We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to find some other place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Fremont, CA
12
Reviewed August 17, 2004

This is anything but a five star resort. I guess most of the resorts in Mexico are over rated. This please is set up to extract maximum amount of money out of you. Please hold on to you beach towels and return them at the time of check-out or you will be getting biggest shock of your life! The restaurents here are over priced and food sucks! Waiters become very rude if tip amount is not right.

Excursion tours are fun but over priced! I can't imagine they would charge so much for tours in Mexico give that the tour crew members make $15-20 a day!

Stay away from this spot if possible.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,392 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Union City, CA
18
Reviewed August 14, 2004

This place was horrible! We had arrived at 4 PM, and our room wasn't ready for another two hours. They would not accomodate my request for another room, they just advised us to grab a bite to eat at one of their very overpriced restaurants! They then offered us a drink, which I thought was a nice jesture, only to charge the drinks to our room and try to incorporate a timeshare sales pitch! This hotel is not close to Puerto Vallarta, the Malecon (downtown) is a 15 dollar, 35 min taxi ride away, which is how they charge so much for their restaurants. Another complaint is the ridiculous bracelets they make you wear. Our bedsheets had a bloodstain on them! When room service didn't come our second day, they immediately blamed us by saying that we must have put the do not disturb sign on the door. The highlight was when they wouldn't let us extend our check out for 2 hours, it only seemed fair because we had to wait 2 hours to check in, but they didn't care. Upon checking out, which is a insanely long process, I was happy I saved my towel return slip, or else they were going to charge us 105 dollars, not pesos, for 3 crappy pool towels! I didn't see any employees smile, ever. This place is very, very far and it's activites are very overpriced compared to the prices we paid for activities at the NH Krystal 8 months prior. The only reason we didn't go back there was because this place sounded so nice, with a Zoo, and we had our children this time. This place looks nice, but it's truly a dump. I just feel sorry for the suckers that bought a timeshare there.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2004

Situated on a nice long strip of beach. Lots of palapas on the beach for keeping you protected from the hot sun and for keeping the ice in your drinks from melting. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a full kitchen, especially with a super market directly across the street. The hotel lobby areas are in need of updating to make them more inviting to lounge in. The food and drinks were very reasonable at all the restaurants and bars in the hotel. Don't miss happy hour at the main lobby bar.

Good place for families and those who want to stay at the resort their entire vacation. Not a place for night owls looking for some fun late at night. We expected to be able to walk to a taco stand at any hour in Mexico, but Paradise Village is so secluded, the only option you have for a late night snack is from room service, or from whatever you’ve stocked in your own kitchen. Not worth the $13 cab ride into town to get $1 worth of tacos. The on-site night club wasn’t any better. There were about 15 people total there and the lights were turned on by 1 pm.

Beware: you get a lot of pressure from the "Welcome" desk to join the travel club/timeshare.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank claudian429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dana Point, California
110
Reviewed July 25, 2004

We just got back from an eight day vacation at the Paradise Resort, and overall were were extremely pleased.

In a nutshell:

I've learned over the years that "five" star resorts in Mexico are not the same as those in the U.S. The room was comfortable (we rented two Junior Suites with Marina views), but not luxurious. However, we spent very little time in the room - as there is so much to do both at the resort and within the surrounding area. However, the room was very comfortable and extremely clean - and for the most part-nicely appointed.

The resort itself is beautiful; wonderful pools and a fantastic beach with clean white sand and adequate waves for boogie boarding. The water in both cases was just the right temperature, warm enough to jump right in but refreshing after baking in the hot sun.

One important point about the weather:

We'd heard just before we left that July was the beginning of the rainy season, and in fact, weather.com posted rain everyday for the week we were there! We were prepared for the worst, but we were extremely happy to find that the rain almost always occurs at night, and usually after 1 or 2AM. Every morning we awoke to sunny or partly cloudy skies. In fact, we learned to appreciate the partly cloudy days since the sun is SO hot! The fact is it never rained during the day while we were there.

The best part of the resort in my opinion is the service - always delivered with a smile and a warm hello. We found two restaurants at the resort to be consistantly excellent; "Tulem" located near the main pool, and "Pescatore", a three minute walk away. Tulem's all you can eat buffet's were perfect for us, as we brought our seventeen year old son and TWO of his friends - and they seemed to have endless appetites! Pescatore had some of the best tasting Italian food we've eaten anywhere (and we've traveled all over the world).

Oh, and if you're willing to pay for it, "La Panorama" in the heart of Puerto Vallarta is simply amazing. A magnificant view of the entire city and the ocean and food that matches the view. For four people, we paid about $190.00 which included appetizers, a $35.00 bottle if Chilean wine, deserts and tip. Well worth it if you want a really romantic night out.

The highlight of our trip was the Canopy Tour, where you "zip-line" through the tops of the rainforest trees, 90 meters high!

Compared to Hawaii, Puerto Vallarta is a downright bargain. The rooms are cheaper, the food is MUCH cheaper, there are plenty of things to do, but more importantly - the native Mexicans are always extremely warm and friendly. In our eight days there, we never once had anything less than superb service and an inviting, friendly atmosphere.

As much was we love Hawaii, we will now make an effort to visit this part of Mexico much more often. From southern California, it's only a three hour flight - but in any case, I don't think you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for sun and sand, great food and a huge choice of activities, this is the vacation for you.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2004

We have just returned from Paradise Village.
We had a wonderful time. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had 2 bedrooms, bathrooms and a kitchen.

There were lots of kids and families, many activities and a really nice atmosphere. The weather was extremely hot and sticky but since there were sea breezes and you were in a bathsuit the whole time it wasn't a problem.

It was the rainy season but we were pretty luck since most of the time it rained at night and was clear in the morning.

We had such a good time we extended our trip. Unfortunately Expedia couldn't find us any more days at the same price but the hotel did give us a discount (not as much as expedia, but oh well)

The place is full of people who come back year after year.
Many of the guests are "members" but we felt that we got very nice service anyway.

My children found friends to play with and didn't want to leave.

Its also an exceptionally beautiful place.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TechnoKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CHICAGO, IL
16
Reviewed July 18, 2004

The name says it all it "it was a paradise vacation"
the town was beautiful, while we walked downtown we saw dolphins jump,, the food was delicious!!
Now the hotel was incredible!! let me start by telling you that this hotel had from its own mall to a zoo!!! every room had a kitchen,, private beach (of course) every activity you could think of they had it!! from tours to calm fishing trips, daily pool activities, and night themes like mexican night, rodio night, italian night. This was just the best vacation ever!! don't miss it!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Elsinore, CA
13
Reviewed July 16, 2004

This was our first family vacation and I'm glad we chose to stay at Paradise Village. We stayed in the Marina two room suite from 7/8-7/13/04 which was very comfortable. My only complaint would be that it always smelled like cigarette. I don't know if the people who stayed in that room prior to our arrival smoked, but the minute you walked in, the cigarette smell hit you. Other than that, our trip was very pleasant. My kids loved the main pool and my son had fun riding the waves on the "free rental" boogie board. The people their were very friendly. My kids favorite drink at the pool were the strawberry smoothies. The Mexican Fiesta was very entertaining. I think that's one of their best shows. I would definitely recommend Paradise Village if your planning to visit Nuevo Vallarta. I would also recommend renting a car and taking the road towards Tepic and stopping at Playa de Guayabitos. This ride takes you deep into Mexico. Hope your vacation is a good one. Enjoy.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
893 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,831 reviews
3.6 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $112 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing