We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,691)
Filter reviews
2,691 results
Traveler rating
1,171
816
358
175
171
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
816
358
175
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share marina view coba tower western night il pescatore quiet pool sunset market dish soap el tigre full kitchen all inclusive plan activities team main building small mall main pool all inclusive package mexican fiesta night
Filter
Updating list...
1,897 - 1,902 of 2,691 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Not what I was looking for...

This is a place for families. The food was great, the room was great, the service was great, the beach was great... but everything shut down at 9pm. 1 bar. No young people. If you are looking for a fun party, you will not find it here. Wanna relax on the beach during the day? This is the place for you!

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buckypeekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseVillageGroup, Resort Complex management at Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2009

Thank you for your review, Paradise Village is a family resort. Traveler should understand traveling in the slower times of the year you will find more families and less singles. Peak vacation times like Christmas, Easter, spring break, summer break tend to be the time when most singles visit our resort.

Thank you

Sincerely

Paradise Village Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We just came back from Paradise Village. We went from May 10 - 17 with 3 couples and 4 infants/toddlers. It was a lovely resort for the children. We never really had to leave. Everything is on the property but that also was a downside because it was more expensive.

We've stayed at several time shares and we were a little disappointed. The unit was smaller than expected but nicely appointed. The kitchen and bathroom have been updated but not all the way. The kitchen didn't have a dishwasher, stove and hardly any counter/storage space. The master bedroom was great no complaints but the 2nd bathroom was small with no window or balcony and felt a little stuffy. There was also no tv in the 2nd bedroom. Overall it was nice but it could be better.

The actual resort was wonderful. It is located right on the beach and there was never a problem finding a palapas and a drink. Same with the pools. There are 2 pools and we never had a problem with finding a few lounge chairs. It was a 25-30 min cab ride from PV but with all the kiddies it would've been very difficult to take them into town often.

Everything seemed expensive for Mexican standards. The resteraunts were ok but again expensive and not worth the money. The mall (on property) has a few resteraunts and again nothing worth going back for unless you like Dominoes or McDonalds. The grocery store in the mall also seemd pretty high.

Since it was mothers day we had massage packages at the spa. Totally worth it! Nice, relaxing and just what we needed!

Finally this is a timeshare resort. DO NOT DO THE PRESENTATION! We got suckered into it for some free stuff. It was supposed to last 90 minutes but it lasted 4hrs! We all had our babies with us too it was horrible. I will NEVER do that again!

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Serena107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We just returned from one week in paradise. We stayed in Rm 4804 ( 8th floor). The view was breathtaking. From this room, you could see the marina, the mountains and the ocean. What a way to start each day of you vacation!
The resort itself is well maintained and very clean. I would do everything here except eat. I didn't really enjoy any of the meals that we had here and it was over priced for what you got in return. I would suggest cooking breakfast in your room, eating lunch on the property and eat dinner in town. This is the only real improvement they need to work on. The staff was wonderful and very helpful.
The spa was great! The golf was very challenging (lots of water and sand to fish your balls out of)! Another must do is the canapy tour (Los Veranos). You will not be disappointed. The view from the sky is a sight to behold. The guys were great and it was completely safe.

The whole trip was great and we plan to visit again in the future. I hope this helps.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank colemanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We just got back from a family vacation at Paradise Village. We had a blast as a family. This is definately a family resort. It caters to the kids. There are crocodile waterslides, daily pool games led by the activities team, paint your own ceramics by the pool ($10-$20 depending on what size item you pick), great themed nights, a mini-zoo that is on the premises which has tigers, birds and monkeys. My kids Loved the place. They thought they were in paradise. The bonus is that there is a mall within walking distance also owned by the resort that has several restaurants and a playground structure in the middle of the common area and a supermarket. We opted to buy some food at the mall market since a taxi probably would have cost us $15 each way to go to Wal-Mart and it would have washed out the savings.

With regard to room accomodations, the place was just ok. Supposedly the rooms are all renovated, but it seems like it was partially redone. They updated the kitchens, tubs and vanities, but the tile floors are old, the toliets look original. It was fine for a family vacation but definately not new and super nice. We stayed in a 2 bed/ 2 bath suite and the kitchen was super, super small. I believe all the suites have a stovetop and microwave that also acts as a convection oven. The villas have a full oven. People in previous reviews noted that the walls were thin. They are! We all sleep with those sound machines that plays either the ocean or rain, and even with those we heard a lot of noise. I think that's the construction in Mexico because we experienced that at other resorts down there as well. I went to the spa at the golf course location (there are 2). I am an avid spa goer....the treatments were great, the spa facility was very below average. The hot tub was a fiberglass one and the steam room and sauna had white painted ceilings (no stone) with rust spots on them, just normal showers like in the hotel room. Supposedly the spa at the golf course location was the nicer one??? The services were great but I was not happy with the actually spa facility.

The beach water isn't the best either. The last 2 times we have been to Nuevo Vallarta the ocean is brown-ish. This time there was tons of white foam. It was quite gross and no one seemed to know why it was like that. We travel a lot to FL and live in CA so we didn't care about the beach as much, but if you're expecting white sandy beaches and blue water, you won't find it here. The kids still played in the sand but didn't venture out into the water.

We own a timeshare through the Marriott and traded for here. We did end up doing the timeshare presentation and got some perks but didn't buy. There are a lot of owners but also a lot of folks we talked to who traded their timeshare week or book on line at a travel website. They do make you wear a wristband if you're not an owner but it's no big deal and we didn't feel out of place or overly pressured to do the presentation or to buy.

Overall we had a great time. If you're looking for a romantic getaway you may want to go to another resort. If you're traveling with kids, you won't be disappointed. We were at the pool 8 hours straight every single day. The food was average, we enjoyed the meals at the Mayapan restaurant a little more than the others. The Mexican fiesta themed night was a lot of fun, especially for the kids. The Western Night is great too...a mechanical bull and all.

My overall opinion is that it's a fantastic place for families. There are more than enough activities to do. The mall is a bonus. If you're looking for 5 star accomodations this isn't the place, but it's not horrible either. We just got home and my kids already want to go back.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxandRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

My husband, five year old son, and parents traveled to Paradise Village in January and had a wonderful time. There are plenty of activities for the kids and adults alike! We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times but have never stayed at a resort. We didn't leave the resort as much as we have from a hotel because we had seen the town and everything we needed was right there! It's a very family friendly place with activities and a mini zoo on site. The staff are responsive and competent and care that visitors have a great time. The daycare folks remembered my son's name and were able to put him at ease quickly. (He was only there a couple of days.) The resort also has an 18-hole golf course, fitness center and a peaceful spa.

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SarahSunshine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews