and 2 children in our group (ages 2 and 3 ). We did the all-inclusive plan for 4 of the 5 nights we stayed there. We loved the Mayapan restaurant, the food and service were fabulous. The wait staff (bartenders, waiters etc.) were super through out. Even though tipping is included in the all-inclusive we chose to tip. The pool and beach are very nice and clean, never felt overly crowded. The resort never felt crowded and it was full. The crowds are well kept. The room was nice, our maid did an excellent job cleaning it. If your not on the all-inclusive definitely go to the Brazilian steakhouse in the mall, very good and resonable. We were never bothered by the time share reps at the resort. I would definitely recommend this resort. We can't wait to go again. We have traveled through out the world and have no cpmplaints about our stay at Paradise Village. Don't be afraid to go.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank H184a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We have been coming to Paradise Village annually for the past four years and found the staff accommodating, grounds beautiful, maids competent(it pays to tip), and activities plentiful.
After reading the various comments especially the negatives of Jan. 28 and 31, 2005 and Feb 5 of 2006 I am at a loss as we were there at the same time. None of these problems have we encountered.
We are world travelers and recognize that when school is out folks take their kids on vacation. One of Paradise’s assets is they provide activities for them. Thus you will have noise. There is always the beach or the quiet pool.
Concerning the night manager I can not for the life of me believe the hotel would allow such behavior.
We don’t eat at the hotel all the time. There are many places to eat including the mall two blocks away. Cabs are four dollars in Nyarit or the bus downtown(this is fun) is only a little over a dollar. The
concierge or the bellboys can help.
If you tell those engaged in timeshare sales in the lobby you are not interested, we have found they will not bother you. However if you encourage them they will follow up.
If I want, I can always find something wrong no matter where we go. However we find making new friends, searching out things to do always makes for a great vacation. Planning on returning in 2007.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Ropal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We were seeking an opportunity to get away from a hectic work schedule and find a place to unwind, enjoy the beach and have a blend of being pampered and fun activities.

Paradise village was the perfect match! The facilities are modern, clean and safe. Well maintained and providing the conveniences we were accustomed to other quality resorts in North America and Europe.

In addition the staff were extremely friendly, personable, attentive and helpful. Ensuring that we only had to be concerned about our tans rather than getting the service we paid for :)

The grounds are immaculate, with its own zoo! A dynamtie golf course, spectacular spa/workout facilities and tennis courts all contributed to giving us options; options to relax, stay in shape and do interesting things.

The rooms were spotless and modern with air conditioning that really worked. Another handy feature was having your own de-humidifier in the room keeping it comfortable for us North Americans.

In a nutshell we believe Paradise Village is the standard to measure other resorts in the area by. I don't know what its like at all the others, but Paradise delivered on exactly what it promoted in its brochures.

If you want to ensure you get what you pay for, and are seeking quality, fun and comfort then this is a sure thing!

8  Thank S&K_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

May Family and I went to Nuevo Vallarta three times and we arrived at the Paradise Village Resort. It is the best place I that I have never been before, they have a great restaurants, excellent service and the pool is a great place to spent big part of the day with your kids.

For me it is simple the best hotel in Nuevo Vallarta.

3  Thank kirkose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Our friends actually own a time share at Paradise Village. They invited us to come with them and we got our own room with a great ocean view. That's about it. The room was outdated, the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was crummy and old. For being a so-called resort and hotel I could not see how it falls in to the hotel category. They offered a coffee maker in the room with coffee but you had to pay for the coffee packet and wash it after you were done. They gave you beach towels but don't lose them because they'll charge $20.00 for the cruddy old towel. All rooms are equipped with a kitchen, but beware, there is a list in each room of the kitchen "inventory" and how much it will cost you if the item is missing which they say that they will go over the whole room while you are waiting for check out.

The time share people (which are all over there) hurry in two ways, one to get you to buy, and two once they found out we were not eligible they told us to leave the room so they could talk to the other couple that came with us. The friends that invited us were "members" and we were "guests" so therefore we were shackeled to plastic armbands for a week and you basically get ignored if you aren't a member, unless they want a tip. That's why I don't understand how they consider themselves a hotel.

There isn't much else to do there besides the pools and beach. They have a chintzy mall down the street with a so called "nightclub" that hands out expired brochures for drink and entertainment specials. The nightclub is a rip off and the resort's event staff basically hung out there drinking and hanging on girls. The "zoo" was sad and anything else that you could do cost a ton a money unless you got the tiny little discount on those tours or entertainment for going to a time share meeting.

Our friends were very generous to invite us, but I would not recommend this place to anyone that is planning on staying there as a "hotel" guest. It was our first trip to Mexico and it wasn't any different than if we stayed somewhere in the states, except maybe we would have saved a little bit more money.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank envoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvmanager, Paradise Village Management at Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2006

We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your experience at Paradise Village. In addition to having a spectacular beach, with all of the toys, we have the beautiful El Tigre golf course, 2 spas complete with fully equiped gyms, tennis, squash and full sized gymnasium, marina, and our own shopping center, and animal preserve. Our prized collection of endangered Bengal Tigers came to us from poor conditions, but have resulted in the addition of 36 offspring to the scarce numbers of these beautiful creatures.

We also have relationships with numerous other companies offer excursions that allow you to see and experience many wonderful Puerto Vallarta and area sites, including fishing, snorkelling, scuba diving, tours of Puerto Vallarta, its heritage sites and more.

We would appreciate hearing from this unhappy guest what ever ideas they might have to improve our offerings and our guest's experience.

Prices

Paradise Village makes every effort to ensure that our prices are fair and competitive. Not many of our guests are aware that much of the food served in our resaurants, and most of the goods sold at our Market are imported from the United States, thereby increasing our costs significantly.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $116 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing