We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Friendly, But Closes At 10:00”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A beautiful location near Puerta Vallarta. It's geography makes it a long haul to get anywhere, since it is on the tip of a peninsula, but cabs are honest and go by a rate card that has all of the local, popular destinations.

The room was spacious and kept immaculately clean. The only shock was the first morning with the tame parrots squawking loudly as soon as the sun rose, but that can be minimized if you keep your patio doors closed or if you are oceanside, since the birds are in the center of the complex.

They have free loaner bikes, but they're falling apart and dangerous. Rent one in town if you wish, but, as a biker in NYC, even I wouldn't gamble any of these streets on two wheels.

The resort is an all-inclusive, which is convenient. However, this is probably the reason that the restaurants and bars close at 10:00 or 10:30 (I was never quite sure which of those times applied to what), so don't expect to have Margaritas on the beach at midnight and there is posted a strict silence policy for 11:00 p.m..

I would go here again, though. I was an early riser the entire time for the multitude of activities, so I was spent by 10:00. For the occasional time we stayed out later, I was in Vieja Vallarta.

Enjoy, and I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the parrots. They are loud right after sunrise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our family of four (2 kids aged 3 and 1) spent a week at Paradise Village just after Easter 2013. We loved the resort and had an amazing time. Here are some observations:

Grounds – large resort, although not so huge that you need to walk too much. Grounds are lush and kept in immaculate condition.

Beach – excellent. Water is quite shallow for a long ways out, with very clean water. Superb for boogie boarding and body surfing. Free loaner boogie boards at the towel hut. Beautiful, clean wide beach. You could walk for miles if you wanted. More palapas than I’ve ever seen at any resort, with top quality loungers, and straw mats for when the sand is too hot.

Pools – wonderful. Main pool is perfect for kids of all ages. Zero entry at one end with a large shallow area. We loved the crocodile water slide – I was able to go on it with my 3 year old son on my lap, although you exit into about 6 feet of water so make sure you’re a decent swimmer if you have a little one with you (and close your mouth before you hit the water!). Other large pool is also very nice and less busy – has no shallow area for little kids. Never saw anyone using the very nice, secluded lap pool.

Room – we had an ocean view 5th floor one bedroom, 2 bathroom unit in the Uxmal tower. Large balcony. Comfy king bed. Clean furniture. No problem getting a crib for baby. Some say the rooms are dated but we found them to be just fine. Satellite TV. Everything was in good working order. I was surprised with the array of utensils and bowls, cutting boards, etc. Coffee maker has one of those reusable filter baskets so you don’t need to worry about buying/bringing filters. So great to have a separate bedroom so that kids can nap, and go to bed before you in the evening. The only time noise was an issue was during two of the theme nights that took place below our room, however, those events were done by 10:30 p.m.

Food – we did not do all-inclusive, partly because we’re not AI lovers and partly because they wanted $80 per person. For us, the food was somewhat of a disappointment. Chicken Caesar salad at Tulum restaurant was very good. Ordered pizza in one evening from the resort’s pizza place and it was actually quite tasty. Sushi from the Tikal bar was also quite good (they’ll deliver it to you poolside). Mahi Mahi entree and shrimp salad at Mayapan restaurant were both bland. Items on the lunch menu at the pool are very average – seems like everything comes with fries. More variety needed on the lunch menu. We did not take in any of the theme nights, although they appeared to be well-attended. Our young children go to bed too early to make a theme night purchase worthwhile, as part of the price relates to the activities that take place during and after the meal. I’m sure we’ll attend theme nights once our kids are older. We loaded up on groceries at Walmart and ate breakfast and some lunches in our room. Went off resort for supper on 4 of the evenings. There are restaurants in the mall, as well as another half dozen you can walk to within 20 minutes. Short $5 cab ride to many others. Sunset Market in the mall has a surprisingly good selection, with prices that aren’t too bad as long as you’re not buying specialty items from back home.

Drinks – we purchased the drink coupons in batches of 10. Worked out to just over $3 per drink. Good value and very convenient. Some fancy drinks cost more than one ticket but we were satisfied with the single ticket choices.

Service – top notch. All staff are friendly and efficient. Had a couple minor maintenance issues in our room and the repair man showed up within 5 or 10 minutes of us calling. Our only complaint relates to the fact that the maid did not mop the floor in our unit even once during the week. At all other places we’ve stayed in Mexico, floor mopping occurs at least every second day.

Internet – free wired internet in the kitchen with a fairly long Ethernet cord. We paid $5/day for a router. Had some issues logging on each time, although I was almost always able to connect.
Transportation – taxi from the airport was 260 pesos (regulated rate). Taxi back to the airport was much cheaper.

Animals – yes, there are tigers and birds in cages. Not going to get into the animals in captivity debate. I’ll just say that the cages appeared to be well kept, and my son asked to go see the tigers and birds numerous times per day. One day they brought a sea lion to the pool, and the birds are brought out for show a couple times per week. On a different day they brought a baby croc and a big white snake.

Timeshare Aspect – we did do the timeshare presentation, despite saying we’d never do another. This was the most civilized presentation we’ve ever attended. It only went over 90 minutes because we did some negotiating. Our sales rep was a Welsh gentleman who was a heck of a salesperson. Despite being very tempted, we didn’t buy. As a gift for attending, we received a good deal on a photo package from the on-site Vallarta Adventures booth. Excellent service from VA.

Safety – no concerns - none.

Minor criticism – there are plastic plants everywhere in the main buildings and in the rooms. I would describe this aspect of the decor as “funeral home chic”. This detracts from what is otherwise a beautiful resort. Surely in a tropical place like Puerto Vallarta, there must be some low maintenance plants that could be used instead. As for the guest rooms, just get rid of any and all plants.

This was our 4th visit to the Puerto Vallarta area. Even though my wife and I prefer old town Puerto Vallarta, we would definitely return to this resort because we have children. If you’re seeking good service, cleanliness, safety, great pools and an awesome beach, Paradise Village just cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nomadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is so much wrong with this resort, its hard to know where to begin. I'll start with the good part. The rooms are actually ok. Big, spacious, comfortable and with a kitchen. But thats about the only good thing.

CHECK IN.
Make sure you know what building you are in, otherwise you checkin, and then have to cart your bags to Building 2. If you know what building you are in, leave your bags there, then check in. They also make you wear a strange armband for the duration of your stay. I find this really outdated, and dumb. Oh yeah - and don't lose the little plastic armband or they will charge you for it.

PRICES
By Mexican standards, this place is a rip off. Prices for everything are really high.

SURROUNDS
The pools are nice, but very tacky. The place is filled with bogan Americans getting pissed.

ANIMALS IN CAGES.
Seriously, what century are we in? They have a couple of tigers in tiny cages. People wander past going "hey kitty!" Very cruel.

WIFI
No wife in rooms, only in lobby. Again, what century are we in?
Please don't stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joeschwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we stayed here 2 yrs ago, family of 4 (2 boys age 9 and 6). was very pleasant, clean, safe, would go again, but 2 weeks was too long in one all inclusive. Yes you have to sign for all the drinks but that is because there are several different all inclusive deals, and it would be unworkable otherwise.

Overall, there was no requirement to bring out a credit card for any reason. We paid about 6 grand for 2 weeks((others paid the same for only 1 week!) had a huge 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen, which we didn't really use. All in all, it was a great WestJet deal.

Room Tip: beds were very hard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The first time we stayed at Paradise Village was for our honeymoon in April of 1997. Here it is 16 years, 2 kids and 6 visits later we still love it! We loved it so much that in 2003 we purchased a timeshare and we've come back a total of 6 times in the last 16 years. Unfortunately, we have never been able to trade our timeshare for anywhere in Hawaii. They don't trade for Mexico. We were able to trade to Florida and Las Vegas. PV has updated the televisions, some furniture and countertops to granite. The prices have gone up considerably since the first time we came but hey...that was 16 years ago so what do you expect. We usually get a 2 bedroom facing the marina which is perfect for our little family of four. There are 2 pools for the kids to enjoy and a spa for mom and dad to enjoy. A little market and mall is within walking distance for all our needs. Love Paradise Village!

Room Tip: The week before and after Easter are so busy! Avoid if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful week Paradise Village. We found the locations and facilities to be outstanding. It is hard to imagine a more attractive beach area than the one found at Paradise Village. The sand seems to go on forever! We loved the abundant number of beach palapas with comfortable lounge chairs at every one. It is wonderfully relaxing on the beach and made even more so with the convenient food and beverage service. We never had any problem finding an open palapa but since our visit was in April the resort wasn't at full capacity.

We were there on the all inclusive plan and really liked it. Sure you have to sign when closing off each bill, but we really did not find it to be a problem. Our bills always came promptly when we asked. Tulum is the only choice for breakfast. It had a reasonable buffet assortment of fruit, pastries and a few hot items. There was also a staton preparing made to order waffles and egg dishes. Our usual lunch choice was beach service. There was a nice choice of mexican and american dishes from nachos to burgers. I particularly like the chicken tacos and the fruit plate. For dinner we usually took in the nightly theme nights. These are either held around the pool or at the beach restaurant. The latter provides a wonderful sunset view if you choose the right dining time. We dined at Tulum our final night and really appreciated the attentive service. The food was very good and the flaming spanish coffee prepared by Roberto was a real highlight.

We particularly noticed how much attention the staff paid to maintaining the resort in a pristine condition. Our one bedroom suite was very comfortable. The marina view gave us morning sunshine, and a shady place to enjoy a cerveza at the end of our day.

Do be aware that this is a quiet resort. There is no real nightlife (not after 10:30) on site. During our visit in April we were disappointed to find that the Mayapan Mexican Restaurant was closed. Thus dning choices were a little limited.

All in all we enjoyed our time at Paradise Village and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGGinSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Whoever gives this 4* and up isn't reviewing this hotel. I travelled with my daughter Nov.2011 with Westjet - All Inclusive. We booked a one bedroom. They took us to a junior suite with what looked like 1 double bed. The bell hop saw our faces and he phoned the front desk. He said he was taking us back to get a better room. We ended up with the one bedroom overlooking the main pool on 3rd floor. It was acceptable. There was no pop in the fridge. They give you a one serve package of coffee and then you have to go buy your own. The Buffet is a joke - maybe 10 items and they Hide the bacon!! Coffee tastes like what I think dishwater would taste like. Walked down to the mall to Starbucks for coffee. Front desk staff are horrible - they act like they hate their jobs and your just a pest. There is no store on the property. We had to go to the mall to get pop and snacks for our 7 day stay. We had to go there to also get a phone card to call home and had to use the phone booth across the street from the mall. Our Westjet rep was late so we went to the front desk to ask if they knew why and if they could contact him. They said that's not their job, that we would have to phone ourselves and pay for it. Unbelievable. When he did come, he explained why he was late and it was no problem. He asked if we wanted to be moved to another hotel. We decided it was too much of a hassle to do that. We meet another mother and daugher at this meeting and ended up hanging with them. It was the only thing that made this trip here worthwhile. There is no umbrellas by the pool - they really need to get some. The drinks are terrible. Had to stick to beer. When I asked for a special drink - they said its not in the all inclusive. So I asked for another kind, they said again its not included in the all inclusive. So then I asked for a Mojito - they said they don't have them. I have been to a few all inclusives and have never heard of a selected drink menu for all inclusives let alone not make Mojito's. What a Joke!!! You have to sign for all food/drinks. Why don't they just ask for your room number like every other resort. Resort is all quiet at 10:00. Entertainment crew is pretty good. Daytime music is good. Beach is good. Pool is cold. Hot tub is good. They have a outdoor stage which they never used - dont know why. I'm sure I'm missing more negative things. Just do yourself a favor and not go there until they have changed their atttitudes. All inclusive is all inclusive not selected items - makes this hotel look pretty cheap and sneaky. I paid more for this holiday then any other and got the least. Don't go - the 5* reviews are wrong.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Tital Tower. Its right by the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelilahF53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $110 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing